National Tire and Battery / NTB Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace Culture
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Bellbrook, OHDecember 5, 2017
The products that were offered to customers were great. I did not agree with upper management. They were very focused on themselves and the numbers they needed to produce. Recognition is non existent. The only managers I liked did not get what they deserved in my opinion. I was also talked to about promotions multiple times and it never happened. I found better work elsewhere.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Rockville, MDNovember 14, 2017
No room for advancement and management at my particular location was indicted for embezzlement. Manager walked out one day tossing keys on the front counter leaving me alone in the store until I was able to contact district office
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lost their way
Customer Service Adviser (Current Employee) –  MANovember 9, 2017
This company once used to be good with their employees but sadly they have lost caring about the crew. They used to promote from within and now they just hire anyone off the street and dont do formal training anymore. They dont truly care about the costumers or doing right by them either,
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good starting point
Tire Technician (Former Employee) –  Conyers, GAOctober 25, 2017
Ntb is a good place to start in the automotive industry. While I was there the pay was commission based so you literally had to work your Butt off. The business was there so I made pretty Decent money
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy workplace
General Service Technician (Current Employee) –  West VirginiaOctober 18, 2017
Yoyr always busy and on your feet if there is tickets hanging you get up and get the car to work on it the oil changes area slice of cake the 4 tires suck
Pros
Long hours
Cons
Not being paid enough
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Jobs
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Lees Summit, MOOctober 18, 2017
Pay is good. Boss wants good at all. If you wanna chill with a bunch of men all days it’s the job for you. Good benifits. Good learning experience for all to work there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fast paced entry level
Lube Technician/Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Huntsville, ALSeptember 29, 2017
inspecting cars changing oil and tires maintaining a clean shop interacting with customers and coworkers the hardest part was the physical part of the job other than that good place just not good pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Auto Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Deer Park, TXSeptember 14, 2017
The management can somewhat be stressful when it comes to getting your daily tasks done. They seem to point out things that you have no control over while never praising what you work hard to get done.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
General Service Technician (Current Employee) –  MarylandSeptember 11, 2017
Good job to start with as a young man. You are required to do general service work to customers cars. Days are typically 7 to 8 hours. Typically work five days a week on no set schedule.
Pros
Good money, lots of hours.
Cons
Low wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
over worked under paid
Manager (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAAugust 26, 2017
Poor pay. Over worked employees for pay. As a manager had to work more than 40 hours for minimal salary and zero overtime. Low hourly rate for shop employees. All about up selling. Can't keep people and attract good talent die to poooor pay scale.
Pros
None
Cons
seven day work week. low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very busy productive place to work with good people
General Service Technician (Current Employee) –  Mechanicsburg, PAAugust 17, 2017
some days can be very busy and you can learn a lot about various types of vehicles. the people I work with are knowledgeable in the field and are mostly good people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
late evenings with unhappy customers
Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Saint Charles, MOAugust 15, 2017
was only part time job but was required to work long evenings. You were either super busy or had no work. Very often had to deal with unhappy customers
Pros
easy work
Cons
boring when no work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Service Technician
Service Technician (Current Employee) –  Fairlawn, OHAugust 7, 2017
This is an excellent place to start in the automotive industry. They provide you hands on training and multiple opportunities for growth. You can become ASE certified within a year of work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent enough job for being a Mechanic.
Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Leander, TXJune 21, 2017
Although management sucks as far as higher ups go, but store manager and immediate manager are really cool would like to not pull 12 hour shifts all week long and not really make a dime for it because of our commission system is kind lame and our manager likes to play favorites with the employees.
Pros
N/a
Cons
Alot
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its okay if you like being lied to and getting constant false promises.
Auto Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Concord, NCJune 15, 2017
Ntb is not the company to work for. The managers come and go and all give you a promise they cant keep, higher up management doesnt care about the shop employees only the money flowing in. I really wouldnt recommend this job to even a homless man, you would be better off working for 9 an hour at McDonalds.
Pros
Insurance
Cons
Everything else.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would never work for them agian
Tire and Lube Technician (Former Employee) –  Shrewsbury, MAMay 31, 2017
Very bad company to work for the don't care about there employees.... Management just care about hitting there numbers.... The benefits suck no paid holidays gotta work everyone besides Thanksgiving,Easter, X-mas
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome company to work for!
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  United StatesMay 17, 2017
Apply today! This is an excellent company to work for. I have no real big complaints. Only issue I have is the hours that they require mechanics and management to work weekly. 55 is a bit much when you are a family person.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Oddly Mediocre
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 9, 2017
Paid good but didn't allow for much free time. The new man in charge really made the company toxic. The Area Manager in my hometown was a rehire that had previously been fired for selling shocks and not actually replacing them. he just spray painted over them and told the customer that they were new
Pros
Cheap automotive repair
Cons
Dirty
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful place
Tech (Former Employee) –  New Orleans, LAMay 9, 2017
Worked here for a year. I made 9 an hour and went home in overly sweated clothing. You're way over worked. Asked for a raise and my manager laughed at me and told me that I get paid more than enough. I found a better job doing the same Thu g except way less and get paid almost twice as much
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, Competitive & Rewarding Culture
Regional Recruiter (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 5, 2017
Great leadership that is knowledgeable, supportive, will challenge you, but also celebrate your success. Great place to come and make an impact, promote change, and be a part of solutions.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 8Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at National Tire and Battery / NTB. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.9
Based on 56 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.6
Compensation/Benefits
2.6
Job Security/Advancement
2.6
Management
2.6
Culture
2.8

National Tire and Battery / NTB Reviews by Location