Find companies:
NATIONAL TIRE AND BATTERY
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
83 reviews

NATIONAL TIRE AND BATTERY Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Impactful and Knowledgeable workplace
Service Technician (Former Employee), Mesquite, TXJune 1, 2015
Changed, rotated, and balanced tires. Did oil changes and battery changes. Cleaned shop at the end of the night

Hardest part was unloading tires of off the shipping truck every week.

Best part was gaining more knowledge in automobile servicing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job skills that are worth it
General Service Technician (Current Employee), Duluth, GAApril 21, 2015
Pros: Knowledge that is always useful
Cons: Constant awareness needed to maintain the highest level of service.
Every day you learn something new about vehicles
Management is based largely on the store you are in
The hardest part of the job is understanding exactly the state some cars are in while driving on the road.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Place
Apprentice/Lube Technician (Former Employee), Arlington Heights, ILApril 21, 2015
Pros: what
Cons: party
its just a job nothing to advance from or grow just a job to make money while in school fun place tho just have to work really hard to make any kinds of money and the money is no good anyway
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great and fun work environment at multiple locations
Service Manager (Former Employee), Houston, TXMarch 30, 2015
Pros: Benifits
Cons: Never to much room for advancement
I worked for multiple NTB's and they all have their ups and downs. for the most part they are fun and enjoyable to work at. They also take care of their employees well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning experience
Tire Technician (Former Employee), Houston, TXMarch 17, 2015
Pros: learn about cars
Cons: outside work
Work days are steady but gets hectic when business picks up. Management and staff are diligent and hard working. Working here has been a good learning experience
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
teaching and coaching other team mates
Area Sales Manager (Current Employee), San Antonio, TXMarch 2, 2015
• Provide Courteous and Professional Customer Service from Beginning to End to Guarantee a Pleasant Experience for the Customer
• Call Around to get the Best Prices to Insure Customer Satisfaction
• Draw Up Detailed Service Estimates Tailored to the Specific Customer
• Suggest Upgrades and Educate Customer on All Available Options
• Organize and Count Inventory for Submission to Corporate Office
• Investigate and Correct Unclear Credit Card Purchases and Resubmit to Corporate Office
• Open and Close Store and Perform Associated Duties
• Understanding policy and procedures of the company and training
• P&L –Performance Improvement
• Customer Retention
• Team Building & leadership
• Sales, Revenue and Profit Generation
• Growth Management & Business Development
• Turnarounds
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I resigned because of salary.
Automotive Technician/State Inspector (Former Employee), Lemay Ferry-So. CountyFebruary 26, 2015
Pros: close to my home.
Cons: not enough salary.
Busy mechanic,did tire replacement, state inspections
Worked for salary + commission.
Made friends with my co-workers.
Worked close to home in South County.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
service tech
Service Technician (Former Employee), Columbus, OHFebruary 12, 2015
Pros: getting paid to do what i love
Cons: commission based pay
love working on car. Got to work on cars all day. Learned a lot of tricks of the trade. Great people to work with. Management was poor at times. Hardest part of the job is the job was commission based. When things were slow my paycheck was small. Most enjoyed get to work on cars and learn about different makes and modals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great workplace
General Service Technician (Former Employee), Maple Shade, NJJanuary 24, 2015
I learned a lot at this place. Great work environment. management was not the best . great co-workers. job was easy for me really enjoyed working on cars
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tire technician
Tire Technician (Former Employee), greenville txJanuary 19, 2015
Pros: benefits good work enviornment
Cons: short breaks
open shop mount and balance tires multi point car inspection change oil replacing I learned time management team work inventory management and moral in the company is strong hardest part of the job in working on sunday most enjoyable is fast paced
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Does not work with employeees on issues with shops personel
Mechanic (Former Employee), Dallas, TXJanuary 15, 2015
The company refused to give me Insurance due to a misunderstanding between corp and management that the time had passed for new employees, I was not the only person that this happened to. The company charges too much for services needed and wants techs to try and fix it the first time but not all problems can be fixed and if not they write you up for it not being. I wont recommend anyone to work for this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a kinder garden for automotive business no fun
lead technician (Current Employee), dallas txJanuary 9, 2015
Pros: no pros for me
Cons: worst managment, long hours, no money no job security, false advertisment
I just don't get it worst place to be work management its horrible uneducated in automotive and everyone of them has a personalty problem technicians were worst of the industry they cant be able to work any place then ntb I'm a lead technician at ntb this job was my biggest mistake,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced and competitive work environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Willoughby Hills, OHDecember 29, 2014
Pros: the ability to learn different aspects of the job
Cons: the instability of the buisiness
Was a very fast paced and competitive work environment daily
Learned multiple automotive services
Management was very knowledgeable and helpful
Co-workers were competitive but good to work with in general
Hardest part of the job was the selling of additional parts/service which is suggested after the vehicle received the free inspection
Most enjoyable was learning about the automotive service field
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy and fat paced environment
Automotive Technician (Current Employee), Avon, MADecember 28, 2014
I've learned many skills here after graduating UTI. This place is always busy and filled with different customers to meet.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent
general technician (Current Employee), Alexandria, VADecember 15, 2014
in ntb, we have a pretty good team, from management to technicians, we have a good two way communication. i enjoy changing tires, oil and batteries.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work but a dog eat dog vibe
general service technician (Current Employee), Lake Worth, TXNovember 27, 2014
Pros: learn more about cars and help people
Cons: difficult environment
the management makes you feel be- littled if you dont know more than everyone else does about cars then anything you say seems like it doesn't matter some nice people but most the time its a dog eat dog environment pay isnt near what it should be and im about to get another pay cut
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced and productive workplace.
Tire Technician (Former Employee), Wichita, KSNovember 24, 2014
Pros: discount on tires.
Cons: short breaks.
A typical day at work is, show up ready to change tires. I learned how to put together a tire. Management was not much of a help. My co workers and I got along well and I enjoyed working with them. The hardest part of the job is there is no time for a lunch break sometimes also the tires can get really heavy at times. Most enjoyable part was getting to work on cars at a mechanic shop.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not the worst job ever
Store Manager (Former Employee), Flower Mound, TXOctober 20, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: everything else
decent pay, decent opportunity for advancement but once you advance you will be overworked and under aided. all they care about is how much money you make them. you and the customers come second.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kind of a Hard place to be in
general service (Current Employee), Bedford Heights, OHOctober 6, 2014
Pros: it paid the bills
Cons: no advancement or any pay raise
My time at national tire and battery was ok I started off pretty good when it came to me being the having help when needed not having a whole lot to balance just enough to handle but then I got transferred to a different one in beachwood that had less employee's their and a lot of leeway going on for some fellow co-workers. I had a lot more things that I had to do while some co-workers wouldn't do anything and I find myself the only one working when theirs a board full of customer's waiting. Management would slack off and allow horse play such as wrestling on company supplies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I'm happy to be in the field
Tire Technician (Current Employee), Shrewsbury, MAAugust 22, 2014
National Tire and Battery is a good company to start with and get experience at. A typical day at NTB is fast paced. I get to work at 7:30 AM ready to work. I either do oil changes or tire change outs. I have gotten faster since I started working there. I learned how to do things quicker and more efficient. Depending on the business of the day I work on 7 to 13 vehicles a day. I am looking to expand my opportunities as a technician because I have an interest in fixing everything on a vehicle. Not just tires and batteries.

1 2 3 4 5

NATIONAL TIRE AND BATTERY Salaries

Auto Mechanic
$100,000 per year
Client Services Manager
$50,000 per year
Service Technician
$9.00 per hour
$18,000 per year
Customer Service Associate
$35,000 per year

NATIONAL TIRE AND BATTERY Photos

Hooters Location