Find companies:
National Guard
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2,828 reviews

National Guard Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with a great attitude and room to grow and learn.
Platoon Sergeant / First Sergeant (Current Employee), Powderly, Texas; Unit Training & Equipment Site #1August 19, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: being deployed overseas extended periods
A typical day at work would be to look at the work order register and plan accordingly the work to be done by the workforce and parts available. Next have a maintenance meeting with mechanics to dole out work assignments and go over safety concerns or shop issues. Then inspect work done by mechanics or clerks to ensure it is correct and done to standard. – more... I would also have to forcast and budget service parts or unscheduled repairs for the upcoming quarter then year. Inspect shop for cleanliness and OSHA standards and make sure no Hazmat violations have occurred. My co-workers are mostly young and have to be trained and that is what I enjoy most about my job is being able to impart my 28 years of maintenance knowledge onto young energentic mechanics. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learn something new everyday
Supply Technician (Current Employee), Augusta, GAAugust 19, 2014
Being Military for 15 + years I have learned quite a bit. I am STILL learning and growing because the Military is forever changing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reenlisting
Supervisor (Current Employee), Thomasville, GAAugust 19, 2014
I enjoy my job in supervising and training as well as the camaraderie with my fellow soldiers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The National Guard is a good place to work and the benefits are great.
Branch Chief (Current Employee), Pineville, LAAugust 18, 2014
Pros: excellent retirement and benefits
Cons: must retire at 20 years of active service
The National Guard in LA is on a 4 ten hour work day. As a logistician / Plans and Policy Branch Chief, I learned upper level management at the state level and worked with very senior level managers. I had some excellent co-workers that assisted when needed. The hardest part of the job was to prepare for retirement. The best part of the job was the – more... interaction with the National Guard Bureau, the Program Managers that dealt with fielding's, and planning / preparation / resources needed to complete the mission. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work and dedication
COMMUNICATION TECHNICIAN (Current Employee), Fort LuptonAugust 17, 2014
Pros: free lunch, acknowledgment of duties
Cons: chaos
Coming into the military working hard is part of the job. Knowing and furthering all knowledge to obtain the best ability to do my job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place with great vision/mission - with challenges in the execution of those.
iversity Program Manager /ATS (Current Employee), Arlington, VAAugust 17, 2014
Pros: peer-to-peer communication
Cons: lack of proper reporting structures
I love my job and I love and identify with the vision/mission. Unfortunately, the management style is mostly "reactive" instead of "intentional/pro-active", which makes it difficult to achieve measurable results.

It is even more challenging to demand accountability due to lack of processes and lack of IPMs and implementation of proper business processes.

Management – more... has good intentions and cares about its employees - the execution of the vision for family and employees is rather challenging and at times frustrating.

Hardest part of the job: to accept the fact that at times mediocrity is the standard and I cannot "make" people want to perform at their best and to work even harder to improve themselves and the agency.

Interacting with a lot of power players, visionaries, and peers who believe in vision/mission and proper execution of processes was invigorating and motivating. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awsome job
Squad leader, drove 2 (Former Employee), Oxnard, CAAugust 17, 2014
Pros: see above
Great group of guys. Training was great. Track and wheeled vehicles.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Military Occupational Specialist (Former Employee), Portsmouth, OHAugust 16, 2014
Meet people all around the world. Get to serve your country from your house. Pay is ok, but could be better.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Army
SGT/Team leader (Current Employee), Tiffin, OHAugust 16, 2014
Pros: brotherhood, sense of pride, life skills, discipline
Cons: pay, government
I love it....Too bad the government keeps cutting the amount of Soldiers that they want.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fast pace enviornment with alot of moving parts
Labor Expediter (Current Employee), Douglas, GAAugust 16, 2014
my employment as a national guard member is exciting.
thru these past few years i have learned quite a bit about explosives, route recon and security. my co workers are great leaders who instilled discipline and work ethic into the enviornment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aviation Operations
Aviation Operation Specialist (Current Employee), Escondido CAAugust 15, 2014
Pros: fun job
Cons: long hours
Process local and cross-country flight clearances
Check accuracy of flight plans and coordinate them
Maintain flight logs on incoming/outgoing flights and individual flight records Alert crash crews of emergencies Interpret and post weather reports
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My review
Network Switching systems Operator (Current Employee), Sheffield, ALAugust 15, 2014
This job can be great for anyone. It all depends on how you look at the situation and what you take from it. Days can be extremely stressful but at the end of the day it has made you learn that much more.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military establishment
cook (Former Employee), Lafayette,INAugust 14, 2014
I learned a lot of great cooking skills in this environment. Had a lot of great relationships with co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
structured and stable
Tow Truck Driver (Current Employee), Fowlerville, MIAugust 14, 2014
My time with the National Guard has continued to be one of the most rewarding experiences. The military has taught me structure, value, and self pride.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and very organized workplace
Military Policeman (Current Employee), GeorgiaAugust 14, 2014
Pros: great benefits, get to travel, educational benefits
Cons: can be dangerous
A typical day at work consist of law enforcement class, emergency management class, then finally hands on training with the latest equipment available. I learn various law enforcement techniques and the differences between state, local, and federal laws and procedures. My co-workers are like family. I've deployed with them and worked along side them – more... for four years. The hardest part of the job would be would be paper work. Sometimes during the busiest parts of the day paper work can be misplace but the unit quickly handles the situation and paperwork is secured. The most enjoyable part of the job would be the time spent with my co-workers. They are a stand up bunch of men and women. The leadership is knowledgeable and very discipline but knows how to make work place safe and comfortable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard workers apply only
68E-Dental Specialist (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PAAugust 13, 2014
being a grill cook is hard work you usually push out 100 orders in a typical shift
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Understanstandable
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Bangor Maine 04401August 13, 2014
Great Experience, offers job opportunities but I haven't been able to land a job from this site yet.. So what else does this site offer to give me more recognition in qualifying for jobs
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment with great peoples
Material Handler (Current Employee), Montgomery, ALAugust 13, 2014
Pros: great retirement
Cons: the pay could be better
A typical work day consist of conducting inventories, and pulling orders for the Alabama National Guard. I've learned that teamwork is the key to success. The co-workers have been great and always display a positive attitue. The most enjoyable part of the job is meeting the other Guard members across the state.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging rewarding career
Cannoneer (Current Employee), Carlisle, KYAugust 12, 2014
Pros: insurance, retirement
Cons: working weekends
lots of hands on combat training. team work, pride, respect
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i love the military
Logistic Specialist (Former Employee), Fort Lee, VAAugust 12, 2014
it was tough and difficult at times, but it made me a better person.

About National Guard

The National Guard serves both state and federal governments. The difference between the Guard and other branches is that while – Read more