Find companies:
National Guard
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2,910 reviews

National Guard Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely Friendly, Great NCO's
Automated Logistical Specialist (Current Employee), Owensboro, KYAugust 30, 2014
is the best life decision I have ever made, the NCO's are all friendly, also work efficient. only have to go once a month and two weeks out of the year
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Army
Okay to contact this Supervisor (Current Employee), Savannah, GAAugust 30, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: heathcare
weekend soldier. weekend a month 2 weeks a year for ait. depending on your mos and rate you'll have different jobs
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Infantry (Former Employee), West Chester, PAAugust 29, 2014
The National Guard was the best experience of my career. I learned many valuable skills in the field as well as in the classroom environment. My squad taught me loyalty and leadership and I can now apply that to everyday life. I look up to all of my leaders and have great respect for the Military.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Configuration Management Librarian (Former Employee), Arlington, VAAugust 29, 2014
Unless you are a contractor.
If you want to advance or stay employed here, you need to either be a Government Civilian or in the military.

As a contractor you are at the mercy of contracts and contract bids and the companies who win them. If they don't think your position is worth keeping it ends.

I loved my work there and all of the people that worked – more... with I had a great team while I was there.

It is very disappointing to think you have a home and may have the chance to stay only to find that once again your job is not important enough to be kept on. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
federal job
Electronics Technician (Current Employee), Eastover, SCAugust 29, 2014
Pros: great pay and benifits
Cons: was a temporary position
Great working environment and Great people to work with. Learned more than i could have ever imagined
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
heavy equipment operator
team leader in an engineer company (Current Employee), parkersburg wvAugust 29, 2014
I am in charge if 10 Soldiers everyday my responsibilies are to make sure they are alway mission capable
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
did several different jobs while in the National Guard
Federal Technician (Former Employee), jerome idahoAugust 29, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: drill weekend and summer camp
Had fun and learned a lot did several different jobs in the 29 years I was in the Guard
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Sgt Jesse Sublett (Current Employee), Conway, ARAugust 28, 2014
Allot of people think that the military is rough tough and hard to handle. On a typical day my soldiers and I get our task done and then we start training for our next mission. I'am a leader and I lead my soldiers to greatness by using there strengths to get the job done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bp Oil Spill
Specialist / E4 Infantryman (Current Employee), Cullman, ALAugust 28, 2014
My unit was activated to respond to Mobile Al, as a Security measure for the Bp Oil Spill, we patrolled on night and day shifts to keep protesters and workers apart during that time
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very group Oriented
91B - Light Wheeled Vehicle Mechanic (Current Employee), San Antonio, TXAugust 28, 2014
Pros: job skill training, benifits, job security.
Cons: enviroment locations vary.
Note:Work days consist of 2 day sessions per month. 2 weeks during mid-summer.

A typical day at work is slow to start but will speed up to involve maintaining desiel equipment rangeing from Humvees to Millitary Recovery Vehicles. Management is superb due to millitary enviroment. My co-workers are engageing during time of rest and work hours. The hardest – more... part of the job is the work load during annual training. The moat enjoyable time during the work days are doing a job skill that I personally enjoy and wish to continue. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military Life
71L - Administrative Specialist (Former Employee), Shreveport, LAAugust 27, 2014
If you have been in the military, you would understand. It is hard to explain
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I truly love serving our great Nation and the state of Indiana
Company Commander (Current Employee), Fort Wayne, INAugust 27, 2014
The US Army is not for everyone, but those who serve truly have the drive and desire to succeed and protect this country.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable and high paced work environment with flexible hours and people oriented leaders.
Automated Logistical Specialist (Enlisted) (92A) (Current Employee), Grand Ledge, MIAugust 27, 2014
Many opportunities to acquire over time.Working well with most co-workers and not so well with others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Family Readiness Support Assistant (FRSA) (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALAugust 27, 2014
Excellent place to work. Great people who were willing to help whenever possible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it
Aircraft/Blackhawk Mechanic (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 27, 2014
Pros: everything
Not a company. It's the ARMY. Worked on BlackHawks. Learned alot
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding opportunities to learn leadership and develop career skills
Human Resource Manager (Current Employee), Yakima, WAAugust 26, 2014
Pros: assignment variety, compensation, benefits, leadership opportunities, on-the-job training
Great opportunities to gain education, train, and lead during assignements. The military compensation and benefits are hard to beat.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of areas for future growth.
Canoneer (Former Employee), galesburgAugust 26, 2014
Pros: training and benifits.
Was taught leadership and discipline. Felt like even when we weren't deployed we were making a difference.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great organization.
State Recruiter (Former Employee), Freehold, NJAugust 26, 2014
Great and positive environment. An outstanding education and employment opportunity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging, Demanding and Rewarding
Section Sergeant (Current Employee), Easton, PAAugust 26, 2014
Pros: management skills development.
Cons: takes your personal time, often fustrating
The job is challenging because you have to adapt to continent changes from higher authorities and applying those changes to your team(s).
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great training and an opportunity to serve country.
Security Team Leader (Former Employee), Richmond, VAAugust 25, 2014
The National Guard is a great place to learn skills in many different areas, including leadership skills. Most importantly you gain a sense of pride for serving your fellow citizens.

About National Guard

The National Guard serves both state and federal governments. The difference between the Guard and other branches is that while – Read more