Find companies:
National Guard
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3,175 reviews

National Guard Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military service
Military Police (Current Employee), Sheridan, ILNovember 18, 2014
Hard job with great rewards, great management and great culture. Plenty of learning and travel opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Military Police Team Leader (Former Employee), Cheboygan, MINovember 18, 2014
Amazing experience and words are hard to describe. I only served 6 years but wouldn't change it for anything.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Work Required but Great Benefits
11B - Infantryman (Current Employee), Tallahassee, FLNovember 18, 2014
Pros: benefits and unique experiences.
- Enjoyable and exciting.
- Unique experiences.
- Hard work required.
- Benefits and pride outweigh the cost.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Requires Emmense Energy
Lieutenant Platoon Leader (Current Employee), New York, NYNovember 17, 2014
Pros: active environment
Cons: n/a
Currently, my position as an Army officer my workload is demanding, varied and includes research, writing reports and supervising live military operations. This role allowed me to develop my research, analytical and problem-solving skills as well as my knowledge of the armed forces. I have been able to practice and develop my leadership skills as I – more... am often called upon to monitor large spectrum operations. Working in an officer capacity has also given me the opportunity to work autonomously on more complex task, and was able to foster successful working relationships with colleagues and victims of disasters and emergency responders.

I have also developed my practical interpersonal skills as I was chosen to complete the Master Resiliency Trainer course earlier this year. Which improves soldier readiness and I am currently the primary training official in my unit of assignment. In addition to increasing my understanding of comprehensive issues affecting ordinary people, I have also recently completed the U.S. Department of Homeland Security FEMA Emergency Management Institute independent study introduction course for the incident Command System for Law Enforcement. This experience, among others has reinforced my dedication to professional and equitable stability representation for all. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Short time, new experience.
Human Resource Specialist (Former Employee), Barrigada, Guam 96928November 17, 2014
Pros: training was fun
Cons: no comment
Great learning experience, training was fun and you meet different people from all aspects of life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard owrking and fun.
Utility Equipment Repairer (Current Employee), South CarolinaNovember 17, 2014
Pros: serving my country
Cons: long days and deployments
I supervise 10 soldiers in troubleshooting and repairs to various different types of HVAC/R systems from small automobile AC to large chillers and ship board containers. I have learned to be flexible in with others working that they may take longer to do the job that would take me less time. I really enjoy teaching solders things that I know about HVAC/R.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun, profetional
92w Water Treatment Specialist Rank SPC (Current Employee), juana diaz/ puerto ricoNovember 17, 2014
Its a very interesting job, nice coworkers and lots of things to do and learn every day. Different task and missions to complete and be done its a very good job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work environment.
Company commander. (Current Employee), Fort Pickett, Blackstone, VANovember 17, 2014
Pros: professional people and great working environment.
A typical day at work involves morning formation followed by a staff meeting. SAR training missions are planned and executed, followed by debriefing and filing an AAR. As the company commander, my fellow officers are highly trained and quite efficient at their job responsibilities. The hardest part of the job is the continuing FEMA courses required – more... to pass as the are redundant, just reworded. The most enjoyable part is serving out country. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Detailed and organized
TARGETING OFFICER (Current Employee), KUWAITNovember 17, 2014
Daily review mission and target sets, manage soldiers, update data and format to provide information to commander and supporting staff officers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military Service
Forward Observer Non-Commissioned Officer (Former Employee), Fayetteville, ARNovember 16, 2014
A typical day was extremely rewarding.
I learned how to manage troops and equipment.
My leader ship was among some of the best still great friends with them and they provide invaluable mentor ship.
My co workers work hard as a team to get the job done no mater what are where it was.
There was a lot of rough stuff that you just dealt with.
Getting to – more... serve my Country here and over seas – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The US Army / Army National Guard is a great organization
Aviation Officer (Former Employee), San Juan, PRNovember 16, 2014
Pros: great benefits and individual education and training opportunities.
Cons: must make "take care of the soldier" its main mission, now that the war is coming to an end.
Overall and outstanding organization, but must do better in taking care its ALL its soldiers. NO ONE IS LEFT BEHIND.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting day each day. You'll never know whats to come
Petroleum Supply (Former Employee), Lakeland, FLNovember 16, 2014
Pros: great benifits
You learn to shoot, move and communicate. And the Management is very strict about getting things done on time, which is awesome because the day goes by so quick. Everyone that's there do what needs to get done so we can get our breaks like we always do. Supervising is great because you learn how to manage and deal with problems that you'll be facing – more... in the real world. The enjoyable time there is having a party and being with your brothers and sisters in AMRS! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Combat Engineer (Former Employee), Gastonia, NCNovember 15, 2014
Great experience with the Guard. Was able to learn several different job skills with on the job training. Benefits are great
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed every bit of my time in the national guard
Aviation Electronics Technician (Current Employee), Warrensburg, MONovember 14, 2014
Pros: becoming part of a great heritage and family
Cons: takes away from family some time
i do what ever my leaders tell me to do and do my best to accomplish my mission
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent hands on training.
Information Technology Specialist (Current Employee), MassachusettsNovember 14, 2014
Pros: good training and ability to learn new things.
The training was good, taught me how to configure Cisco routers and switches. And gave me an understanding of routing protocols( OSPF, EIGRP), VOIP, and VLANs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
national guard
Information Technology Specialist (Current Employee), delawareNovember 14, 2014
I am an information technology specialist with the army national guard. It is hard work but rewarding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun learning experience
Communications Specialist (Former Employee), Reading, MANovember 14, 2014
Pros: great hours, good learning experience, good pay and benefits
Cons: temporary
Only working temporarily, I feel I have learned a little about working in the accounting field. It was a good learning experience. My job basically consisted of making sure soldiers got paid for the amount they were suppose to be receiving. My co-workers were helpful. Management was good. Each supervisor had their own thing that had to be done, they – more... would ask me to do it then let me work on it and I would have it to them whenever they needed it. They wouldn't micro manage either – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Motivational working environment
Diesel Mechanic (Current Employee), Abbeville, SCNovember 14, 2014
Show up on time, fall into formation, report to platoon Sgt, get job orders, repair equipment, return equipment
Learned how to repair equipment in safely but quick ways with loads of team work.
Team work is the key!!
It gets difficult at drill sometimes when the weather is severe.
Completely a task
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military
Soldier/Mechanic (Former Employee), Columbus, OHNovember 14, 2014
Great people, great career

good discipline

train on all types of tasks and drills

good benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best part time in the world
Carpentry and Masonry Specialist (Current Employee), PRNovember 13, 2014
Pros: benefits
What can i said. is the ARMY.
Army Storng.
If you can follow orders you can make it in the National Guard from any state.
Great experiences

About National Guard

The National Guard serves both state and federal governments. The difference between the Guard and other branches is that while – Read more