Nautica Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My 2 years of working
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  San Ysidro, CANovember 17, 2017
Working in nautical, has given me many opportunities as a person. I have grown personally and professionally. I have learned a lot, to relate to people, to gain experience.
I just graduated from university and it's time to look for a job where I benefit as a person, because I want to grow, I want to grow professionally.
Pros
Some great co workers
Cons
Short breaks, bad communication
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nautica
Sales Lead (Former Employee) –  Hagerstown, MDNovember 3, 2017
Great place to work. Fun environment. Where we all we family, laughs, and fun, but we maintained professionalism, as we got the job done.

They always, work with you to ensure, your personal life, and work life, worked out smoothly, I felt, it worked for everyone
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
miserable
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Commerce, CAOctober 27, 2017
not fair. not many hours and they give you to worst hours that no one wants and they do not work with your availability at all. managers do not work together with their team.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nautica
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NV 89106October 20, 2017
Very fast paced environment customers are rude but the job itself is not difficult . there is always something to do so the time passes very quickly. I would reccomend working here
Pros
Fun, fast paced
Cons
I have none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, fun environment, nice costumers, helping hands, understanding people,
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Mercedes, TXOctober 17, 2017
i loved working here. the hours were flexible, the co-workers were friendly an very understanding, the managers were fair,an was able to work with my schedule. the job was diverse with different kinds of people .
Pros
flexible schedules, compevtive workers, fasted paced
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Aurora, OHOctober 14, 2017
It was a great place to work, I really enjoyed the location, management, and job responsibilities. A bit too slow-paced for me however there were days (such as sales, fourth of july, etc.) that were very fast-paced.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLAugust 26, 2017
I think this is a good place for students in college. but be careful with who you make friends with in that job. most of the old workers will not like you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Buen patrono
Asociado de Ventas (Former Employee) –  Barceloneta, PRAugust 18, 2017
Un empleo básico donde se trabaja con una población de clase media-alta, es cómodo. Se podría mejorar las relaciones obrero-patronales.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Assistant Manger (Current Employee) –  Concord, NCJuly 31, 2017
Handle marketing/promotions, sales, manage staff, handle shipment and do visuals for store.

How to handle visuals in a big unit retail store

Fun and free spirit but organized work environment

Running a sales large square footage store

The staff and other management in store
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its alright
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Barstow, CAJuly 29, 2017
The managers were really nice to me, but this just was not a good fit for me because I hate clothing. I just got it because it was the only one available to me at the time. The customers were very rude, so you must learn patience. But, the other employees were pretty nice to me and the manager worked along with my schedule, which was awesome
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprepared
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Allen, TXJuly 19, 2017
The store had too much clutter to accurately display all their items, and constantly cleaning up clothes/accessories took away from helping customers or running registers
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its what you make of it
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  United StatesJuly 9, 2017
Retail in general is tough right now, but change is happening within the company. The ones that cry wolf and continue complaining about "changes" are the entitled employees who can't recognize how to elevate their weaknesses and over-compensate with their "strengths". "This is how we used to do it and it worked back then" is not a viable reason for anything right now

Nautica has made upper management changes to keep up with how customers shop now. Its different. Ecommerce and digital age has changed everything. They're trying new things and trying to build a new sales culture within the company

I know a lot of retail professionals that have told me their company is not doing anything close to what Nautica is doing. I challenge the other reviews that state "cons" of Nautica being "no room for growth, no worklife balance, and corporate doesn't know what they're doing" and ask what did you want out of Nautica or retail in general? Retail is a heavy workload and you signed up for it. Its not pushing papers and sitting in a chair

The ones that say "Corporate office people are dumb".. do you realize how many "dumb" emails they get from the field that are either grammatically incorrect or just wrong? Or questions that the field should absolutely know because there were memos sent out multiple times. No ones going to do that job for you..

But it goes both ways. Corporate office doesn't need to chastise the field all the time. Directions will be followed if they are actually stated clearly and the corporate office is not the big brother that is always right..

In general,
  more... Nauticas' recent changes have shown they are making decisions to better the company. Recognizing the bad habits is the first step to change and I think that's what is happening right now  less
Pros
Benefits, room for growth, recent changes in management changes within the company, opportunity to travel
Cons
People wanting change, but not believing in the change
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Sales Associate (Seasonal) (Former Employee) –  Nags Head, NCJuly 6, 2017
Fantastic manager...M.J. Flex work schedule, fun working with customers from all over the world. Had the chance to improve my French speaking skills with some of the customers
Pros
fun experiences and meetings
Cons
6 hr shift with only a 15 minute break
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So glad I don't work there anymore
SALES LEAD (Former Employee) –  Milpitas, CAJune 28, 2017
I worked here for three years, started as a sales associate and was promoted to a sales lead a year before I quit. Management was horrible once store managers were changed. There wasn't much communication going on between the new store manager, assistant manager and sales leads. Responsibilities were not divided up equally and I was doing assistant manager work and hours for a part time sales lead pay, which was completely unfair. I do not regret leaving the company at all.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Representative
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJune 27, 2017
During my time at Nautica, I stalked the shelves and attended to customers as they came in. I learned several techniques to sell there products, It was amazing to meet so many people from around the world.
Pros
Meeting new people
Cons
On my feet for 12 hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Made friends and got good benefits.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Cabazon, CA 92230June 18, 2017
Working here was my first job so nothing compared to it, but certain managers were rude and disrespectful. I did make friends and got along with most people who worked there .
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Mercedes, TXJune 9, 2017
Good workplace. You get rewarded for being a great employee, they teach you very well and have a lot of patience. I loved everything about it, from greeter, sales associate, stock and cashier.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales Associate (PT) (Former Employee) –  Oxon Hill, MDJune 6, 2017
Nautica is a fun environment with different crowds each and everyday. People were always pleased with customer service and how helpful we were. Good management there went a long way!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible
Sales Associate & Cashier (Former Employee) –  City of Sunrise, FLJune 6, 2017
bad pay bad staff bad management no good at all they dont care about the employees and coworkers are not really professional at work also management doesn't support you
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and decent workplace environment
Sales Associate/ Manager (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh, INMay 28, 2017
Stocking shelves, checking out customers, communication skills and ability to sell is a must. Laid back environment with a higher end clientele. Management was good but recently undergone complete re-hire stage. Culture is comfortable. Hardest part of the position is the hours, freight, and inventory . You will work holidays and weekends as those are peak sell days.
Pros
Hour lunches, decent pay, mobility
Cons
Benefits are expensive, location not ideal
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Nautica. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 244 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.4
Culture
3.5