Find companies:
National Institute of Standards and Technology
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
16 reviews

National Institute of Standards and Technology Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work, Lousy Recognition
Mechanical Engineer (Current Employee), Gaithersburg, MDMay 28, 2014
NIST does some amazing work, and some people find a niche that they thrive in. Not me. I enjoyed my work for a time, and I was good at it. My supervisors, though, would only acknowledge my contributions in hollow compliments. A promotion was nearly impossible to achieve. High performance ratings were, I was told, only for those who could "walk on water". – more... In reality, HR reported that 17% of my peers "walk on water". HR, though, is just a tool of management, and resolving a performance rating dispute is futile. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Postdoctoral Research Associate (Current Employee), Gaithersburg, MDApril 15, 2014
Pros: a dream team of late career scientist
Cons: permanent postitions hard to come by
NIST has a very productive atmosphere and high standards for technical performance. The potential for collaboration and interaction with experts in the field is very high. It is a wonderful place for a focused and ambition person to make an impact. On the downside, haphazard funding allocations (partly due to congress) makes response to new demands – more... a bit sluggish. Although its a great place to get a lot of good work done as a Post-Doc, its often a dead end with only about 1 in 20 becoming a permanent hire due to low turnover at the upper levels. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Scientifically rewarding place.
Physicist (Current Employee), Boulder, COMarch 11, 2014
Scientifically rewarding place, with a large amount of flexibility.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gov't Research Lab.
Research Associate (Current Employee), Gaithersburg, MDNovember 29, 2013
Research for Micro/Nano assembly
Programming and Controller
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
Guest Researcher (Current Employee), Boulder, CONovember 22, 2013
Tell us about:

a typical day at work
what you learned
management
your co-workers
the hardest part of the job
the most enjoyable part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs a visit to the fountain of youth
Physicist (Former Employee), Gaithersburg, MDOctober 2, 2013
Pros: equipment
Cons: staff
Because there are no incentives in place to encourage very senior (60+) staff to retire, many of the staff are very old, not current on new techniques and consequently set in their ways. This also means that there is little chance for permanent employment. My biggest criticism is that the management did not provide a mechanism for dealing with workplace – more... abuse. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Work/Life Balance
Physical Scientist (Current Employee), Gaithersburg, MDJuly 22, 2013
As a government agency, NIST offers solid wages, excellent benefits and most importantly, a healthy work/life balance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
IT Specialist - ZP-2210-II (Current Employee), Gaithersburg, MDJune 8, 2013
Excellent place to work. This was a very good learning environment. I had a good time getting to know the team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very vibrant work environment
Student Intern (Former Employee), Gaithersburg, MDOctober 1, 2012
My typical day at NIST involved researching and clerical work. But I actually enjoyed it because there was always something to do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to gain practicle lab experience.
NRC ARRA Postdoctoral Research Associate (Current Employee), Gaithersburg, MDAugust 6, 2012
Good place to gain lab experience with professional dedicated coworkers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work. Full of smart people.
Research volunteer (Former Employee), Gaithersburg, MDMay 9, 2012
Pros: surrounded by great minds.
Cons: hard to find a job here.
I was only there for a month, but in that month I realized that this is the type of environment I would like to work in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work when you can become an employee.
Guest Researcher (Current Employee), Gaithersburg, MDApril 30, 2012
As a guest researcher it is a good place to work.
I enjoy the flexible schedule and the broad range of research available.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive research environment
Guest Researcher (Current Employee), Gaithersburg, MDMarch 25, 2012
Work Flexibility

Surrounded by extremely skilled and intelligent people

High quality infrastructure

Opportunity to work with cutting edge technology
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large place offering plenty of research area.
Guest Researcher (Current Employee), Gaithersburg, MDMarch 7, 2012
Pros: all the knowledge available closely.
Cons: coffee is not good, bring your own.
Almost 5 years now over the campus. I can say I enjoy working there. Plenty of researchers from everywhere in the world, many interesting discussions with people not from my domain (computer science) but kinda related in a way talking to physicists, chemists or even administrative staff can provide many ideas for industry improvement, partnerships, – more... and new area to explore. I will miss that place! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Resourceful research institute with friendly environment
postdoc (Current Employee), gaithersburg, MDJanuary 25, 2012
Pros: flexible, resourceful, friendly
Cons: yearly contract
It is a great place to work if one is interested in research and do not want the pressure of funding.