Naval Medical Center Portsmouth Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 42 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ready for bigger and better things.
Radiologic Technologist (Current Employee) –  Portsmouth, VAApril 1, 2016
Separating from the Navy.

Good healthcare facility. From the patient side this hospital is great.

From the Military employee this was a difficult command to work at. Very large and hard to promote. Great co-workers which helped alot in my time there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place and great staff
Phlebotomy Technician (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth, VAFebruary 22, 2016
I started out as a phlebotomist and fell in love with the occupation, I had many experienced coworkers that helped guide me along the way. I felt that the great work environment contributed to hang such awesome coworkers!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very low pay scale for experience
Lead Sonographer (Current Employee) –  Portsmouth, VAFebruary 9, 2016
I love working here however, the compensation is well below industry standards and there is no room for advancement. The commute is convenient and the hours and benefits are adequate.
Pros
Easy commute
Cons
No room for advancement, low compensation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment according to relatives employed in this company.
Persistent worker. (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth, VADecember 3, 2015
According to relatives working with the company, workers are knowledgeable in what they are doing. They are hard workers and proficient in making their products.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyday is adventurous
General Laboratory Manager (Current Employee) –  Portsmouth, VASeptember 4, 2015
Very productive days, inovation and most technical.Supervision of 75 emploiyees to include enlisted military and civilian staff members. My laboratory has 7 divisions areas to manage.
Pros
Health Benefits
Cons
Salaried employee slow advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Labor and Delivery RN
Government Service Employee GS (Current Employee) –  Portsmouth, VAAugust 23, 2015
first job out of nursing school. great platform to learn critical thinking skills for OB/Women's Health issues. Very stressful at times when provider was overbearing.

Enjoyed the one on one nursing that each patient received.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable employment
Health Systems Specialist (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth, VAJuly 14, 2015
Over all its a job that over time, your co-workers are more like family. Easy going atmosphere. But you really have to form good relationships if you are going to advance.
Pros
Stable employment
Cons
Advancement opportunities are very slow
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Team Work
Hospital Corpsman (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth VirginiaJuly 7, 2015
I earned most of my medical experience while working as a Corpsman at this hospital on the
OBGYN Ward. Excellence team work is a plus here positive working environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
helping our war heros is the best thing
SENIOR/CHARGE NURSE (Current Employee) –  Portsmouth, VAJune 18, 2015
This place is a good place for military only. it very hard to advance if you are civil service .Not an atmosphere that place care of patient first. I think its not all the facility but the federal laws that can be hard to understand
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Automation Clerk (Current Employee) –  Portsmouth, VAMay 8, 2015
My typical day at work varies each day. I have learned more mental health treatment for patients as well as the administrative side. my co- workers are great we are a team and have a great bond. Communication issues with the supervisors and information not being passed on to everyone else. I love working with the patients. When I make them smile, or I have helped them in general, It makes me feel really accomplished.
Pros
Interacting with Patients and Providers
Cons
short breaks, communication issues with upper chain
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
State of the Art Equipment
Radiologic Technologist (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth, VAApril 23, 2015
Was a pleasure to work at NMCP having the opportunity to care for our active duty personnel, retirees and their families. The hospital was always clean, the civil service and active duty worked well together, patients were treated with utmost respect and care. The equipment was always state of the art...it is one "squared away" hospital.
Pros
atmosphere
Cons
contracts don't last forever there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best facility to Learn
Hospital Command Center Operations Chief (Current Employee) –  Portsmouth, VAApril 13, 2015
Gracious with time and opportunity to learn and hone a skill. Opportunities are ample to network and meet people. There is mutual respect up and down the chain of command.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent facility
Emergency Room Staff (Current Employee) –  Portsmouth, VAMarch 12, 2015
Clean and neat. Wonderful facility. Have been here since 1999, and seen many changes. Pace is steady and the patients are relatively healthy, young military demographic predominantly.
Pros
good people, committed to the mission
Cons
parking is difficult
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Automation Clerk
Office Automation Clerk (Current Employee) –  Portsmouth, VAOctober 30, 2014
work 8 hr shifts. great customer service, excellent work cohension
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military Base
Healthcare IT Manager/Process Improvement Manager (Current Employee) –  Portsmouth, VAOctober 22, 2014
It was a very straightforward work environment where we got rewarded when we hit certain goals with off-site, team-building exercises.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Encourages education and promotion opportunites
Surgical Technologist (Current Employee) –  Norfolk, VAAugust 11, 2014
A typical work day starts on Friday at 7 pm. i ensure that the schedule for Monday is correct and that all scheduled cases are properly pulled for. I am consistently learning to function independently as a OR nurse such as ensuring right patient and right site, conducting the surgical interview of the patient, conducting the consumeable and instrumentation counts, assisting with positioning of the patient and the proper cleansing of the surgical incision site. We are a six person team and our team leader is a Navy nurse and the hardest part of the job are those nights when we are doing surgeries the entire shift non stop. Most enjoyable part of the job is working with my co-workers.
Pros
hospital is a training hospital.
Cons
weekend night shift is a hard shift to work and leaves no room for social life
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Portsmouth Naval Hospital
Medical Clerk (Current Employee) –  Portsmouth, VAJune 21, 2014
I enjoy working at Portsmouth Naval Hospital, I have been working nights for almost 15 years, and I am seeking a day shift using all my current skills, and most willing and eager to always be a good team player and learn more.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great co-workers, enjoyable work environment
Medical Clerk/Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth, VAJune 9, 2014
I enjoyed working at the hospital. The staff is friendly and I really felt like I made a difference working there.
Pros
staff and pay
Cons
long drive, few benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Licensed Practical Nurse (Current Employee) –  Portsmouth, VAApril 1, 2014
Great staff to patient ratio. Great pay and good work environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning facility
RESPIRATORY THERAPIST (Current Employee) –  PORTSMOUTHMarch 31, 2014
The respiratory therapy leaders are not team players. The facility is very political and cut throat. However, it is a great place to learn and better your skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 42 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
3.7
Culture
4.2

Naval Medical Center Portsmouth Reviews by Location