Find companies:
National Guard
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2,694 reviews

National Guard Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My time in the National Guard
Mechanic; E4 Specialist (Current Employee), Manhattan, KSJuly 14, 2014
A typical day in the National Guard in maintenance can be very busy depending on number of services due my group works on trailers a lot of heavy duty parts have to be changed like bogies on M-1000 trailers and Hydraulic Cylinders tires spider valves but over the past few years thanks to a lot of fabricated tools I've become pretty efficient at this – more... . The management can differ from good to horrible it comes with any job. Hardest part of my job is having to be away from family but I also like the fact you make many great friends – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment with both fun and serious tones to the work environment
Geospacial Imagery Analyst (Current Employee), Denver, COJuly 14, 2014
Pros: healthcare, variety of learning experiences, travel opportunities
Cons: short breaks, long days
A typical day at work involves lots of inventory of sensitive items and management of personal progress on many levels. The national guard is all about helping its soldiers better themselves. We learn new things each drill; how the company is run, how equipment is set up and used, and how to drive large military vehicles, how a convoy effectively travels, – more... and additional job based training to further your knowledge of your job. Management of the personnel is a very strict and efficient method. All soldiers learn this in basic training, for there is a right and wrong way to so everything in the army. The lowest ranking individual reports to the section sergeant, who report to the platoon sergeant who reports to the first sergeant, who then report to the company commander. Communication is the key to this successful management process. The hardest part of my day would probably have to be the long days. There can be some really long days, and that's only because there are things in the army that must get done and the day isn't over until those specific things are finished. We wake up early and leave late. The most enjoyable part of my job is getting work done the right way and meeting and getting to know all the people in the unit. My unit is pretty friendly to all it's soldiers and I have many friends within the unit that I would have never met without being in the army. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great start
71 golf patient adminstration specialist (Former Employee), El Paso, TXJuly 14, 2014
Pros: you can do alot of different things
Cons: family not with you
everyday life-start exercising and running. learned how to survive in the world. got to meet a lot of different people. hardest was being away from family. the most enjoyable was traveling.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A profession that requires a diverse skill set.
Water Purification Specialist (Former Employee), Janesville, WIJuly 14, 2014
There is rarely a typical day, frequently conditions and tasks change drastically, requiring a person to be flexible. Although my two jobs at differing time frames were electrical trouble shooting and water purification respectively, I also trained and then fueled helicopters for one year, and then ran a military educational facility for another year. – more... My level of first aid training exceeds the standards taught by the Red Cross and training sessions were completed on a repeated basis. Practical skills such as map reading, how to use a compass, and basic survival skills were also well honed. The ability to work with a diverse set of people, and in adverse conditions cannot be overstated in this environment. Strong written and communication skills, extreme attention to detail, and the ability to be organized and efficient are also pre-requisites, especially for leadership positions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proudly serving
Team Leader (Current Employee), Central AsiaJuly 14, 2014
Proud to wear the uniform of the US Army. I am currently deployed to Afghanistan in support of Operation Enduring Freedom.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SC Army National Guard
Infantry Squad Rifleman / Assistant Team Leader (Current Employee), Union, South CarolinaJuly 14, 2014
Pros: people put aside their differences and work together towards common goals
Cons: being separated from your family and loved ones for extended periods of time
It is a privilege to severe with the men and women of the South Carolina Army National Guard. A typical workday includes weapons reviews,PT in the mornings, ruck marches, vehicle inspections, and training lower enlisted personnel for the task ahead. The hardest part of the job is being away from your family for extended periods of time, and the most – more... enjoyable part of the job is the shared camaraderie between you and your brothers in arms. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits, Good Duty
Guard Soldier (Current Employee), East CoastJuly 14, 2014
A great place to get a start on life and also a great place to continue service after leaving active duty.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place where I love to serve my country.
Unit Supply Sergeant (Current Employee), Newberry, SCJuly 13, 2014
Pros: great place to work
Cons: long days sometimes
As a supply SGT a typical day for me is to make sure that my unit has everything that is needed to get mission done. I have to make sure that I have all my reports turned in at the suspense date. We use the chain of command to make sure that we don't jump rank. Working with other soldiers and leaders shows a great teamwork environment to get the mission – more... complete in a timely matter. The best thing I love about my job is that we work as a team and we communicate very well with each other. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As a 42 A I learn something new every day
Human Resources Specialist (Current Employee), Raleigh, NCJuly 13, 2014
Pros: who doesnt love being a soilder
Cons: deploying is something one has to do not always wants
I only work 2 weeks and one weekend a month out the year enjoying being in the guard its benefits have put me thu school and i feel I have come out with a lot of experence I can take with me anywere
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Formations, switching from solider to civilian, inconsistency.
25 Uniform (Former Employee), Jackson, MIJuly 12, 2014
Honestly it was a great experience but I really would have rather joined Active Army than the National Guard. We had great leaders who where just about as lost as us. It felt like I never left High School, but still if I could, I would do it all over again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Arizona National Guard
Wire Systems Installer (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 10, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Quite a change of pace when I joined the National Guard. I had spent 9 years on active duty before. Atypical day at the National guard consisted of physical training in the morning,vehicle maintenance, and training. The unit I was in was in a transitional period. The unit had just been activated. I did not get to use my job skills very often. I did – more... enjoy some of the training we conducted. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Compnay no longer in business- with good reason
PLATOON LEADER/LOGISTICIAN (Current Employee), Lincoln, NEJuly 10, 2014
This organization had good intentions however at some point, lost sight of the true importance of its mission...the kids.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Specialist
Sergeant (Former Employee), Delhi, LAJuly 10, 2014
I enlisted into the Army National Guard to better my future and protect my country. I started as a food service specialist then was trained in demolition and later transferred into military police.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Team Leader (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNJuly 9, 2014
Great opportunity to serve your country. Learn discipline and other characteristics in a way that are not taught anywhere else.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MIlitary Police
Food Service Specialist/Military Police Officer (Current Employee), Timmonsville, SCJuly 9, 2014
• Operate, maintain and clean field kitchen equipment
• Bake, fry, braise, boil, simmer, steam and sauté as prescribed by Army recipes
• Weekend drills once a month.
• Conduct as security and emergency specialists to respond to crimes and incidents by foot/vehicle.
• Establish and maintain all safety procedures.
• Support battlefield operations through – more... circulation control. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great productive workplace
Photojournalist (Current Employee), Charleston, WVJuly 9, 2014
A career, not a job. Great job security, employees are like family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A team oriented enviornment with great oppurtunity to advance
Information Technology Specialist (25B10) (Current Employee), Portsmouth, VAJuly 9, 2014
The Army National Guard is what you make of is all about what you make of it. If you come in with a willingness and drive to learn and advance then you shall do so and succeed. I typical day in the Army is a busy one and sometimes never ending as it is not a nine to five but a twenty four hour, seven day a week, three hundred sixty five day career. – more... From day one they bread you to be management, therefore, making the management typically knowledgeable and decisive. The hardest part of the job is typically being away from loved ones for long periods of time. The most enjoyable part of the job is the downtime with the other soldiers. I wouldn't trade it for the world. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional place to work
Training Technician (Current Employee), Marietta, GAJuly 9, 2014
Pros: no micro management, flexible schedule
Cons: healthcare
I what I enjoy most about my job is working with other Soldiers. I love helping others and I enjoy the camaraderie with the other Soldiers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
army national guard
combat engineer (Former Employee), angelton txJuly 8, 2014
being in the military taught me a lot of values such as loyalty, respect, selfless service and integrity. I learned a lot about teamwork and how it is important. without being able to work well with others gets you nowhere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very challenging
Infantry Squad Leader (Current Employee), Enid, OKJuly 8, 2014
Being an infantry soldier is very challenging. I learn something new every month. I enjoy watching my soldiers grow and being promoted.

About National Guard

The National Guard serves both state and federal governments. The difference between the Guard and other branches is that while – Read more