Find companies:
National Vision, Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
79 reviews

National Vision, Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Model of Company is awesome, Compensation for Employees Horrible.
Optician (Former Employee), Nebraska/TexasAugust 28, 2014
Pros: experience
Cons: compensation, commission, and insurance
Nation Vision is the forth Largest Optical Company. With a model for its retail divisions are great. Americas Best with the 2 pair for 69.95 and free exam, Eyeglass World with the BOGO. just to name a few. I enjoyed working for them I learned a great deal as far as eye health and care. But at the end of the day I felt like all I did for them I wasn't – more... compensated the best. They start you out at part time, min wage after a year you receive about a quarter raise. If you are chosen to be thirdkey you receive a $1 raise but if you step down from that position you lose the $1 raise. If you want full time you have to fight for it. Don't expect to have a life either you are required to work weekends and Holidays, they only close 3 times a year Thanksgiving, Christmas Day, and New Years Day. Some locations are open 7 days a week. The general managers are great and knowledgeable, some Assistant Managers need to be educated more as a lot of them have no clue. Working for this company gives experience to those needing medical field experience. But if you are a 1 income family, I suggest you look else where as it will be hard to support your family. All and all its a good company to work for but they need to learn how pay their employees better. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Satisfactory work enviroment which can be turned around with meeting your goals through the day.
current employer..Lab tech (Current Employee), 3230 Acton Rd. Redstone Arsenal Al. 35808July 13, 2014
Checking incoming supplies from vendors and other labs, review goals and budgets for the day, week and period. Review goals for the work day and week with General manager listen to info from District Manager...Help patients from near by Ophthalmologist to fulfill there eye care needs with co-workers.Get threw the rush hours with minimal problems and – more... view how the benefits of reaching our goal rewards us in our job... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice people working together
AR Prep (Current Employee), Lawrenceville, GAJuly 13, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: short breaks
Adequate working hours, co- workers are friendly, and you get Fridays and Saturdays off. Some mandatory overtime is required.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Optometric Technician
Optometric Technician (Former Employee), Lynchburg, VAMay 25, 2014
Pros: co-workers
Cons: retail scene
Performed pre-testing on customers prior to their exam. Good company to work for. I am not into the retail scene and this is working in retail. Management was great, benefits are extremely high.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
LICENSED APPRENTICE OPTICIAN (Current Employee), Carson City, NVMay 11, 2014
Pros: fun, enjoyable co-workers
Cons: dealing with angry customers
A typical day at work includes helping customers with purchase of eyeglasses, assisting customers in picking out frames and lenses dependent on their needs and adjusting and cleaning eyeglasses.

I learned many things about Optical work and what it takes to make a customer happy.

The hardest part of the job is being unable to make an angry customer – more... happy and not filling their needs. This doesn't happen very often, but it is very frustrating when it does.

The most enjoyable part of the job is when the customer puts on his/her eyeglasses for the first time and can see properly. I like when I can fulfill their needs and they leave happy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day
Senior Stockroom (Former Employee), Saint Cloud, MNApril 25, 2014
Pros: few times a year free lunches
Cons: hours, not moving ahead, everyone is treated so differently
It was a never knowing day. I would either do the same thing everyday for a month or one month I could learn 5 new things. The month's that I learned new things was the greatest. I love to learn everything I can about a job. It also was very much so a place you cant really move ahead or go anywhere in the company no matter how hard you worked.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great,Great Enviroment
Sales/Optician (Former Employee), Bozeman,MTApril 23, 2014
Opened and closed duties.I handled bank deposits and filed insurance paperwork.I was in charge of sales of eye glasses and contacts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun workplace to work as a team
Lab Technician in Optical Lens (Former Employee), Lawrenceville, GAApril 2, 2014
Pros: every other friday we get free donuts.
Cons: short breaks
Working back to back for 11 hrs. a day. The greatest thing is that every other week u get 2 days off back to back.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As jobs go in an industry that is supposed to be providing a good product to help people (and make money too) this one was all about the money.
customer service (Former Employee), PAMarch 14, 2014
Pros: can't think of any
Cons: awful uniforms--cheap, uncaring, money hungry, low pay
terrible place to work , at least in Pa when I was there. Not at all interested in the welfare of customers--just their money. Poorly organized, low quality merchandise. A few individual staff were friendly and helpful. The majority there just to make money. Nothing wrong with that, but they did it at the expense of other workers. Hope they updated – more... some of their equipment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Poor Management, Copy is solely focused on money, not patients or quality care.
Front Desk Receptionist (Former Employee), Matthews, NCMarch 7, 2014
Very low pay, switch and bait tactics, employees expected to perform janitorial services in a healthcare environment that should be professionally cleaned/sanitized. Unacceptable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Fort Bragg, NCFebruary 21, 2014
Pros: meeting lots of new people.
Cons: healthcare, being in a building where the temperature is controlled else where, unrealistic production goals when things happen out of your control.
A typical day at work was to help customers in need of eye wear. I enjoyed helping the customers pick out the frames and then educating them on all of the available options. I learned so many different things about persons eyes and glasses. All in all I found that I got along pretty well with management and my co-workers. The hardest part of my job – more... had to be managing my training with all of the other things happening in the office. It seemed that it was always so busy that it was hard to sit down with my trainer and learn all of the equipment needed to complete my schooling.
I really enjoyed working with the military families and helping them to meet their eye wear needs. I enjoyed learning a job that I never would have imagined myself doing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive work atmosphere
Customer Service Representative/Sales (Former Employee), Utica, NYFebruary 8, 2014
Pros: being on track with the trends of new eyeglass wear and contacct lenses.
Cons: on your feet for hours
A typical day at work would be scheduling appointments, verifying insurance for copays or percentages. I learned a lot about the different insureance companie's coverages, My co-workers were helpful. I think the hardest part of the job would be we only had one doctor and at busy times that was just not enough. The most enjoyable part would be meeting – more... all sorts of wonderful people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
polisher/ verifier (Former Employee), Pennsauken, NJFebruary 7, 2014
it was a great job even though management was always on you about something i enjoyed my coworkers but we all where laid off
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Optical Technician
Optical Technician (Former Employee), Lawrenceville GeorgiaJanuary 22, 2014
Serve as a key member of interdisciplinary healthcare team for a busy Eye Clinic. Consistently praised for efficient handling of administrative duties (e.g., answering phone, scheduling appointments, maintaining medical record, patient processing, billing and bookkeeping). Efforts ensured compliance with HIPPA, AND OSHA regulations ; improved patient – more... care/satisfaction. Measuring the distance of pupils, ordering contacts lens, ordering glasses, making/cutting lens, putting orders in. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dependable Position
Licensed Optician (Current Employee), Charleston, SCJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: a busy location, sales over a million dollars past two years.
Cons: not enough of license coverage for vacations ect..
I arrive at work promptly on a daily basis. I review the status of job orders. Do any follow up that may be needed. I receive our shipment of jobs and match them to the job orders. I do final inspection on all jobs and adjustments before contacting the patients for pickup. I dispense jobs as patients arrive and trouble shoot if needed. I oversee sales – more... floor and that measurements are accurate, in addition to doing my own sales. I read glasses for the doctors patients before their eye exams. I do contact lenses training with new contact lenses patients as needed. I have a section of the store that I merchandise and keep clean as well as the lab. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The days go by very quick
Optician/Sales (Former Employee), San Diego, CADecember 31, 2013
Very busy, the day goes by quick. I learned a lot but it took some time on several points. They really need more employees. my co-workers were very helpful, when they had the time. The hardest part of the job was that I was hired as part time, but my schedule was always at least 36 hour week. The best part of working in the optical field is helping – more... people see! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unable to get Vacation days that you want.
retail optical optician optometrist (Former Employee), Lawrenceville, gaDecember 14, 2013
Pros: semi scheduled lunch time to depend on
Cons: no control over anything, overworked
Asking for permission to get days off even 6 months in advance will get rejected due to expected sales volume periods forget about spending time off for anniversaries weddings anything. You are a work horse and can't use your earned time off as you want to meanwhile mangers leave early take vacation anytime corporate team get holidays off while retail – more... workers work 6 to 7 days churning and working. Upper management fly first class vacation whenever no lease at all. Doctors are rushed risking their licenses with incomplete exams in 5 minutes and unable to leave when they want to if patient shows up as the Dr is leaving for lunch or at end of day. Doctors need to ask for vacation off in advance and get rejected often. No holiday party just a thick card waste of paper. And a birthday card. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Experience
Managed Care (Former Employee), LawrencevilleDecember 4, 2013
Pros: cross training
I was trained on new software and acquired new skills! Skills I can apply in other positions. An that will allow me to do other jobs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and ability to learn and grow within company endless.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Farmington, NMNovember 23, 2013
Pros: free eyewear once a year, free eye exams once a year, recgonition for hard work, reward for hard work
Cons: insurance benefits
A typical work day was always different than from the day before. The basic responsibilities were the same but the customer interactions was always different. Typical day included selling and properly dispensing eyewear, adjusting, repairing, and fitting eyewear. Customer service was always made a priority. I learned how to improve my customer service, – more... and communication skills, as well as how to be a more productive manager. Worked closely with Store Manager on everything from customer sales to how the company operates and meeting and exceeding company standards. I worked with a knowledgeable group of people who were very customer service oriented. Hardest part of the job was handling insurance claims when the benefits weren't paid right and certain co workers mistakes. Most enjoyable part was being able to find the right fit and adjusting properly eyewear so the customer was able to see and was satisfied with their purchase, and not only sending their friends in but also becoming returning customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overworked and underpaid, nothing but lied to
Assistant manager (Former Employee), Fairview heights IllinoisNovember 17, 2013
Cons: no breaks no holiday parties to show appreciation
District managers are abusive and rude. Customers are also rude. Total black out on the calendar so no vacation time is allowed. They work the Doctor so much he is unable to practice full scope optometry. The sales goals increase every year which makes them unreachable. They write you up if you sell the 2 for 69.

1 2 3 4

About National Vision, Inc.

National Vision, Inc. (NVI) is the fourth largest optical retailer in the United States, operating over 700 retail locations in – Read more