National Oilwell Varco Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced and long hours away from home
Heavy Equipment Operator (Current Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKJanuary 12, 2018
14+ hour shifts, sometimes overnight. benefits include: pay for drive time and company pays for housing when working, life, vision, dental, and health insurance with 401k plan. Lots of variety on jobs
Pros
insurance, paid vacation, and lots of overtime
Cons
lots of time away from home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People and Fair Company
Manager, HR (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 12, 2018
I loved the workplace culture of NOV. I enjoyed the people I worked with and I had an amazing boss. I was promoted multiple times in my career at NOV, so I feel I was recognized and rewarded for my hard work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and relaxed place to work
Truck Driver Class A (Former Employee) –  San Angelo, TXJanuary 11, 2018
Start my semi-truck, do a pre-trip inspection on the truck. Check my load and my paper invoice also with my oversized permits for the routes and drive to the places that the tanks needed to go. In Texas or in other surrounding States. Good management and good benefits.I really enjoy the work there.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
I&E Technician/Call Center Tier III (Former Employee) –  Cedar Park, TXJanuary 11, 2018
Great company to work for. Mangers are great. Never a dull moment. Everyone is willing to help each other. All in all work place is relaxed and easy to understand
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would recommend as an employer, I learned a great deal.
Admin Clerk II (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 11, 2018
Would recommend as an employer, I learned a great deal. Worked with intelligent, helpful people who always worked as a team with the exception of a few.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job - Fast Cuts
Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  Harvey, LAJanuary 10, 2018
As soon as the oil price dropped, they closed our entire site. Lots of people left looking for a job. I worked for a company that survived for 20 years as a small, private company. After 4 years of being purchased by NOV, the doors were closed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard and fast ?up high or down low
Field Technician (North and South America (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 9, 2018
Working off shore 12 + hrs per day
Hot and /or Cold
learning how equipment operates and how to fix or repair equipment
hardest part is the first climb up
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company to work for with great people to work with.
Electro-Mechanical Technician (Former Employee) –  Houston, TX 77041January 8, 2018
A good company to work for with great people to work with. an interesting job with lots of challenges. State of the art equipment and the pace setter mentality was second to none.
Pros
Great Job
Cons
Travel Travel Travel.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Short Term Employement
Inside Sales (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 7, 2018
I only worked for NOV for 9 Months, left for a better job opportunity. NOV was a good job, and would have stayed if they could have competed with the monetary benefits I was offered by ny new employer.
Pros
Nice work environment
Cons
Low Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
On your own here
Planner (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 7, 2018
In a production facility I had to cover issues myself with no help getting the same issues fixed permanently. It was very difficult trying to get work through the shop.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about National Oilwell Varco?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tasks
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Amarillo, TXJanuary 5, 2018
I had set tasks to do every work day, consisting of checking warehouses. Making sure certain doors were locked and patroling the surrounding areas. Also ran the main two gate entrances, Making sure only workers with a badge of National Oil Well Verco could come in.
Pros
Clean work enviroment
Cons
Bad work Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work place
Sales Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 4, 2018
great career if you don't mind travel. staff were usually friendly and fully acceptable to new ideas and comments from service and sales guys, would return if asked
Pros
great oppertunities
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entry level
QUALITY CONTROL INSPECTOR (Former Employee) –  Sugar Land, TXJanuary 4, 2018
This job was an entry level position which was a good stepping stone for another job with another company. Good people to work with and the work was interesting.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people and learning everyday
Service Technician II (Former Employee) –  Elmira, NYJanuary 3, 2018
great place to work. limited travel. management was great to work for. very appreciative of their employees.something different everyday. couldnt ask for a better company to work for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GOOD benefits
Breakout fitter (Former Employee) –  Harvey, LAJanuary 2, 2018
I started as a helper at Petrex, they merged with NOV. I learned to read blueprints and how to fit and weld here. Had great hours, over time was there the whole time I worked
Pros
Good pay
Cons
New safety guy, made it hard to work sometimes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced and challenging
Aftermarket Parts Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 2, 2018
company is big enough to offer many different opportunities and experiences. Good place to work to gain valuable experience and exposure to the many facets that make the oil field a challenging and opportunity rich workplace
Pros
exposure to many sides of the oilfield
Cons
long hours, weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great job while it lasted
Mud Engineer (Former Employee) –  Midland, TXJanuary 1, 2018
The management was very helpful and there was constant communication. I enjoyed working for NOV. However, the downturn in the oil and gas industry meant no business for them when drilling rigs had to stop drilling.
Pros
2 weeks on and 2 weeks off allowed a lot of family time.
Cons
oilfield cyclical work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mud man
Drilling Fluids Engineer (Former Employee) –  Williston, NDJanuary 1, 2018
I worked two weeks on, two weeks off. I worked about 18 hours a day every day I worked. Awesome management, fast paced, Paid well. Gave me a work truck to drive,

Hardest part was being away from family for two weeks at a time.
Pros
Excellent managment, pay and health benefits.
Cons
horrible work schedule.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Co-workers poor Management
SENIOR FIELD SERVICE TECHNICAN (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXDecember 27, 2017
No organization from management.
Mangers have their favorite. Work is slow and the cutbacks are occurring more often. Dont feel secure in my job role.
Pros
Make alot of money
Cons
Gone all the time if the work is avalable
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
MANUFACTURING CELL OWNER (Former Employee) –  Provo, UTDecember 27, 2017
Great place to work in cutting edge technology- Can move up quickly as long as you work hard and do your best. Management team very knowledgeable and pleasant to work with.
Pros
Good Pay, Training
Cons
Sometimes communication was lacking
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at National Oilwell Varco. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 1,920 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.4
Culture
3.7