Find companies:
NC State University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
30 reviews

NC State University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have learned so much in the 16 years that I have been employed. Every day is different, work hard, but have fun doing it!
HR/Office Manager (Current Employee), Raleigh, NCAugust 12, 2014
Pros: great family oriented environment
Cons: compensation, health benefits and parking cost
I enjoy helping people whether I am leading or on a team player.

The most enjoyable part of my job is when I am able to challenge an employee/manager to see things from another perspective and find or come to a resolution.

I have a great working relationship with my co-workers and management. I like the fact that we can actually communicate well with – more... each other and have each other's back. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I imagine as a typical master's program...
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCJune 24, 2014
Pros: set own hours (as long as work is completed), casual attire, casual workplace
Cons: relatively low pay (part of the compensation is paying for classes), no advancement (once you get your degree you're done)
I'm a MS student at NCSU.

Most of the work is done independently with coworkers serving as sounding boards and helping with problems.

My adviser is fantastic though I think my adviser is well above the cut.

Typical day starts between 9-10, I try to get as much work done before lunch as after lunch is usually problem solving and paper discussion (and – more... a fair bit of shooting the breeze).

The hardest part of the job is knowing it is strictly temporary that despite the fact that I like working here I can't really stay on. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first job but not for the long term
Technician (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCJune 20, 2014
Pros: vacation days
Cons: compensation, work and responsibilities are routine and monotonous
The most enjoyable part of the job is that no work is brought home. There is little stress to endure and its a pretty stable place to work. Work can be cyclical especially in research focused settings and things can be very slow during the down times. A large downside is that when you begin a job you might as well congratulate yourself because you just – more... reached the peak of your career there. There are no raises or bonuses or climbing up any ladder. So, the motivation, excitement, and caring begins to dwindle when this is realized. Most bosses in this setting are also not people with any type of business leadership background. They're people who went to school for academics who then happen to now have people work for them. As a result it can create at times an unprofessional environment, lack of direction/clarity, poor team cohesiveness, and poor engagement with employees. There are no performance reviews so there is no feedback on how you are doing, if you're doing well, or what you can do better so there is little to gain or strive for from a personal growth standpoint. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NC State University
Office Assistant (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCApril 28, 2014
Pros: great experience with data entry
Cons: it was only a temporary job
I worked closely with the IT department and transferred their computer inventory from a spread sheet to an online database. Experience
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the peaple i worked with i enjoyed.
Housekeeping Aide (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCApril 11, 2014
Pros: meeting some of the students that was going there face to face.
Cons: where i was working.
i liked for a minute until i got stabed in the back by my supervisor and her boss.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NC State Experience
Administrative Support Associate (Current Employee), Raleigh, NCMarch 21, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: raises are given by legislature only
Since I have worked at NC State I have learned many aspects of how a college campus is operated. I have worked with both students and employees on the medical side and business sides of campus. The most enjoyable part of my job has been working with so many different types of people from the Assistant Vice Chancellor to the people that I interact with – more... every day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Parking Enforcement Officer (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCFebruary 19, 2014
Working environment was great. Because of the nature of the job, dealing with students was sometimes frustrating. I guess know one likes getting a parking ticket.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Convenient location on campus near classes and dorms
Cashier (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCFebruary 19, 2014
Great co-workers are always necessary to have a continuing great work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a fun place to work. Most of the coworkers were friendly and outgoing.
housekeeping aide (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCFebruary 18, 2014
Pros: employee recignition for work ethics.
Cons: the hardest part was not being able to reach the trash bins to empty the trash at times.
I enjoyed interacting with the students. I got to meet some of their parents. I assured them that they couldn't have picked a better college for their son or daughter to attend.

They had a lot of study program and curriculum that were beneficial to the students. They had student advocates to help those who may have needed help with any problems they – more... were having. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Graduate Reserach Assistant
Teachers Assistant (Former Employee), RaleighOctober 28, 2013
Pros: time to study
Cons: low pay
While working as a Graduate Research Assistant and my responsibilities included imaging with SEMs and AFMs, designing and conducting dewetting and nanoimprinting tests, designing monte carlo simulations for dewetting, compiling and presenting information on dewetting and nanoimprinting, running nanofiber growths using a PECVD reactor, and performing – more... other semiconductor fabrication techniques such as SIO2 growth, etching processes, e-beam evaporation or photolithography. A typical work day while working as a Graduate Research Assistant might include reading papers compiling results and starting dewetting tests before lunch, running clean room experiments after lunch, then ending the day with some time on the SEM or AFM examining samples. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MSW and BSW
Member of the Department Advisory Council (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCOctober 7, 2013
Pros: excellent education
Cons: tough schedule
The education I received from NCSU is second to none. While working on my MSW the group created several papers that were presented within the program.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great group to work with, but compensation determined by Gov.
Technology Support Analyst (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCOctober 4, 2013
Pros: great people
Cons: little perks, salary
Was a great place to work, with some awesome people, but it was hard to progress in one's career as little advancement was available at the time. Plus, your salary was determined by the government, so no matter how awesome your review is, raises were far and few between
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Get people
Painter (Former Employee), Nc StateSeptember 10, 2013
everyone was very nice to work with. the work was easy and met a lot of really nice people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed work atmosphere
Hazardous Waste Specialist (Current Employee), Raleigh, NCAugust 16, 2013
Pros: flexible work hours, family friendly, athletic and theater activities open to employees
Cons: pay and advancement are up to the whims of the nc general assembly
A typical day at work involves fielding hazardous waste disposal questions from the campus community and processing all incoming hazardous waste pick-up requests. The job also involves annual lab inspections and packing and transporting chemicals for the campus community. The hardest part of the job is the disposal of bioligical wastes which involves – more... the shipping and unloading of approximately 1 3/4 tones of material about every 3 months. Management is something of a luck of the draw. My manager is great to work for - other managers here are less so. The most enjoyable part of the job is being able to help people resolve problems they are having with hazardous materials and disposing of them in a safe and proper manner. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is an okay Job!
Retail Manager (Current Employee), Raleigh, NCJuly 15, 2013
Employment during the school year is steady. slim chance to none if your looking for permanent position
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work while being a student
Community Assistant Coordinator (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCJune 24, 2013
Pros: easy going team
Loved the team and my superiors, the whole experience gave me a foundation that I hope to build on as I move on into the workforce.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working for NC State University
Institutional Support Technician (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCJune 6, 2013
Pros: free to ride the bus, free lunches
Cons: no room for advancement, rate of pay could have been more
I really enjoyed working for NC State, all the faculty were very friendly. My co-workers were the best, we worked very well together as a team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Research Assistant (Former Employee), RaleighMay 18, 2013
large campus.
flexibility
motivated colleagues
good insurance and benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place for graduate studies
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee), Raleigh, NCApril 16, 2013
NC State is incredible for graduate studies, especially in the STEM fields.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Housekeepers here get treated like 2nd class citizens!
Housekeeper (Current Employee), RaleighApril 9, 2013
Pros: wolfpack
Cons: self esteem, lack of respect for housekeepers
I worked here for 6yrs. NC State is a great college, but they do not respect their housekeepers. We were treated like 2nd class citizens and were expected to be seen, but not heard. I hated working in Facilities Housekeeping at NC State- it killed my morale, I felt like myself or my family didn't matter, I had no self worth, I was just a body to them. – more... The salary is ridiculous for all the work we had to do. The supervisors are strict and the employees are considered nothing when it comes to state property. Every year they would gather up the housekeepers and tell us that the state is having budget issues, and that if it came down to it some housekeepers would lose their jobs! EVERY YEAR they made us feel like we weren't valued. We had to drive in the snow and ice to be at work and if you didn't come in you were fired, no excuses! – less