Find companies:
National Guard
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3,065 reviews

National Guard Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
92Y
Unit Supply Specialist (92Y) (Former Employee), Sandston, VAOctober 22, 2014
Working with the United States Army national guard was a great experience for me. A typical day of work consisted of physical training & hand on training.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work.
First Sergeant, Company C (Current Employee), Oxford, MSOctober 22, 2014
Pros: retirment, insurance.
Cons: travel.
The National Guard is a fun and challenging place to have a career, with over 400 different jobs to choose from. Insurance and retirement befits are very good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing.
Combat Engineer (Current Employee), Dallas-Fort Worth, TXOctober 22, 2014
National Guard is a great way to go. They have an amazing amount of benefits and they are very organized.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots to learn
92W (Former Employee), Quincy, FLOctober 22, 2014
Very good if you plan on going to school. Which i highly recommend.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Normal Army life
Technical Inspector (Former Employee), Fort Lewis WAOctober 21, 2014
Normal Army life. WOrked on Blackhawk Helicopters. Work on Physical fitness. Performed annual duties. Qualified and multiple ranges.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for the National Guard has been great. I have had many opportunities to gain experience that translate into diverse backgrounds.
Personnel Strategy Officer - Appeals and Analysis (Current Employee), Arlington, VAOctober 21, 2014
Pros: physical fitness is a priority, work with people from different backgrounds, cultures and lifestyles
Cons: commuting
I really enjoy working for the National Guard. I have been given many opportunities. I have learned how to build a team and work within a team. The hardest part of my day is the commute to work. Once i'm in the building i'm good. I really look forward to getting to work and being with the TEAM.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is a team buliding experince and a family of a diffrent organization
Transportation Manager (Current Employee), Thomasville, GAOctober 21, 2014
working for my country is the greatest choice and i am honored to say that i have severed and are currently still serving it is a bonus that i do get to travel to different parts of the world to defend my nations freedom and to meet people of different cultures and
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Plan to stay enlisted in National Guard
19K Abrams Crew Member (Current Employee), Manhattan, KSOctober 21, 2014
Pros: great benifits
I am very happy with the national guard and plan to stay enlisted, all it requires of me though is one weekend a month and two weeks in the summer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Learning Environment
Forward Support Communications NCO (Current Employee), TXOctober 21, 2014
The army is what you make of it. I have had some great times in the national guard.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast and Efficient Construction
Construction Engineering Supervisor (Current Employee), Marquette, MichiganOctober 21, 2014
Management of a Construction squad (4- 12 soldiers) of carpentry, electrical, and plumbing specialists
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learning experience,fun,productive
army guard recruiter (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYOctober 21, 2014
Pros: meeting all types of people
Cons: long long hours
it was a grate way for me to learn how to speak to people. the guard helps people when help was needed most
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very motivating work place with ample opportunities for advancement and training.
Combat Engineer (12B) (Current Employee), West Point, VAOctober 21, 2014
The experience of serving in the Army National Guard varies greatly depending on what rank you are and several other factors. To this point in my service I have learned to live the seven army values, loyalty, duty, respect, selfless service, honor, integrity, and personal courage. Leadership in each Army unit is different, I hold the utmost confidence – more... in the senior leadership of my unit. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
National Guard
11B Infantryman/35L Counterintelligence Agent (Current Employee), Camp Mabry, Austin , TXOctober 21, 2014
Pros: service
Cons: army
Serve your country, hurry u and wait, sit and wait, must be physically fit, mentally fit, and ready to go at a moments notice
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Army National Guard
Section Leader (Former Employee), Houston, TXOctober 21, 2014
Pros: job security and team building skills.
Cons: unexpected tours of duty.
The national guard gave me opportunities to advance and experiences most people would never have.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
as stated earlier
Logistics staffer/ unit supply specialist (Current Employee), Shelbyville, INOctober 20, 2014
I stated this earlier in the review for ARMY National guard. I love being in the Army National Guard.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very diverse and educational experiance...
88M-Transportation Sergeant (Current Employee), Remington, INOctober 20, 2014
There is no "typical day at work" being in the National Guard. You have to be very diverse, resilient, and strong willed person who can handle change and high stress situations very well. You're co-workers are continuously changing but you learn quickly to trust your life with them. The hardest part of the job is easily the time you spend away from – more... your family, but the pride, skills, and self confidence you take away from it are unexplainable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
National Guard
Engineer Bridge Crew Member (Current Employee), Puerto RicoOctober 20, 2014
In the Army they teach you like team work., Leadership
,Military values

I am actively in the US Army National Guard I have drills every month and two weeks out of the year. I am a soldier in today's Army but not just any soldier I hold the rank of Sargent . A Sargent is a supervisor role in the army but in a much higher stress environment. with all – more... this skill i also have several years of experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great career
68W Health Care Specialist (Current Employee), Eugene, OROctober 20, 2014
Pros: benefits, health, dental, retirement
again there is no typical day in the military. but what I can say is there is always room for advancement and it is encouraged. there are many opportunities in the military if you are willing to go after them. also the support that you receive from other members is unlike most jobs the best way to explain it is you have another family willing to help – more... you anytime that you need it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great part time job
Recruiting Assistant (Former Employee), Bossier City, LAOctober 20, 2014
Love the military very much. Not for everyone though. I have enjoyed many years of learning new skills and attributes in the military. Combat was a blast literally and the best part for me was being able to serve the community in times of need.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Environment
Combat Engineer (Current Employee), Rolla, MOOctober 20, 2014
As a Missouri National Guardsman, I've learned skills that most people don't usually learn.

1 2 3 4 5

About National Guard

The National Guard serves both state and federal governments. The difference between the Guard and other branches is that while – Read more