Navajo Tribal Utility Authority Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
See below
Senior safety professional (Former Employee) –  Window Rock, AZSeptember 19, 2017
This was a job to improve their four department and no one was interested in change from a white man. The departments needed
drastic changes and no one was willing to try to change. In fact they told me the white man had done them wrong from the start. They had been mistreated and was not willing to answer to any white man or me
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ntua
SAP/ABAP Programmer (Current Employee) –  Fort Defiance, AZJune 11, 2017
The SAP team that I work for is a good team. They are all helpful when you need assistance and are willing to help you with your troubles. This is a good company to work for but it's not what you know, it's who you know.
Pros
You can easily excel in your career
Cons
You need to know someone to get a promotion or raise
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its an ok job
Auto Mechanic Helper (Current Employee) –  Shiprock, NM 87420May 17, 2017
overall job is ok, somethings need changing. the apprenticeship program needs updating. the benefits are awesome though and getting to interact with the other districts
Pros
safety
Cons
mircomanaging
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Microwave Technician (Former Employee) –  Ft. Defiance, AZApril 20, 2017
Good place to work, got along with my co-workers and supervisor. Help and train newly mcw tech on troubleshooting systems. Helped 2-way techs troubleshoot radio loops. Assist on decoms and newly installs
Pros
Denifits
Cons
Long hours w/o overtime pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Network Operations Center Technician (Former Employee) –  Shiprock New MexicoJune 22, 2015
The people at NTUA were very helpful with questions that arose. The company takes good care of the employee with it's benefits. It has about 15 days of PTO and paid holidays. The only catch with the holidays is if you are scheduled for a holiday. Otherwise, you get overtime for that day you have to work while everyone else relaxes.

Need to be familiar with Ciena switches, if you aren't you'll receive training with it. Not many people deal with Ciena switches so you'll receive training.

We worked with Putty. It's a type of Telnet program. Need to be familiar with the OSI model.

The co-workers are knowledgeable and helpful.

Hardest day of work is trying to figure out who to call when things go bad. They don't go bad often, but you should memorize your clients phone numbers.

If you like a stable network this job is for you. If you like a more hectic unstable network then you might get bored.
Pros
Pto, 401K, 15 minute breaks, and health insurance
Cons
Maybe the break is too short for some people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment
Utility System Operator (Former Employee) –  Fort Defiance, AZDecember 10, 2014
*Culture was good
*Update on any faults on transmission/distribution
*update on field personnel
*Management was good at little supervision
*Hardest part of the job was opening the gates in the winter
*The most enjoyable was my co-workers
Pros
Little supervision
Cons
Little training
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Material Coordinator Journeyman (Current Employee) –  AZOctober 27, 2014
Typical work day was getting utility material ready for work orders and creating Purchase requisitions and Purchase Orders, great work environment with knowledgeable people.
Pros
Multi-tasking
Cons
Standby
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Fort Defiance, AZSeptember 5, 2014
Good Company bad Management. They need more COMMUNICATION skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive ,craftmenship
executive (Former Employee) –  Navajo NationMarch 27, 2014
Days were good and bad still had to do the job .
What i learn alot about electric,opreating.
saftey always first.
Co Worker was the best keeping each others safe at all times looking out for one another.
Hardest times were getting called out for and outage at the middle of night or 3 in the morning.
Enjoyable part was operating ,climing poles,restoring power to customers.
Pros
at other places one hour lunches
Cons
If you fall it well hurt
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive company and fun
Temp. Meter Reader (Former Employee) –  Shiprock, NMFebruary 27, 2014
Long drives. Own boss. Hardest part was not knowing rural areas. Most enjoyed the mountains and scenry.
Pros
Own truck
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like to learn new skills and they offered me the chance to do that
Certified Welder (Former Employee) –  Fort Defiance, AZFebruary 25, 2014
It was good to work there. They were willing to work with me. I enjoyed the travel and the incentives to train and learn new things that they offered employees The hardest part was being separated from my family.
Pros
Benefits: travel, classes and training, possibility of promotion
Cons
Being away from family for long periods, favortism
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun & Productive
Apprecintice Lineman (Former Employee) –  Fort Defiance, AZNovember 8, 2013
helping and working for your community and always giving back
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Place to learn and explore more for our knowledge
SAP Security Consultant (Current Employee) –  ArizonaSeptember 11, 2013
Many of the employees help each other out, and there is very little animosity in the workplace. It's a very positive space and very laid back.

For the most part, the moral is up, until the end of each quarter when pretty much everyone freaks out because they haven't met their quota yet. Once that starts happening, the stress and competition build.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An all around friendly business and environment
Data Entry Clerk (Former Employee) –  Fort Defiance, AZAugust 19, 2013
the job was constantly busy and kept me occupied. the work was not difficult for what I was doing, but still helped me gain more insight on what a professional business desk job felt like. The co workers were good at keeping updated on everything I needed to learn for my job tasks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pay was low for my experiance
Lineman, pole climber (Former Employee) –  Fort Defiance, AZJuly 29, 2013
People were not that great to work with and was not that far and nice.
Pros
payd my stay
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive at the end of each day.
Secretary/Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Fort Defiance, AZDecember 19, 2012
Coming in and drinking my coffee and just starting off by what I organized at the end of the other day in what to do. Learned different things each day it's hard to say, but I learned something new every day..!
Co-workers were nice and helpful. The hardest part was just doing my job successful and keeping my mind clear and using good judgement.
Just knowing that I did all my work and projects at a reasonable time and that I made it thru the day.
Pros
enjoyed my time for lunch and breaks
Cons
healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job security, available training with refund upon completion and diverse available positions.
Drafting/Mapping Mgr (Former Employee) –  Fort Defiance, AZMarch 9, 2012
This company located in the heart of the Navajo Nation has an excellent review from me and I highly recommend anyone to work there.
Pros
training, excellent benefits
Cons
during the 1970-1980 era the pay was low
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Navajo Tribal Utility Authority. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 18 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
3.4
Culture
3.9

Navajo Tribal Utility Authority Reviews by Location