Find companies:
National Guard
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3,039 reviews

National Guard Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a place to work
91 Bravo wheel machanic (Current Employee), Lynchburg, VAOctober 3, 2014
Pros: experience
Cons: nothing
it was a great place to work and for me to learn different things
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace and i get to protect the state of iowa
military police (Current Employee), Johnston, IAOctober 3, 2014
typical day at work is mostly different kind of training. keeping us up to date just in case we get depolyed
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place. nice people
Cable Sys Installer Maintainer (25L) (Current Employee), Dalzell, SCOctober 2, 2014
Work is pretty busy it is non-stop from the time we get to work to the time we leave. We have to inspect parts on all trucks and perform individual part inspections as well, along with a lot of other tedious task here and there. I have learned a large array of helpful things through this company such as teamwork, how to change the oil in trucks, how – more... to properly check and inspect all aspects of trucks before leaving and when returning. Management is good, they treat everyone fair and listen to what everyone has to say before making a judgment. If you feel you have been wronged any kind of way, they give you a chance to give your side of the story. Co-workers all normally get along pretty well and if we do happen to have a disagreement or misunderstanding we normally can settle things without them getting out of hand. The hardest part of the job is to keep going throughout the busy day without getting tired. After constantly doing so much your body will begin to get tired or even doing the smallest task will become frustrating. The most enjoyable part of the job is when you can see everyone's hard work coming together, at the end of the day to see what we have accomplished as a team. It makes the whole project that we were working on as a team worth wild. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great organization.
Chemical (Current Employee), MobileOctober 2, 2014
I enjoy being a soldier. Being in the military is something i enjoy greatly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work with amazing benefits
Full Time Federal Technician (Current Employee), Johnston, IAOctober 2, 2014
My time so far with the federal government has been amazing with great benefits. I have learned many thing that have to do with the military. Have got to travel a bunch of cool places with this job. The people I work with are like family they, and they will do anything to help you in any kind of situation. The hardest part of my job would have to be – more... adapting to the different kinds of supply needs that the Iowa National Guard needs or wants. On a daily basis I work a lot with hazmat. I make sure laws are kept in place to ensure that the Iowa National Guard does not get in trouble in any kind of way and separating certain hazardous materials out so that it doesn't cause any problem with interaction with the materials, fire, explosion, etc. The most enjoyable thing about my job would be the people I work with, its a very laid back environment but always busy so the day goes by fast. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong minded career, have to work well with others and be aside your battle buddies.
Automated logistical specialist (Current Employee), Ellenwood, GAOctober 2, 2014
Pros: sometimes leave work early.
Cons: having to wake up early in the mornings.
Well drill is two weekends in a month, and It's like working in active duty Army.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic opportunity to learn technology and develop skills
25L- Cable Systems Installer/Maintainer (Current Employee), Faribault, MinnesotaOctober 2, 2014
Pros: many learning opportunities with an ever changing technology industry.
Cons: opportunities can be limited due to funding and special timing required to jump into opportunities.
As a 25L- Cable Systems Installer/Maintainer, I was responsible for the maintenance of cable/wire communications systems, communication security devices and other associated equipment. This equipment needs to consistently work in order for the Army to direct the movement of its troops.

A Nodal Network Manager certification was available in class and – more... hands-on form, I was able to complete this and therefore expand my skill set of military training. To translate this class in the civilian culture, would cover network support, data processing and computer programming. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Army National Guard
Chemical Specialist (Current Employee), Camden, SCOctober 2, 2014
I been working for this company for 6 years and I love the Military. I'm a Veteran and also enjoy physical activities that we participate in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easiest job ever-loved it
E-4 Specialist Administrative (Former Employee), Clearfield, PAOctober 2, 2014
The job was easy and the environment was fun. Great leadership and a lot of room to grow and promote.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life with in the Guard
Team Leader (Current Employee), Lakeland, FLOctober 2, 2014
Same as I said before, this time is an Active duty period. The work load is heavy. I learned plenty about self management. Understanding the priorities in how to operate as a Soldier and as Human Resources.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great part time career
Supply/Technician Material (Former Employee), Topeka KansasOctober 1, 2014
Pros: uneeded materials was passed down to me and all personell.
A typical work day involved me as a supply and logistics worker I was in charge of ordering unit issue, handling incoming material, distrubiting to proper hands, inspecting materials, cleaning and organizing supply area,. I was the supply Sargeant of the State of Kansas for eighteen years. The hardest part of the job was keeping up with the supply and – more... demand when the season was busy, the most enjoyable was fulfilling all orders and complete organizing of inventory. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Be all you can be
Communcation (Former Employee), Ypsilanti, MIOctober 1, 2014
A dependable job. I chance for tuition and earn money as well .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun working environment.
Wheeled Vehicle Mechanic 91B (Current Employee), Yonkers, NYOctober 1, 2014
Pros: learning something new.
Cons: long hours, with lack of sleep.
Guard mechanics can fix anything that needs maintenance or repairs, from 5-ton cargo trucks and armor-plated Humvees to the most sophisticated equipment in the world, like the M1 Abrams tank. Every piece of mechanized equipment the Guard uses has to be ready to roll at any time, and mechanic and maintenance Soldiers make this possible. Soldiers depend – more... on these vehicles and equipment to accomplish their mission and save lives during a disaster.
I enjoy working with people and being a leader. My co-workers and employees would call me fair and honest. The hardest part of the job is working long hours with no sleep. The best part of the job is meeting new people and doing what I enjoy the most, fixing cars. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great military community of officers and NCO’s
Communications & Information Technology Supervisor (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CASeptember 30, 2014
Pros: opportunity
Cons: deployments
A great organization to develop future leaders to deal with multi-organizational challenges in a real-world environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
National Guard
Area of expertise is Chemical Specialist (Current Employee), Ft. Worth, TxSeptember 30, 2014
A great place to work is one in which you trust the people you work for, have pride in what you do, and enjoy the people you work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Materials Management (Current Employee), Carson City, NVSeptember 30, 2014
Requesting and Receiving Supplies, Disposition of Property, Accounting for Property, Assigning Responsibility for Property, Controlling Components of End Items, Management of Basic and Operational Loads, Repair Parts Procedures, Inspection and Inventory Procedures, Organizational Clothing and Individual Equipment (OCIE), Ammunition Management, Hazardous – more... Material Management, Preparation of DA Form 2765–1, Preparation of DA Form 3161, Preparation of DA Form 581, Preparation of DD Form 1348–6, Requests for recoverable or non expendable, Preparation for overseas movement, Requests for medical items, Document Register, Supply Status, and Due-In Status, Keeping the DA Form 2064, Follow-up, Cancellation, Modification, and Reconciliation, DA Forms 1687, Send the request to the SSA, DD
Form 1348–1, Turn-in of property book and non expendable items, Turn-in of expendable and durable supplies, found on installation, DA Form 4949, Turn-in of returnable containers, Lateral Transfer of Property, receive and turn-in of items to the SSSC, Assigning Responsibility for Property, Hand receipts, Reconciliation and validation of supply requests with the SSA,
Temporary hand receipt, DA Form 2062, DA Form 3749, Receipt and issue of property inventory, Change of hand receipt holder inventory, Change of responsible, Tool room inventory, Annual/cyclic inventory, Sensitive item inventory, Annual property book officer inventory, Weapons and ammunition inventories, Cash collections of OCIE, Requesting, Receiving, Hand-receipting, and Turning-in
Ammunition, Requesting issue and turn-in of hazardous material.
A few systems I have worked with are PBUSE, ISM/CIF, – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
national guard
material handler and receiver (Former Employee), Wilkes-Barre, PASeptember 30, 2014
The national guard was a privilege and an honor to be in. My workers around me were very supportive. I have made long lasting friendships and learned new thing about the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really great place
15J Armament Avionics/Electrical (Current Employee), Louisville, TNSeptember 30, 2014
Pros: pretty much everything
Walk in, everyone has a great attitude, fix aircraft and learn new things about the airframe everyday. Management is out on the floor in the hange ready to help in any way possible. co workers are always there to help and answer any question you have. Everything about this job is enjoyable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
US Army
Sergeant First Class (Current Employee), Monmouth, OregonSeptember 30, 2014
US Army
Great Benefits
Lousy Leaders
Horrible Pay
Unintelligent Officers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Louisiana Army National Guard
Multichannel Transmission Sys Operator-Maintainer (Current Employee), Minden, LASeptember 29, 2014
One weekend a month, two weeks a year. Multichannel Transmissions System Operator/Maintainer.

About National Guard

The National Guard serves both state and federal governments. The difference between the Guard and other branches is that while – Read more