Find companies:
Nationwide Mutual Insurance Company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
606 reviews

Nationwide Mutual Insurance Company Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice work environment, clean facilities and nice break room.
Retention Agent (Current Employee), San Antonio, TXOctober 17, 2014
Very driven environment, not much time for the employees, more work stressed culture.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, commission tough.
Associate Agent (Current Employee), Nixa, MOOctober 15, 2014
Pros: solid company
Cons: long time to make any consistant money
Insurance is a dog eat dog world with many options. Hard for scratch agents starting out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Director of Technology Chief of Staff (Former Employee), Columbus, OHOctober 14, 2014
Nationwide is a great company to work for. Making huge investments in the customer experience and trying to beat the competition.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Personal Lines Underwriter (Former Employee), Lincoln, NEOctober 14, 2014
Good place to work but going through corporate changes. Regional locations are also changing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Serious and work dedicated large company work environment with many after work activities and sports.
Sr. Programmer Analyst (Former Employee), Columbus, OHOctober 14, 2014
Pros: employee gym, corp challenge sporting teams and 2 huge cafeterias with variety of cost efficient food selections.
Cons: parking spaces are limited and expensive depending on the walking distance.
Mainframe work environment using COBOL, IMS, VSAM, SPF, JCL, CICS, DB2, SQL and Expeditor. It is a great large company to work for with many sponsored activities and sports. Corporate challenge sporting events to compete athletically with other Fortune 500 companies. Nationwide hired me right out of college and basically taught and trained me everything – more... I know about programming today. I would work there again. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was good then
Claim Service Representative I (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXOctober 8, 2014
Great place to work when you are in college and they promote internally or they did then. Still have friends from back then that still work there and are adjusters.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked in Satalite Office, then from Home
Senior Accounting Specialist (Current Employee), Watertown, NYOctober 8, 2014
Pros: working from home
Cons: health insurance
After Nationwide purchased the Insurance Company that I work for my days changed. I worked in a satelite office for 27 years, then office closed and worked out of my home office. I learned about time management and self starting. I became an expert in Excel. I developed skills for using PeopleSoft General Ledger Software and NVision reporting. Analyzed – more... many new reports to help managment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Auto Underwriting Screener (Former Employee), Canton OhioOctober 8, 2014
Some managers make this a great others made you dread coming to work. I worked for both kinds there
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small company, Big friendship
IT Administrator (Current Employee), Newport News, VAOctober 7, 2014
Pros: friendly, workable
I am one of the insurance customers that one day they decided to let me look at the issues with there former PC problems. Since then they are always happy to see me, and always seem to have some new challenge for me to figure out for them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed the tedious work.
Insurance Processor I and II (Former Employee), Gainesville, FLOctober 6, 2014
I worked in the departments of auto, MBA, and commercial property. It was strictly processing and checking insurance policies for any mistakes or duplications.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Administrative Assistant/Claims Rep (Current Employee), Catonsville, MDOctober 5, 2014
It is a good place to start in the workforce. The only problem I found is the not payment of renewals in policies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Business Consulting Intern (Former Employee), Columbus, OHOctober 5, 2014
Friendly co-workers, supportive leaders and major focus on customer centricity and employee well-being
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable employement
Associate Agent (Current Employee), Chester, VAOctober 2, 2014
Nice place to work and my co-workers are good to work with. The hardest part of the job is dealing with upset customers. On the other hand the most enjoyable part is building relationships with my clients and being able help them with their insurance needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good workplace
Secretary/Sales (Former Employee), Bensalem, PAOctober 1, 2014
Owner was not very friendly. Really liked the other two people I worked with. Was a pretty fun job all in all.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough job
Commercial Lines Processor II (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAOctober 1, 2014
Pros: professional job
Cons: no errors
This is a great job if you love typing.You work is constantly monitored. The best part is the culture and people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company
Marketing (Current Employee), Brea, CAOctober 1, 2014
The management team is very good, and smart.
Co-workers are very friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no non sense , excellent place to learn work ethic
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), falls churchSeptember 29, 2014
Pros: free lunch, working with people
Cons: there was no place for advancement
My first admin job i must say was great learning expirience I worked for a man that has great worak ethic, hard working and willing to teach me the ropes I started fileing and then graduated to actually being a customer service rep for our customers it is a agency in falls church va as well which had a huge variety in culture which i love,

I learned – more... all the basics and important aspect of having a job , hardwork , dedication, team work , how to work in all atmospheres good and bad , how to handle tough situtions,

I really enjoyed the customers they were great . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no non sense , excellent place to learn work ethic
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), falls churchSeptember 29, 2014
Pros: free lunch, working with people
Cons: there was no place for advancement
My first admin job i must say was great learning expirience I worked for a man that has great worak ethic, hard working and willing to teach me the ropes I started fileing and then graduated to actually being a customer service rep for our customers it is a agency in falls church va as well which had a huge variety in culture which i love,

I learned – more... all the basics and important aspect of having a job , hardwork , dedication, team work , how to work in all atmospheres good and bad , how to handle tough situtions,

I really enjoyed the customers they were great . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no non sense , excellent place to learn work ethic
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), falls churchSeptember 29, 2014
Pros: free lunch, working with people
Cons: there was no place for advancement
My first admin job i must say was great learning expirience I worked for a man that has great worak ethic, hard working and willing to teach me the ropes I started fileing and then graduated to actually being a customer service rep for our customers it is a agency in falls church va as well which had a huge variety in culture which i love,

I learned – more... all the basics and important aspect of having a job , hardwork , dedication, team work , how to work in all atmospheres good and bad , how to handle tough situtions,

I really enjoyed the customers they were great . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Scheduling and child care conflicts are an issue
Claims Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXSeptember 29, 2014
I do not wish to review this employer. I had a very difficult time coordinating child care with the schedules they would change every 3 months. When I asked for an accommodation for shift bids due to my child care limitations they refused to work with me.

1 2 3 4 5