Find companies:
National Guard
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3,050 reviews

National Guard Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life with in the Guard
Team Leader (Current Employee), Lakeland, FLOctober 2, 2014
Same as I said before, this time is an Active duty period. The work load is heavy. I learned plenty about self management. Understanding the priorities in how to operate as a Soldier and as Human Resources.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great part time career
Supply/Technician Material (Former Employee), Topeka KansasOctober 1, 2014
Pros: uneeded materials was passed down to me and all personell.
A typical work day involved me as a supply and logistics worker I was in charge of ordering unit issue, handling incoming material, distrubiting to proper hands, inspecting materials, cleaning and organizing supply area,. I was the supply Sargeant of the State of Kansas for eighteen years. The hardest part of the job was keeping up with the supply and – more... demand when the season was busy, the most enjoyable was fulfilling all orders and complete organizing of inventory. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Be all you can be
Communcation (Former Employee), Ypsilanti, MIOctober 1, 2014
A dependable job. I chance for tuition and earn money as well .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun working environment.
Wheeled Vehicle Mechanic 91B (Current Employee), Yonkers, NYOctober 1, 2014
Pros: learning something new.
Cons: long hours, with lack of sleep.
Guard mechanics can fix anything that needs maintenance or repairs, from 5-ton cargo trucks and armor-plated Humvees to the most sophisticated equipment in the world, like the M1 Abrams tank. Every piece of mechanized equipment the Guard uses has to be ready to roll at any time, and mechanic and maintenance Soldiers make this possible. Soldiers depend – more... on these vehicles and equipment to accomplish their mission and save lives during a disaster.
I enjoy working with people and being a leader. My co-workers and employees would call me fair and honest. The hardest part of the job is working long hours with no sleep. The best part of the job is meeting new people and doing what I enjoy the most, fixing cars. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great military community of officers and NCO’s
Communications & Information Technology Supervisor (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CASeptember 30, 2014
Pros: opportunity
Cons: deployments
A great organization to develop future leaders to deal with multi-organizational challenges in a real-world environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
National Guard
Area of expertise is Chemical Specialist (Current Employee), Ft. Worth, TxSeptember 30, 2014
A great place to work is one in which you trust the people you work for, have pride in what you do, and enjoy the people you work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Materials Management (Current Employee), Carson City, NVSeptember 30, 2014
Requesting and Receiving Supplies, Disposition of Property, Accounting for Property, Assigning Responsibility for Property, Controlling Components of End Items, Management of Basic and Operational Loads, Repair Parts Procedures, Inspection and Inventory Procedures, Organizational Clothing and Individual Equipment (OCIE), Ammunition Management, Hazardous – more... Material Management, Preparation of DA Form 2765–1, Preparation of DA Form 3161, Preparation of DA Form 581, Preparation of DD Form 1348–6, Requests for recoverable or non expendable, Preparation for overseas movement, Requests for medical items, Document Register, Supply Status, and Due-In Status, Keeping the DA Form 2064, Follow-up, Cancellation, Modification, and Reconciliation, DA Forms 1687, Send the request to the SSA, DD
Form 1348–1, Turn-in of property book and non expendable items, Turn-in of expendable and durable supplies, found on installation, DA Form 4949, Turn-in of returnable containers, Lateral Transfer of Property, receive and turn-in of items to the SSSC, Assigning Responsibility for Property, Hand receipts, Reconciliation and validation of supply requests with the SSA,
Temporary hand receipt, DA Form 2062, DA Form 3749, Receipt and issue of property inventory, Change of hand receipt holder inventory, Change of responsible, Tool room inventory, Annual/cyclic inventory, Sensitive item inventory, Annual property book officer inventory, Weapons and ammunition inventories, Cash collections of OCIE, Requesting, Receiving, Hand-receipting, and Turning-in
Ammunition, Requesting issue and turn-in of hazardous material.
A few systems I have worked with are PBUSE, ISM/CIF, – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
national guard
material handler and receiver (Former Employee), Wilkes-Barre, PASeptember 30, 2014
The national guard was a privilege and an honor to be in. My workers around me were very supportive. I have made long lasting friendships and learned new thing about the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really great place
15J Armament Avionics/Electrical (Current Employee), Louisville, TNSeptember 30, 2014
Pros: pretty much everything
Walk in, everyone has a great attitude, fix aircraft and learn new things about the airframe everyday. Management is out on the floor in the hange ready to help in any way possible. co workers are always there to help and answer any question you have. Everything about this job is enjoyable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
US Army
Sergeant First Class (Current Employee), Monmouth, OregonSeptember 30, 2014
US Army
Great Benefits
Lousy Leaders
Horrible Pay
Unintelligent Officers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Louisiana Army National Guard
Multichannel Transmission Sys Operator-Maintainer (Current Employee), Minden, LASeptember 29, 2014
One weekend a month, two weeks a year. Multichannel Transmissions System Operator/Maintainer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workday
heavy equipment mechanic (Current Employee), Frankfort, KYSeptember 29, 2014
Pros: benifits
Cons: early workdays
come in early, work with scheduled breaks, the leaders are all professionals. everything is documented and kept on record.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's the Army.
Automated Logistics Supply specialist (Former Employee), Keyser, WVSeptember 29, 2014
Seriously, what can I say?

This is the Army National Guard. If you want to learn more, ask a vet in person.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DIFFERENT EXPERIENCE FOR EVERYONE
Military (Current Employee), Marietta, GASeptember 29, 2014
RELIABLE SOURCE OF PAY THAT ALLOWS YOU TO ALSO BE A CIVILIAN.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Job ever!@!!
Squad Leader (Former Employee), Martinsville, INSeptember 29, 2014
Pros: everything
The name says its all. Its the Army National Guard. Great Employer
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best part time job a person could have.
Acting First Sergeant (Former Employee), Bethlehem, PASeptember 29, 2014
Pros: great place to train, gain experience and develop an effective work ethic
Cons: promotion is difficut in the senior ranks due to limited positions.
Very challenging but rewarding and a sense of pride. Enjoyed my career in the National Guard and the opportunities that presented themselves from time to time. Education was terrific and it was a big plus when seeking employment in the civilian sector. Throughout my career I served side by side with a great group of soldiers and eventually was honored – more... to lead some of these soldiers at the end of my career. Still keep in touch with some of them and attend reunions with them. Hardest part was being gone from the family during deployments. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job title
E3/PFC (Current Employee), minden, LaSeptember 29, 2014
I drive army trucks and also is a solider I been here since 2011 and get out 2017 I been deployed once and also willing to learn
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Busy
Motor Transport Sergeant (Current Employee), Buffalo NYSeptember 29, 2014
Able to work under pressure
Complete duties in little time
Able to work alone
Multi-task
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice to work for
Unit Supply NCO (Current Employee), Opelousas, LASeptember 29, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: lack of support
I learned how to lead and manage people. I learned how to use all Microsoft programs and became very proficient in all of them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manage and lead Soldiers
Platoon Leader (Current Employee), Draper, UTSeptember 29, 2014
Lots of growth opportunity to learn from others and work as a team. Plenty of management opportunity.

About National Guard

The National Guard serves both state and federal governments. The difference between the Guard and other branches is that while – Read more