Nationstar Mortgage Employee Reviews

Found 709 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Weak Management Team
REO (Former Employee) –  Lewisville, TXAugust 17, 2017
No character, bad management, managers promoted past what they are capable of, don't care about people or relationships. Ship a lot of jobs overseas, underpay for jobs they do keep in America. Bad environment to spend a lot of time in.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Available
Repurchase Analyst II (Current Employee) –  Irving, TXAugust 16, 2017
Nationstar is a good company to work for. They treat their people fairly and with respect. They have a good bonus structure and offer a competitive salary. I enjoy all of the team outings and the annual picnics. I would highly recommend Nationstar Mortgage to a friend. They focus on giving you the tools to succeed and move up in the company if that is your desire. They recognize hard work and have a lot of cool employee perks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work!!!
Funder (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXAugust 15, 2017
This was a great place to work! they carried about the moral of the employees and the overall company. They pay was great. The training was awesome! I left to finish college. But I would recommend this company to anyone!
Pros
Pay, Moral, Team Building, Vacation Time
Cons
They lay- off at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Senior Mortgage Processor (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXAugust 14, 2017
Pay is very Good as compared to the work you have to perform
Friendly Atmosphere
Amazing Co Workers
Lot of facilities given to employees as compared to other companies
Sometimes the work you do is monotonous
Less Growth Opportunities
Not challenging in case you are looking for something which drives you towards self improvement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employees, are nice, Relaxed enironment
Subject Matter Expert (Current Employee) –  Lewisville, TXAugust 14, 2017
Not much for room for advancement, although the lead you on to believe so. Also,they DO NOT compensate competitively. Relaxed work environment for the most part.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful enviroment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  North Highlands, CAAugust 14, 2017
I thought coming into this company would be better than what it was. They did not appreciate the employees and all their hard work. The environment was stressful. Would make you not want to go to work the next day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place
Senior Training Specialist (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXAugust 6, 2017
The advance meant there is non-existent. When I was there it was ok but a lot was happening in other departments that I thought wasn't fair and I couldn't believe it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Mortgage Underwriter 11 (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXAugust 6, 2017
I like it except that i had to leave my home to stay in Dallas for almost a year which at the end didn't make any economic sense. At a point it became too stressful managing 2 homes and i had to quit.
Pros
Good
Cons
Distance from home
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent job, no career oppurtunities
Business Analyst (Current Employee) –  Irving, TXAugust 5, 2017
End of year reviews mean nothing...the key is being friends with upper management, if you can do that you are golden...company keeps saying they want to be a people company, but random layoffs and a continuing culture of no one taking responsibility for their actions is making it an uphill battle.
Pros
no pressure to perform as there are no consequences for poor performance, plenty of opportunity to learn new skills to prepare you for your next job
Cons
politics
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Face-paced Environment
Senior Business Analyst (Acting AVP) (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXAugust 5, 2017
Based on the face-paced environment, worked long hours to keep projects on track. Management changed focus frequently based on upper management decisions on company direction.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs better work-life balance
Business Systems Analyst (Former Employee) –  Plano, TXAugust 4, 2017
At the time I was working there (2009-2011), Nationstar had not yet adopted its most recent changes. Work-life balance was non-existent and it was a stressful environment.
Pros
Benefits, pay
Cons
Management, no upward mobility, lack of work-life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
laid back, casual dress
Senior Modification Specialist/Quality (Current Employee) –  Lewisville, TXAugust 3, 2017
Nation star is a cool place to work if you are graduating from college looking for a good start. Like most companies these days it is hard to move up unless you know someone or will take a lateral move.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nationstar Mortgage
Funding Team Lead (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXJuly 31, 2017
Nationstar Mortgage
• Generated and pulled active pipeline report for complete overview of loan statuses
• Monitor all outstanding deficiencies that they are cured within specified timeframes set by investor in order to get a loan cleared prior to purchase and avoid penalties
• Completed modifications and corrective documents to satisfy investor requirements for timely delivery to investors
• Communicate with borrowers, internal departments, title/settlement agents for missing documentation and status updates
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with open shifts
LOAN PROCESSOR II (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 25, 2017
I learned so much in Processing and Customer Service from this Company. The Supervisor was very knowledgeable and helpful. Working with the loan Officers in a stress free environment was very encouraging.
Pros
Free foodfor your hard work
Cons
Long distance travel
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No communication
Loan Counselor (Current Employee) –  Chandler, AZJuly 25, 2017
I waa excited at first to work here but found out they have Horrible communication in the chandler office. Don't waste your time with this company. Very unprofessional!
Pros
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Loan Modification Underwriter (Current Employee) –  Lewisville, TXJuly 24, 2017
It continues to be a productive and relax workplace as the company grows. The mostable enjoyable part of the job is learning new processes and systems.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
healthcare
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Too Big Yet
Business Analyst II (Current Employee) –  Chandler, AZJuly 24, 2017
The culture and overall feeling at Nationstar is that it is not one the large mortgage companies that are stuck in their ways and arent afraid of challenging common practices. This of course has its advantages and drawbacks but was a great experience. I appreciate the experienced individuals and diversity on campus. It was a rare thing and seen in both the headquarters and in call center locations.

The advantages are opportunities for new skills, becoming a subject matter expert, and seeing an impact of your efforts. The drawbacks are some decisions do not make sense. They are money conscious on certain projects and unresponsive to other wasteful campaigns. Certain standards that the IT groups tried to set were removed in the name of progress and that only provided more problematic stats. The treatment of employees onshore is fine and respectable however offshore are nearly second-class as in other major companies. It is unfortunate and hard to ignore. I would appreciate the teams to feel more interactive and inclusive but that is just not the reality. Middle managers did their best to inspire productivity and comply with senior officials but there was an obvious disconnect which affected alot of people.
Pros
New Technologies, Challenger to standard mortgage practice
Cons
Senior Management frequent turnover
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ping Pong Tables
Resolution Specialist ll (Current Employee) –  Irving, TXJuly 23, 2017
Its a ok job to work at just hard to move around depending on who you are. Very hard to move around within company. I love my hours no weekends. I just want to be able to move around within company.
Pros
Good hours
Cons
early lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall decent company
Default Case Specialist (Current Employee) –  FloridaJuly 23, 2017
The company culture as a whole is good. I did not personally care for the increased workload that is compromising my work life/personal life balance. Management has to have more realistic expectations as to this role. This role is a remote position in Florida and most management at the main office do not have a real sense of what takes place on a daily basis.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people long hours
Agile Business Systems Analyst (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXJuly 20, 2017
The people are tremendous, the work culture is amazing. The work hours are very long, and would even require weekend work at times. Also, things move at a very slow pace.
Pros
Great people
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Nationstar Mortgage. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 711 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
2.7
Management
2.9
Culture
3.1