Find companies:
National Guard
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2,349 reviews

National Guard Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people fun enviroment
Financial Analyst (Former Employee), Nashville, TNMarch 24, 2014
I learned how to make spread sheets, file taxes, and budgets.
Management was very knowledgeable and helpful with any issues.
I worked with great people and made many friends.
there really wasn't a hard part to the job.
I enjoyed going to work, and learning new things and teaching others different skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Serving Ones Country
Soldier (Current Employee), Annville, PaMarch 24, 2014
I have learned a tremendous amount of knowledge in the military.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive long lasting experience
Medical Supervisor (Former Employee), Harrisburg, PAMarch 24, 2014
Pros: supervision of soliders
Cons: very long work hours 24 hours shifts
Workiing with the Nation afforded me the opportunity to Supervised soldiers, triage patients during deployment, implemented medical treatment ,Implemented orders from MD and followed up on treatments, and participated in Special Emergency Response team training.
The hardest part of my job was making sure that all soliders remained safe and the care – more... of the patients was at the highest standard at all times.
The best part of my job was all the experience I gained. I was able to hone my interpersonal skills, and develop lasting relationships – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wasnt for me
Infantryman (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKMarch 23, 2014
My group was great, but i was ready to get out of the Army. Our drill weekends were usually packed with decent training out in the field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved going out in the field for two weeks
Medic (Former Employee), GoldsboroMarch 23, 2014
Its a tough job, the phase hurry and wait is right on...........
Another great group of people.
The armory is very hot in the summer and cold in the winter.
You never know what you're going to be doing next
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A truly unique experience
Water Treatment Specialist (Current Employee), Easton, PAMarch 23, 2014
Pros: fellowship, benefits, training
Cons: tough lifestyle
A typical day of the National Guard is filled with training and improving your soldiering skills. Learned many skills after enlisting and it changed my life forever. There is truly a family mentality among the soldiers around you. Hardest part of the job is the possibility of being away from loved ones for long periods of time. It feels great when you – more... know you are part of something important. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and educational job
Unit Clerk/Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Camden, SCMarch 23, 2014
I always had various tasks to complete.
Learned new things and met new recruits.
Worked with great people.
Went to high schools and spoke to potential recruits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work, especially since its one weekend a month
Financial Management Technician (Former Employee), Raymond, MSMarch 22, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: once a month
Very fun place to be, love it. get to meet friends once a month and get paid for it. overall i like being in the national guard because of the benefits you have and the compansation aint so bad either.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sergeant
Sergeant E-5 (Former Employee), Green Bay, WIMarch 22, 2014
Pros: learning
Cons: away from home
Hard work, a great deal of knowledge, great deal of traveling was able to see much of the country and some parts over seas. good benefits and meet a lot of people. great oppurtuntiy for individual advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Army
Infantryman (Current Employee), IllinoisMarch 21, 2014
Infantry in the Army national guard. Worked on Infantry tactics monthly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Human Resource Technician (Current Employee), Johnston, IAMarch 21, 2014
Pros: family like environment
Cons: extended time away from family at times
co-workers are like family and everyone has respect for each other.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The duties set before you are awful but the experiences with friends will last forever.
Combat Medic (Current Employee), Carolina, SCMarch 21, 2014
Wake up do PT, eat breakfast, motorpool for PMCS, optempo, lunch, training, dinner, sleep, then do it all again the next day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military going downhill
Brigade Career Counselor/ 100th Troop Command (Current Employee), Sacramento, CAMarch 21, 2014
I learned how to be a good leader from the more experienced leaders. Management could learn a lot of things if they just listened once in a while.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productivity
Mechanic (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAMarch 21, 2014
Pros: independence
Cons: productivity
If you want to Keep busy and work on a constant basis having something to do and an open weekend Join the active Army. If you want to be able to be independent and do more things on your own still do school but still serve in a way Join the Reserves or National Gurad.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Human Resources Specialist (Current Employee), Annville, PAMarch 21, 2014
Pros: education
Cons: deployments
Great place to work. Job security, high pay for amount of work. High visibility. Lots of opportunity for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love being a soldier and still being able to have a family.
19D Cavalry Scout/Soldier (Current Employee), Rosenberg, TXMarch 21, 2014
Pros: the work days can be stressful.
Cons: there are long hours and alot to get accomplished. so its a great big team effort.
The flexibility with it is very nice because no matter what happens I will always have a job in the Army, and i am serving a purpose for the country and my family everytime that i do my job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
same as before
Mechanic/Specialist (Former Employee), Fort Drum, NYMarch 21, 2014
same as before, I was also in the military forces honor guard, which folded flags and performed military funerals for the falling soldiers .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proud to serve in the Army
Army Officer (Former Employee), Azusa, CAMarch 21, 2014
It was an Honor to serve my country. Although it was the National Guard, I did plenty missions that were in Active Duty Status.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fullfilling and meaningful
Operations and Training Specialist (Current Employee), Fort Harrison, MTMarch 20, 2014
Pros: health insurance, matched 401k, salery
Cons: sometimes 24 hour operations, slow part of the year.
I have enjoyed every minute helping other personnel to train smartly and safely in addition to mentoring people into becoming outstanding workers and citizens. I enjoy coordinating all the difficult logistical situations and large improvement and construction projects. My co-workers and subordinates work well together. There are many long days but the – more... pay-offs are rewarding when all goals are achieved. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great customer service
Equipment Parts Sergeant (Current Employee), Reidsville, NCMarch 20, 2014
• Establishes and maintains stock records and other documents such as inventory, material control, accounting and supply reports.
• Establishes and maintains automated and manual accounting records, posts receipts and turn-ins, and performs dues-ins and dues-outs accounting.
• Corrects error and exception documents.
• Reviews and verifies quantities – more... received against bills of lading, contracts, purchase requests, and shipping documents. – less

About National Guard

The National Guard serves both state and federal governments. The difference between the Guard and other branches is that while – Read more