NCL America Employee Reviews

Found 27 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Asst. Storekeeper (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLJanuary 5, 2017
Loved working for NCL for 8 years but management and company changes made it not fun any more.
My particular job underwent a lot of changes which I just couldn't embrace any longer.
Crew members were great and I made a lot of good friends.
Ship life is a lot of fun, but not necessarily for everyone. Work is 7 days a week with no days off, but it is exciting and every day is different
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Hard;Play Hard
Pastry Chef (Current Employee) –  Honolulu, HISeptember 26, 2016
A typical day at work is from 9 am until 11pm with a hour and a half break. I haved learned patience to the highest degree and the appreciation for fine delicate desserts. Management is helpful at times but can be more organized and communication is the biggest thing they can improve on.
Pros
Everything is paid for
Cons
Overworked, never appreciated
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not good vibes
Landscaper (Former Employee) –  Wolcott, CTOctober 16, 2016
Worked for the owner for 6 months was promised a bunch of stuff that I never got with hard work very upsetting beciz I loved the jobbut the owner was only it fit him self n didn't care about his workers
Pros
No lunch
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and active work place 24/7
HR Assistant (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJune 2, 2016
Work 7 days a week, 10 and more hours per day.
I think that is a shark tank in which you are giving 100% of you, which is great motivation for me. I am hard worker who is always looking for new challenges, here people are working and meeting with challenges every day all day with no exception.

I have learned from professionals and learned how to live, learn and party with same people - try that - where everyone is a family perfectly synchronized. I have learned how to work with different characters, customs in multinational environment.
Pros
Free food, bills free
Cons
No days off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and team player
Waitress (Former Employee) –  HawaiiMay 4, 2016
Working in the cruise line is fun because while working you have a chance also to visit the other part of the world. And working with the other nationality you have the chance also to know thier attitudes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
life at cruise ship
Assistant Cook (Former Employee) –  europeMay 30, 2015
minimum of 10 hours a day at work.
essence of having you really desired.
management is no good but if you love your job it doesnt matter anymore.
co-workers, helps hand in hand.
hardest part is finding good hours of sleep. we dont have day offs.
you can visit places you never thought you would step in to.
Pros
free meals and accomodation
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
got s long well with crew, lots of time for crew projects
Systems Administrator (Former Employee) –  FLNovember 29, 2013
I worked solo while on the ship. Got a long well with other officers, which were primarily Norwiegan. Learned quickly to get along with other nationalities. Hardest part were having to be available 24/7. Best part was getting to know people from all over the world. I made friends quickly. learned quickly how to work with hard I was not all that familiar with. I always found management easy to work with.
Pros
Good Food, lots of leasure time, traveling
Cons
odd hours, at times did not feel useful
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy Busy Busy
Assistant Cook (Former Employee) –  Honolulu, HIDecember 18, 2014
10+ hour days guaranteed. Always something going on and guest to serve. No days off while on the ship, But 2 months off.
Some of the chefs can be rough around the edges, but that is to be expected of a high end cruise ship. Multi cultural staff, but everyone speaks English so working together presents little challenge.
Pros
Getting to be in Hawaii everyday
Cons
Long hours, no days off while on ship
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Save money and work hard
Butler Service (Former Employee) –  Honolulu, HIApril 24, 2012
You will get to explore the beautiful islands of hawaii. You will work 7 days a week and 20 weeks at a time 5 weeks off. You can work from 8 to 12 hours a day. You must get off the ship when in port to have somewhat of a life. You will work very hard, be required to cover multiple positions on board the ship. You will have a shared live in cabin with up to 4 people. You will not only have multiple work task, but safety task as well. I has a bell hop/ room service/ concierge/ housekeeper/ air supply team/ special needs assitant. You will miss holidays and spend alot of time at work, but you can save alot of money.
Pros
save money
Cons
hard labor / time consuming
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job done so far
Server/Waiter (Former Employee) –  HawaiiFebruary 25, 2015
Start early do breakfast lunch and dinner. satisfy the guest to the best of my ability.
Learnt an American accent ,dignity of labor . respect for all , no racism .
Good management ,helpful .
Co-workers were very friendly.
ONLY 3 year contract.
Posted in Hawaii, stability.
Pros
respect
Cons
cannot apply back to american flagship after contract ended .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work hard, play hard.
Jr. Waiter, Cruise Staff (Former Employee) –  Honolulu, HIJuly 21, 2015
This was an excellent opportunity. I would recommend this to anyone seeking adventure and work balance. You have a full seven day work week, but typically you're able to get off the ship daily and explore.
Pros
Free travel, food, and living.
Cons
Seven day work week. Long contracts.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
POSITION BASE TRAINER FOR RESTAURANT (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLOctober 28, 2013
Fun and safe work place good food. Money and you can travel the world doing this job.
Pros
FREE EVERYTHING FOOD AND LODGING
Cons
EVERYDAY WORK FOR AT LEAST 10 HRS.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They did not deliver what was promised at interview.
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Mesa, AZMay 27, 2015
Commissions where removed for the whole call center and we all where given the same pay as someone who has just started.I spent my days taking calls from travel agencies and private clients.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production ,,decorating,,and surfing internet
ASST ,CHIEF PASTRY (Current Employee) –  HAWAII,,HONOLULUFebruary 23, 2014
As asst chief pastry,,I am in charge to any special cakes,,I learned so much in production,,as a second command the hardest part of my job is to handle the people with lack of knowledge,,I am enjoy to work in pastry speciallly by decorating a cakes
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great exprience
Sous Chef (Former Employee) –  Honolulu, HIApril 8, 2015
great place to experience and learn a lot about your ability and yourself. Long days and hours worked and little time to see Hawaii.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
HOUSE KEEPING (Former Employee) –  HONOLULU HAWAIIMarch 14, 2012
Working everyday to help clean a ship to it's maximum potential. Great experience on cleaning details, usph, msds, fire training, attention to detail, equiptment experience, correct chemical knowledge.
Pros
free room and board and free meals
Cons
ship might sink
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Broadcast Technician (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLNovember 14, 2014
• Total operation of the Broadcast Center
• Recording of various passenger events around the ship
• Updating the information channel daily
• Obtaining the correct coordinates and signal from satellite
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Chief Officer (Former Employee) –  world wideApril 6, 2015
Training and drills and navigation of the vessel
World Wide sea service.
Co workers from all over the world In general a good company to work for
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this job was fun i meet good people from different places
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  HIJanuary 21, 2013
it was a good place to work nice people and boss was nice my co-workers was nice a good place to work. and the job was easy.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
utility galley (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLFebruary 18, 2014
free day
i learn to know more people
the hardest part is nigth
i enjoy the food
Pros
lunches
Cons
heatlcare
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at NCL America. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 36 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.5
Culture
3.7