Find companies:
Nationwide Children's Hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
106 reviews

Nationwide Children's Hospital Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed my time with NCH
Medical Assistant (Former Employee), Columbus, OHJuly 14, 2014
This is a great place to work, the employees there are all nice and helpful. I gained more experience within my field. the hardest part of the job was to see sick children but on the upside you get to take part in healing them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Pay poor management rude staff
Sauté Cook/ Cook I (Current Employee), Columbus, OHJuly 8, 2014
Pros: paid time off, sick pay, every other holiday off
Cons: inconsitent management, rude staff, drama, unethical behavior
Though the hospital and nationwide are great companies to work for the nutrition department is not. The management are non agreeable and inconsistent on procedures. The staff is frustrated and either leaving or not completing tasks. The clients are award-able to know that you may be that one positive influence in their day however, sometimes you are – more... treated lower and disrespected and find yourself questioning self-value. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very rewarding experience and wonderful organization
Patient Access Supervisor (Former Employee), Columbus, OHJuly 3, 2014
Pros: benefits, a company that invested in the employees and actually cared about them
I really loved my job at Nationwide Children's Hospital (NCH). I believed in what they stand for and what they did to help children everyday. A typical day would involve monitoring registration flow, processes and supervising staff. I loved seeing physically challenged children come in everyday who were always smiling regardless of what was going on – more... with them. They made me want to be better and helped me except people for who they are on the inside. Management at NCH are top notch. They not only know the healthcare business but other areas such as finance, budgeting, capital budgets and etc. I can't think of any hard part the job since I thoroughly enjoyed every part of it. Co-workers and staff were awesome. The most enjoyable part of the job was the patients, families and co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great and busy place to work
Contact Person-Tiffany Reay-Program Manager (Current Employee), Columbus OhioJuly 3, 2014
Pros: great staff
Cons: drive
Busy clinic with multiple providers. Staff and management are good. I love my co-workers, they are like family to me. The hardest and most enjoyable parts of my job are seeing things with our clients that can be hearbreaking, not only for the patients but their families as well. This can be anything from medical to financial circumstances that are out – more... of our control. You become very close with these families so it is hard when you see them struggling. But we here at Childrens Hospital do everything in our power to help our patients and their families. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first-hand experience into the administrative roles of the healthcare team.
Surgery Center - Administrative Intern (Former Employee), Columbus, OHJune 30, 2014
Pros: various informational meetings
Cons: location and parking
Was excited to obtain new tasks almost daily and/or weekly.
Staff team was amazing and very welcoming to such a young new member.
Most difficult part of this job was the new terminology and getting comfortable with the jargon.
The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting the staff and learning how each different role leads to beat patient outcomes – more... and the never ending strife for increasing patient safety. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, and build a career.
Quality Outreach Coordinator (Former Employee), Columbus, OHJune 25, 2014
Pros: there are many benefits/perks
Cons: it can be difficult to move up or grow internally.
A typical work day would include contact with vendors, doctors, patients/clients as well as other medical staff. Priority is the client and providing quality customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not all it's cracked up to be
Patient Care Assistant (Current Employee), Columbus, OHJune 19, 2014
Pros: working with the children
Cons: no breaks, managers can be condescending, do not respect school schedules, do not value their employees
I think Children's is a good place to learn about any given medical profession if you work well with children. You must have a lot of patience to deal with patients, their families, coworkers, and managers. The general disposition is that you are a worker bee and you can only go as far in your career as your current manager will allow. The hardest part – more... is feeling trapped in a certain position and the best part is feeling the difference you have made in someone's life after your grueling 12 hour shift. Most of the coworkers are generally positive, I would say it is the typical atmosphere and that most people are willing to work together if you speak up. I learned a lot about myself and which career path I am now taking and I have also learned a lot about humility. It can be a very good place to work if you are an optimistic person. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incredible atmosphere and commendable mission
Physician Marketing Intern (Former Employee), Columbus, OHJune 6, 2014
• Worked with senior team leadership on initiating individual marketing projects and managed to completion.
• Determined goals and strategies, created key messaging and branding, briefed creative staff and designers, and maintained direct communication with clientele.
• Organized, scheduled, scouted, and shot photography for print and website marketing – more... pieces.
• Worked and coordinated projects with hospital's partner advertising agency to ensure accurate and high-quality products completed and delivered in a timely fashion. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Executive Assistant (Current Employee), Columbus, OHJune 2, 2014
The most enjoyable part of my job is completing an assignment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with amazing things happening daily
Secretary III (Current Employee), Columbus, OHMay 28, 2014
Amazing hospital with exceptional medcial professionals and staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to learn and grow in the nursing field.
Registered Nurse (Current Employee), Columbus, OHMay 26, 2014
Pros: lots of learning opportunities.
A typical day at work involves Planning, implementing and evaluating critical care pre/post operative surgical cardiac and pulmonary cases from neonates to adults. I have learned so much about the various heart defects and the surgeries required to fix them. The management and co-workers have been extremely helpful. They are always there to lend a hand/help – more... out and have a created a great team work environment which is essential in our field. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meal discount
STAFF NURSE/CHARGE NURSE (Current Employee), Columbus, OHMay 14, 2014
It's been awhile since I worked here. I actually liked the unit in which I worked. I didn't feel my job was secure which was my biggest complaint.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
For Every Child
Program Manager (Former Employee), Columbus, OHMay 10, 2014
Pros: teamwork
Cons: competing priorities
Very busy clinic. Learned staff dedication, teamwork, dedication, team loyalty. Loved working with the team and being a part of their success.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work environment
Unit Coordinator (Former Employee), Columbus, OHMay 6, 2014
Pros: teamwork
Cons: night shift
I learned a great deal working at Nationwide Children's Hospital, especially on the floor I was on. I saw a lot during the time I was there. Most of it was extremely sad and as a parent, it was hard for me to see what children endure. The Nurses and PCA's that I worked with were such a great team and I don't think I have ever worked with a better staff – more... than all of them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and very rewarding work
Formula Technician (Current Employee), Columbus, OHApril 28, 2014
Pros: very rewarding. you know youre making a difference in someones life.
Cons: depressing to see sad families.
I put meds in baby formula nad tube feedings. I recieve orders from doctors, nurses, and dietians all day. I make formula for most of the hospitals in the columbus area. The hardest part of my job is seeing sick kids and sad families all day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere with caring staff
Patient Care Assistant - PICU (Current Employee), Columbus, OhioApril 28, 2014
Pros: excellent learning opportunities, helpful and friendly staff
Cons: too little responsibility for an employee in a patient care support position
My typical work day includes assisting the nurses and doctors in the ICU. I do an extensive amount of blood work, changing and turning patients, stocking critical and emergency equipment at the bedside, ensuring that all medical equipment and devices are in good working order, and assist the front desk.

I have learned a great deal while working at – more... Children's, and also have had the ability and opportunity to pursue continued education through the hospital and on my own.

My manager is one of the most caring people I have ever met, and she is great at making the work place feel like a fun place to come into. She also excels in keeping everyone on task and keeps us feeling motivated to do our best work in order to ensure the absolute best outcome for all of our patients.

My co-workers are hardworking, attentive, and always ready and willing to answer any questions posed by family and staff. This helps to ensure a great learning environment for staff, and also puts families at ease to know exactly why the staff provides care in the way that they do.

The hardest part of my job can be the volume of patients on the unit, as well as the necessity to float to other units one may not be familiar with. However, I find my job is the most enjoyable when our units are busy, even if I am working on a floor that I am not familiar with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work but hard to advance
Laboratory Animal Technician (Current Employee), columbus, ohApril 25, 2014
Nationwide Children's Hospital is a great place to work, the benefits are fantastic. The only problem I have is that in my field its hard to advance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Friendly Environment
ADMINISTRATIVE RESIDENT (Former Employee), Columbus, OHApril 19, 2014
Great place to work! I learned a lot during my time here as a fellow. The culture of the organization is truly based on the desire to provide exceptional care to patients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly culture, great leadership, great location
Senior Business Process Consultant (Current Employee), Columbus, OHApril 17, 2014
Pros: great city, supportive management, friendly culture
Cons: parking, weather, shuttle system
Nationwide Children's, and specifically Business Process Improvement department, is a great place to work. This is the best team atmosphere I've ever been a part of. We get a lot of support from our COO and the other executives. The staff at NCH is friendly and easy to work with. The most enjoyable part of my job is knowing that my success can impact – more... the life of a family. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment
Biomedical Research Engineer (Current Employee), Columbus, OHApril 13, 2014
Its a fast paced and challenging area of research at my current workplace..

About Nationwide Children's Hospital

Buckeye babies, toddlers, and teens don't have to travel the country wide to find pediatric care with Nationwide Children's Hospital – Read more