NEC America Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Account Manager Enterprise (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXDecember 8, 2017
Great Company and Technology ...They support folks were very poor in getting timely quotes back....Marketing was not the Best and needed attention to help promote the technology offerings
Pros
Great Technology
Cons
Over Priced
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An uptight and cut throat work environment
Order Manager (Current Employee) –  Irving, TXJuly 11, 2017
Managers off put training to other employees, some of whom may have been working there a week longer than you. When you have a question that your trainer can not answer, you have to wait for a manager to get time to address the question.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interaction with clients.
Project Support. (Former Employee) –  Herndon, VAJune 4, 2017
Good opportunity to handle variety of tasks for different departments and using numerous sources for gathering information for various projects and mangers.
Pros
Multi Tasks
Cons
Didn't find cons.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
company was not committed to the market
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCMay 30, 2017
Laqunched a branch for NEC Unified Solutions. Branch was closed within a year due to lack of commitment and resources to the market. 3 management changes in 12 months and an unrealistic expectation for the branch led to its demise.
Pros
great challenge for my career
Cons
failuer to launch due to lack of vision/commitment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Monthly Onsite Happy Hours!
Sr. Accounting Associate (Current Employee) –  Irving, TXMay 1, 2017
NEC is a great place to work. The flexibility in work schedules are great. The managers are fair and easy to work with. However, the layoffs are continuous...
Pros
Flexible work schedules
Cons
layoffs often
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lack of focus
Director (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXFebruary 7, 2017
Hard company to work for, lack of focus.When in a hi-teck company, need to move faster of get left behind. Hanging on to legacyproduct will not let a company hove fwd.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic Company
SENIOR ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Herndon, VA 20171July 4, 2016
Variety of jobs, great employer to work for. Never had a bad word to say about MITRE Corporation. Very family orientated and catered to employees children.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful work place
Director of Cloud Services (Former Employee) –  Irving TxApril 20, 2016
NEC is a good company but they never have enough staff to get the job done correctly. Alway asked to do more with less to meet a streaking bottom line.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Major telecommunications firm
Senior Technician (Current Employee) –  Lawrenceville, NJFebruary 9, 2016
Overall, a good place to work. Good benefits. Compliance corporation. Field support of major corporations telecommunications systems. Worldwide International Corporation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nec
Senior Solutions Architect (Former Employee) –  Albany, NYNovember 16, 2015
Company is constantly reorganizing their management, and changing their sales strategy every 6 to 12 months. Number of direct sales associates is not enough to cover their geographic footprint of customers adequately.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
too many layers of management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I grew in many positions here
Order Representative/Project Management (Former Employee) –  Herndon, VAOctober 19, 2015
It was a great starter position.
Started as a temporary assignment and after 12 years ended as program manager.
I left to advance my career and got a $25K raise.
Pros
room for growth hired within
Cons
salary was limited
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working with all the team players - especially the Japanese Engineers.
Hardware Manager (Principal Staff Engineer) (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXSeptember 18, 2015
Great place to work, enjoyed traveling to Japan for design reviews, a real multi-cultured working environment. I learned a lot about product reliability, re-calls, liability and Customers issues - I think being a Japanese company there are lot more sensitive to these issues.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a fun place to work - lots of stress
Accounting Clerk (Current Employee) –  Irving, TXSeptember 13, 2015
Not a fun place to work - lots of stress.
Very few areas of growth for employees.
Management appears not to understand planning for the future or how to use Market Research to meet customer needs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disorganized management
Manufacturing Engineer III (Former Employee) –  Hillsboro, ORJanuary 29, 2015
With a management structure lacking a central unifying figure within the plant, there were many inter-departmental differences that went unresolved. It was difficult to work in a team environment where certain parties were not held accountable for ensuring a sustainable manufacturing operation. In the end, the plant shut down.
Pros
Good expense budget.
Cons
Micro-management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I do not wish to review
Field Service Engineer (Former Employee) –  Decatur, GAJanuary 14, 2015
I do not wish to review this corporation at this time.
Unfortunately, the corporation eliminated this position after only 1.5 years.
The men that I worked with were great.
They taught me a lot about the AFIS systems.
Unfortunately, the company let me go after investing the time in my training.
This position was still very much needed, but the order to cut personnel must have come from much higher up.
I moved from Florida to Georgia on my own dime to take this position and I feel like the rug was pulled from underneath me.
Once again, I did not want to review this company as the pain is still very fresh.
But, for some reason "indeed" requires this on their website.
Strange.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big production feel
Administrative Clerk (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORSeptember 18, 2014
Worked with some great people here and learned a lot about a company like this and how it works. Sat with the engineers and right next to an AutoCAD guys who I really enjoyed learning from just for fun. Patty Dieser was my supervisor and she was wonderful. Flexible hours worked great when I was going to school.
Pros
Large company had a lot of people to learn from
Cons
Out too far in Hillsboro for me now
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great multicultural environment
Channel Manager Central US (Current Employee) –  Las Colinas, TXJune 10, 2014
Awesome headquarters building, lunch room and fun travel, good coworkers
Pros
Work out room
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice company, but the management in my department was substandard.
Special Events Manager (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXMarch 29, 2014
Japanese owned company in which I enjoyed my job a great deal. This is where I learned to excel in marketing and special event management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NEC is a great company to work for!
Sr. Corporate Accountant (Current Employee) –  Irving, TXMarch 25, 2014
Everyone has plenty of work to do. There is a work/home balance. Typical work week is about 40 to 45 hrs a week.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Location
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Job
Production Support Team Lead (Current Employee) –  Irving TexasMarch 6, 2014
I work with wonderful people, and for a wonderful company. I Lead a team of different personalities which make our days fun and productive.
Pros
Flexible Schedule
Cons
No Professional Growth, Under paid based on industry standards
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at NEC America. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 26 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.1
Culture
3.2