Find companies:
National Guard
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3,251 reviews

National Guard Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being a soldier
Administration/Human Resources Specialist (Current Employee), Elizabethtown, PADecember 18, 2014
Pros: people friends
Cons: war
Basic training is hard but once that is over everything falls into place great place great people great environment *most of the time*
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn and grow
Human Resources/ Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Cincinnati, OhDecember 17, 2014
Pros: healthcare, diversity
Cons: contract position, budget cuts
Enjoyed working with Soldiers and Families to enroll into Insurance plan and trouble-shoot and solve issues that arise. Liked that each day was different and always learning new things.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great guys! I always look forward to going back!
91B Wheeled Vehicle Mechanic - Specialist (Current Employee), Moscow, IdDecember 17, 2014
Pros: always something new to learn
Cons: only once a month
Being a mechanic in the national guard has been the best decision I've made. We learn a lot of hands on and useful skills while working on the vehicles. It's been great learning more than just turning wrenches though. We are trained in first aid, hand-to-hand combat, survival skills and, most importantly, the chain of command. Because respect is something – more... demanded, I feel confident when walking into work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good pay but beurocratic
Sergeant-Team Leader (Former Employee), Warrenton, MODecember 17, 2014
made good friends and earned good money but not worth spending a full 20 years getting deployed and leaving family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Get to see many exotic locations
Security team leader (Former Employee), Hutchinson, mnDecember 16, 2014
Pros: new adventures
Cons: some are overseas.
Get to teach and instruct subordinate soldiers. Drive big trucks, and fighting vehicles. Shot a lot of different weapons and do demolitions training.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dual role of working on state and federal missions
(Retired) Captain (Former Employee), Daytona Beach, FloridaDecember 16, 2014
Pros: serving your state and country. part-time benefits, retirement
Cons: training dates
The Florida Army National Guard (FLARNG) was a great way to end my military career. I served on state and federal missions with my company, in reference to fires, hurricanes, and search & rescue missions. I would recommend the national guard to anyone, it's a great way to serve your state and country as a part-time soldier.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I believe everyone has a place to serve in the US Army
Platoon Leader (Former Employee), San AntonioDecember 15, 2014
Working as a citizen soldier is a wonder thing, Long work days, great benefits, staying motivated is the key.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team Leader
Team Leader - SGT (Current Employee), Detroit, MIDecember 15, 2014
Training solders. Working with chemical equipment. Logistics. Planning
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
endless oppurtunities
Sergeant (Current Employee), Annville, PADecember 15, 2014
Great way to serve your country and rank up while meeting great people. As well as great schooling for advancement. Still working with them to work one weekend a month 2 weeks in the summer
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the Army
Sergeant (Current Employee), Post Falls, IDDecember 15, 2014
Typical day for me consists of instructing physical fitness training every morning for those in need. After which I review progress on each person keeping a detailed profile. When said person reaches the acceptable level of fitness as per army standards, then I bring the profile to the company commander to sign off on then needing the additional training. – more... Once I have finished my Unit Master Fitness Trainer duties I go back to my platoon to guide my soldiers and continue either Petroleum operations or basic soldier skills. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and life changing work place.
Automated Logistics Specialist (Current Employee), Fort McClellan, ALDecember 15, 2014
A typical day at work with the US Army National Guard is very tactful and full of operations to handle such as: shipping, receiving, data entry and etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
army
Machinist-welding (Current Employee), Cincinnati, OHDecember 15, 2014
its been a great opportunity for me
learn new happenings an new additions to my mos
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding job training soldiers
Instructor/Trainer/Evaluator (Former Employee), Stow, OhioDecember 15, 2014
This is the same job I reviewed previously. It was the same type of work, but much more travel during this period. I also worked with different people who were all great to work with and had a variety of management who ranged from some of the worst to some of the best I've ever had. Travel made this job very straining on relationships and at times personal – more... health. Again the reward was providing quality training to soldiers deploying over seas. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to set goals, learn about leadership & get a good education
Soldier (Current Employee), Glenville, NYDecember 14, 2014
Pros: great team work, great leadership
Cons: rest when you can, long days ahead
OPSEC ' Operations Security '

National Guard units serve both the federal government and the state governments where they are based. The states are responsible for the training of their units, and they maintain responsibility for appointing officers within their units. This dual responsibility is at the core of the National Guard's mission and differentiates – more... it from other military branches. The presence of National Guard units in each state provides governors with a critical tool, allowing them to call on their units at their discretion to provide aid and support when other state resources are insufficient.

The National Guard serves as a workforce training ground and second career for its members, who enlist for stints of either three, six or eight years. They devote one weekend a month and two weeks a year to training. Their pay rate depends on numerous factors -- including rank, job, education and experience -- and it increases for active-duty service. National Guard members can serve in one of more than 150 career fields, ranging from combat work to jobs that mirror their civilian roles in fields such as health care, law, engineering and ministry. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent leadership development program
Platoon Sergeant (Current Employee), Atlanta, GADecember 14, 2014
Outstanding program to develop leadership skills. Excellent people to work with however, the work environment can be a bit dangerous. It has been a great experience that I look forward to progressing. A tough environment that challenges individuals to exceed their expectations and limits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proud to have served
Heavy Equipment Transport Driver (Former Employee), Jackson, MIDecember 14, 2014
Pros: rewarding
Cons: got medically discharged not by my choice
An absolute honor to have served and been employed. Many of the leaders took a personal responsibility to each member as if they were immediate family. The ability to meet so many different individuals from all over was very rewarding.The leadership training has made me the person I am today. Each day always brought a new opportunity to learn something – more... rewarding. The men and women I stood side by side with for 5 yrs I consider more like family than just comrades. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
92 fox (Current Employee), Davenport, IADecember 14, 2014
its the army its a hard and rewarding job you never do the same same thing twice you meet and work with all different kinds of people and you travel a lot and you are away from your family for long periods of time as well
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
National Guard
US Army Combat Engineer (Current Employee), OHDecember 13, 2014
A typical day would consist of being called many hours away from home to do what is needed to prepare the Company of anything that might happened.

I've learned several skills along with this job trade such as:
Minor Construction.
Power tools equipment.
Demolition systems.
Life saving skills.

The leadership take their jobs seriously its just difficult – more... to progress through your ranks. The leadership will take the time out of their personal life to come to your aid if any situation came down such as an emergency.

My co-workers/"Battles" make my service worth doing. They will always hold a place as your second family regardless if you're in or now out of your term.

The hardest part would consist of the heavy labor at times but it doesn't last long.

The most enjoyable aspect of this job is meeting people from all other. Also have such close bonds with people who will be apart of you for the rest of your life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Arkansas National Guard
LOGISTICS MANAGER (Former Employee), Little Rock, ARDecember 13, 2014
Pros: goal oriented, allowed for personal drive and assertion
Cons: budgets and the way budgets where used.
-Typical day is focused and goal oriented.

-I have learned how to adapt and manage anything that a job might require. I have also learned how to outsource to achieve the requirements of a job. I also networked with peers to problem solves and to create the best product based on goals.

-My coworkers were professional and courteous.

-The hardest part – more... of the job was dealing with budget cuts in the federal government. Limited resources constantly kept progress in a constant flux due to changing requirements or loss of critical figures within our organization.

-The most enjoyable parts of my job were in the moments when the budget was not an issue and we where able to produce in an unhindered manner. The ability to game plan and propagate an environment that fueled and sparked productivity aided in not only the production but the climate within the daily workplace. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved being a soldier and my goal was to retire but I became ill and could no longer stay in.
Human Resource Specialist (Former Employee), Blackstone, VADecember 13, 2014
Being a soldier was a rewarding job! When I put that uniform on, I felt that I would do anything to keep America free. It was a hard job where family was involved because I hated leaving them for long stretches of time. I served in combat and I am proud of the role that I played.

1 2 3 4 5

About National Guard

The National Guard serves both state and federal governments. The difference between the Guard and other branches is that while – Read more