National Guard Employee Reviews

Found 4,707 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Leadership development
Second Lieutenant (Current Employee) –  Oxford, ALFebruary 8, 2016
Great place to become a better, more productive member of society. Constantly dealing with decision making and team based exercises.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Making Leaders.
CBRN Specialist (Current Employee) –  Salinas Municipio, PRFebruary 8, 2016
Being a soldier is an unique feeling. People look at you with respect and you propose yourself to fight for the freedom. My experience training soldiers for better survival is awesome. I always look for different ways to approach hard situations. What I like most about my job is when I get new trainees. I love the transformation for civilian to soldier.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Challenging
Computer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Reno, NVFebruary 8, 2016
A typical day was fun and challenging, when I worked for the Army National Guard. It was fun and challenging learning new soldier skills and associating them with my job duties, such as processing work orders, if deployed in a combat zone.

Management took care of their soldiers' needs.

On average, co-workers were easy to get a long with, but some co-workers had communication issues.
Pros
learning new skills and needs being met
Cons
some lack of communication issues
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job ive ever had!
Field Artillery (Current Employee) –  Sycamore, ILFebruary 8, 2016
As a U.S Soldier in the IL Army National Guard it is my duty to protect and serve the people of the United States against all enemies, both foreign and domestic.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being a soldier
88M Motor Transport Operator (Former Employee) –  Quincy, ILFebruary 6, 2016
I liked the experience of being a soldier. I improved my communication and team work skills, which I was lacking. And i acquired leadership skills.
Pros
duities, experience
Cons
lot of down time.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent benefits
Battalion Logistics Operations NCO (Former Employee) –  Lebanon, MOFebruary 6, 2016
Working full time for the Army National Guard is a great job that has real meaning. Work/life balance works out fine. There are slow times and fast times such as National or State disasters, Annual Training, and drill weekends, but during the week there are opportunities to use your leave on occasion. The atmosphere is professional and friendly.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Advancement is extremely slow
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity to serve your community, state, and county
Satellite Technician/Specialist (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZFebruary 5, 2016
For anyone 17 to 42 years of age, it is a great way to serve your community, state, and country. For only 2 weeks a month and a 2 week longer training session a year you will be serving to help out your neighbor protect and defend their freedom and liberties, and serving at times of need. What a great way to help out those you love. Make new friends for a life time. Benefits and adventure is great, and you will develop new skills and talents.
Pros
Adventure
Cons
I cann't think of any
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this is the military
Arabic (MSA) Team Leader / Squad Leader (Former Employee) –  Lafayette, LAFebruary 5, 2016
N/A this is the military cant get past this page because this box wants me to keep typing stuff in here even though these questions aren't applicable to this entity
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fight For your Freedom
Solider (Current Employee) –  MichiganFebruary 4, 2016
I love the military I plan on making the military a career. The National Guard has done so much for me with school, health, and it makes me proud to be apart of something so big.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great life skills
Military Police (Current Employee) –  North Little Rock, ARFebruary 4, 2016
Being in the Army, I have acknowledged the importance of teamwork, adaptability, and time management. The training is hard but once it is completed there is a great deal of respect present. My job is flexible and it allows me to move wherever I want and still do my job. In addition, the Army really pushes me for physical excellence.
Pros
Health benefits, college benefits, training, and flexibility.
Cons
Disrespectful environment
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the Army National Guard
Combat Engineer, OEF Veteran (Current Employee) –  Harrisburg, ARFebruary 4, 2016
Great opportunity. Great benefits. Proud to serve with my brothers and sister in Afghanistan. Leaned a lot and my family was taken care of.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and busy technical school.
Radar Technician (Former Employee) –  Fort Sill, OKFebruary 3, 2016
I am at school learning about these radars from 8:30 AM to 4:15 PM every day of the week. We troubleshoot radars and read through schematics while we are in class, to learn everything about 4 different radars. These radars are the 36, 37, sentinel and LCMR. This is a technical school and because of it I'm experienced with electronic circuits as well as working with radars.
Pros
Free exercising every morning, a security clearance, free housing and I get paid to go to school instead of the other way around.
Cons
I am away from home for an extended period of time, and some of our rights are taken away as soldiers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great if you want to continue to gain experience or money for school
Explosive Ordnance Disposal Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Camp Grayling, MIFebruary 3, 2016
As to be expected, it takes a time sacrifice mostly. I would suggest it if you have a fairly flexible schedule or if you don't have a family. If you have a standard Monday through Friday job, it would be fine too.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Serving my Country
Sr. Lan Manager (Current Employee) –  Sedalia, MOFebruary 3, 2016
The National Guard had helped me after active duty to still serve my country and continue to provide benefits for me such as college tuition.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good inviroment job
Military Police/ Platoon Sergeant (Current Employee) –  Scottsboro, ALFebruary 3, 2016
A good place to work if you like the military lifestyle. Work Hard Play Harder. Coworkers turn into family. Supervisors do everything you do.
Pros
Good pay and benefits and great people
Cons
work long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the military isnt what it used to be
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVFebruary 3, 2016
the army definitely isn't what it used to be. there is no discipline in the military anymore. from my experience there were just a bunch of sniveling little kids that were just going to curl up and hide when the bullets start to fly.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Experience
CBRN Specialist (Current Employee) –  Camdenton, MOFebruary 3, 2016
Even though I have not deployed yet, it has been a wonderful experience serving this great country. I would do it all over again.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
transposition
Motor Transport Operator (Current Employee) –  Tullahoma, TNFebruary 2, 2016
My duties included but aren't limited to transporting goods from one location to another. ensuring that all items are delivered to the correct location and undamaged.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience but constantly lying, saying one thing and doing another
former SSG 13 years (Former Employee) –  Indiana, LogansportFebruary 2, 2016
Constantly having to deal with higher up changing their minds on a tremendous constant day to day basis, was really stressful. Was told you would be doing one job ( mos) and have to settle for anther. Just a very confusing world.
Pros
Get to see the country and world
Cons
lying, power trips, low money for the lower enlisted
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Good Career
Computer/Detection Systems Repairer (Current Employee) –  Elizabethton, TNFebruary 1, 2016
The Army requires great commitment but offers better rewards. Sadly most of the bad decisions that affect you happen so far up the chain of command that your commanders have no choice but to implement them.
Pros
GI Bill
Cons
All benefits subject to Congress changes.
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 4,748 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture