Find companies:
Nationstar Mortgage
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
169 reviews

Nationstar Mortgage Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Public Relations
Receptionist (Current Employee), Lewisville, TexasApril 21, 2014
Pros: close to home
Cons: limited staff in position
Greated and assisted vendors, applicants, board members, and upper management on daily basis. Answered up to 700 calls weekly.
Provided upper management with fast resolution for client calls.

Most enjoyable was representing the company at its national headquaters
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place and interesting people
Claims Specialist (Current Employee), Lewisville, TXApril 18, 2014
Pros: fun people, not hard tasks assigned, everything
Cons: nothing that i can recall.
I loved working at UNT. The work wasn't hard (about on scale with the pay) and everyone was kind and it was blast. I was very happy but I had to eventually make more money.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Call Center Representative (Former Employee), Irving, TXApril 17, 2014
I enjoyed working for the company. Management was very helpful, and respectable to their employees. The work environment was very pleasant and drama free.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT FOR RECENT GRADS
Loan Counselor (Current Employee), Lewisville, TXApril 11, 2014
Pros: quick promotions, decent pay and friendly staff
Cons: no job security, repetitiveness and minimal training
This company promotes quickly, if you perform well. Unfortunately, there's no job security. Our jobs are being sent offshore and offices in other states have already closed. The pays decent. The most enjoyable part of the job is interacting with great co-workers and management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Vast opportunity for growth, and could improve with better culture
Accounts Services Specialist Sr. (Former Employee), Lewisville, TXApril 11, 2014
Pros: flexible lunch time, well-stocked break room
Cons: long hours, lacking company culture
Although I believe one's improvement is up to one's determination, I also believe such improvement would come easier if the environment were conducive for it. There was a lot to learn at Nationstar. The management was more reactive than proactive. This mentality saw many of my co-workers - bright employees - leave for greener pastures. Having to deal – more... with long hours and prolonged month-ends, the toll on one's physical and mental strength gradually became too much to handle. This stress could have been better dealt with by matching such demands with commensurate compensation, financial or physical.
I enjoyed working with bright colleagues and talented managers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun fill enviroment to work in
Loan Setup Processor (Former Employee), Chandler, AZApril 9, 2014
Pros: company was very generous about providing free lunch when applicable.
Cons: health care plan was pretty reasonsble
I really enjoyed my working experience with my customers and peers. The most enjoyable part of the job was the systems in place that made my working a experience a very productive day. Management was very respectful and did not look down on our co-workers, instead they were very helpful when assistance was needed. The hardest part of the job was that – more... there was no overtime approved. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Compliance Licensing Specialist (Former Employee), Lewisville TXApril 5, 2014
Pros: employee appreciation
Good company to work for. They do not micromanage, they allow you to just come in and do your job. The employees are very helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working place with great people
POD Coordinator / Processor (Former Employee), Irving, TXApril 4, 2014
Pros: ot and bonus
Cons: health insurance and 401k
NS Mtg was very busy at time. New products will come out that you had to learn. The managers was ok. The co-worker was nice. The hardest part of the job was went the system would crash and put you behind on your work. The enjoyable part of the jobs was having a job to go to.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sold retail lending division
Underwriter (Former Employee), Saint Louis Park, MNMarch 31, 2014
I was a part of the retail lending division and Nationstar sold to Stonegate Mortgage.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There were great aspects of Nationstar but no opportunity for advancement and the management was like a revolving door
ASSET MANAGER/LOAN PROCESSOR (Former Employee), Irving, TexasMarch 28, 2014
I had a profile of loans that I collected docs for and got prepared for underwriting and closing. We worked all loans and had a QC department with strict regulations and guidelines. I enjoyed my co-workers, as most day we were all we had to rely on for help. Management was not always available and they were always changing the team leaders and managers. – more... Otherwise, I enjoyed the company and culture. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LAID OFF
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Scottsbluff, NEMarch 26, 2014
Pros: it's a job
Cons: it's a job
Working for a large company where CEO's and President's and such have no idea what is going on in the company. They could never work a day in Customer Service persons shoes or anywhere else in the company for that matter They are only worried about the profit margin, the next dollar, and next years bonuses
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work environment is healthy
Foreclosure Prevention Specialist (Current Employee), Lewisville, TexasMarch 24, 2014
A learning process; it is a team effort to get the job done, but a great company to get experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning experience
Dedicated Loan Specialist (Current Employee), lewisville, texasMarch 24, 2014
Good work experience, learned a lot about the mortgage industry. Enjoyed my peers,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was Laid off
Direct Sales Liaison (Former Employee), NebraskaMarch 20, 2014
Pros: flexible
Cons: grew to fast
Nationstar is very flexable with your personal life. They just grew to fast and didn't predicit what could possibly happen in the future.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a stable employer
Operations (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOMarch 20, 2014
Pros: the pay...thats it
Cons: everything else
This was one of the most unorganized and unstructured places I ever worked at. There was no formal training and when we were trained it was done incorrectly. The process changed every other day. They have old and outdated systems. The managers who were in place did not know what they were doing. Their HR department did not handle issues that were brought – more... to them professionally. It was extreme micro managing going on. The laid everyone off after only a year of setting up the office in our city. The people from the other sites did not respect our site and treated us like we didn't know what we were doing. I would not recommend working for Nationstar Mortgage. Working here makes me appreciate Citi and makes me want to run back there!!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Executive Assistant to the President (Current Employee), Lewisville, TXMarch 19, 2014
Pros: great people
Cons: far from home
Good company to work for. The environment is diverse and well balanced.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great rapport with attorney office and title companies
Closer (Current Employee), Westport, MOMarch 17, 2014
Pros: when working late due to the call of duty (employer provides lunch or dinner)
Cons: n/a
Customer excited about getting the closing completed on mortgage loans
Seek to please borrowers with final closing figures
Troubleshoot own job related problems with management approval
Seek the opinion of other coworkers in the absence of management
Hardest is when you can meet the expectations of the borrower with no money at closer when either taxes – more... or insurance is due within 60 days of closing
Easiest is when everyone is happy with figures of closing (mortgage processor; loan officer; customer and title companies or attorney's office) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Bankruptcy Specialist (Former Employee), Lewisville, TXMarch 17, 2014
The company culture is great! Many opportunities to be promoted within and recognized for your hard work and achievements. A fast paced and growing company which great to start off your career! Management is there for you every step of the way in coaching and helping you with anything you need. Meeting new people and talking/managing clients everyday
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very hostile work environment with very poor management
Loan Processor / Account Manager (Current Employee), Maryland Heights, MOMarch 17, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: management
St. Louis site displayed very poor management skills, the work place was extremely hostile. Management displayed race discrimination & favoritism. They targeted many African Americans by setting unrealistic monthly goals which led to termination.....many people were wrongfully terminated by the VP of Direct Operations and AVP of Direct Operations. Employees – more... were set up to fail in their production. HR was made aware of these issues excessively and did nothing to correct or address the employees concerns. These events ultimately led the site to lay off over 113 employees under Direct Operations as of February 11, 2014. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nationstar
Document Administration/Customer Service (Former Employee), Scottsbluff, NEMarch 13, 2014
The work, and the work environment was generally favorable, unfortunately, a great deal of the company's processes are being, or have already been, outsourced.

I personally had no issues with my job with the company, or the assigned tasks, but in the end, like many of my other co-workers, I lost my job when the duties were shifted to a different workforce.

1 2 3 4 5

About Nationstar Mortgage

Nationstar Mortgage helps turn home ownership into more than just a wish upon a star. The company services residential mortgage – Read more