NEC America Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 19 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful work place
Director of Cloud Services (Former Employee) –  Irving TxApril 20, 2016
NEC is a good company but they never have enough staff to get the job done correctly. Alway asked to do more with less to meet a streaking bottom line.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Major telecommunications firm
Senior Technician (Current Employee) –  Lawrenceville, NJFebruary 9, 2016
Overall, a good place to work. Good benefits. Compliance corporation. Field support of major corporations telecommunications systems. Worldwide International Corporation.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nec
Senior Solutions Architect (Former Employee) –  Albany, NYNovember 16, 2015
Company is constantly reorganizing their management, and changing their sales strategy every 6 to 12 months. Number of direct sales associates is not enough to cover their geographic footprint of customers adequately.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
too many layers of management
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I grew in many positions here
Order Representative/Project Management (Former Employee) –  Herndon, VAOctober 19, 2015
It was a great starter position.
Started as a temporary assignment and after 12 years ended as program manager.
I left to advance my career and got a $25K raise.
Pros
room for growth hired within
Cons
salary was limited
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working with all the team players - especially the Japanese Engineers.
Hardware Manager (Principal Staff Engineer) (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXSeptember 18, 2015
Great place to work, enjoyed traveling to Japan for design reviews, a real multi-cultured working environment. I learned a lot about product reliability, re-calls, liability and Customers issues - I think being a Japanese company there are lot more sensitive to these issues.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a fun place to work - lots of stress
Accounting Clerk (Current Employee) –  Irving, TXSeptember 13, 2015
Not a fun place to work - lots of stress.
Very few areas of growth for employees.
Management appears not to understand planning for the future or how to use Market Research to meet customer needs
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disorganized management
Manufacturing Engineer III (Former Employee) –  Hillsboro, ORJanuary 29, 2015
With a management structure lacking a central unifying figure within the plant, there were many inter-departmental differences that went unresolved. It was difficult to work in a team environment where certain parties were not held accountable for ensuring a sustainable manufacturing operation. In the end, the plant shut down.
Pros
good expense budget.
Cons
micro-management
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I do not wish to review
Field Service Engineer (Former Employee) –  Decatur, GAJanuary 14, 2015
I do not wish to review this corporation at this time.
Unfortunately, the corporation eliminated this position after only 1.5 years.
The men that I worked with were great.
They taught me a lot about the AFIS systems.
Unfortunately, the company let me go after investing the time in my training.
This position was still very much needed, but the order to cut personnel must have come from much higher up.
I moved from Florida to Georgia on my own dime to take this position and I feel like the rug was pulled from underneath me.
Once again, I did not want to review this company as the pain is still very fresh.
But, for some reason "indeed" requires this on their website.
Strange.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big production feel
Administrative Clerk (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORSeptember 18, 2014
Worked with some great people here and learned a lot about a company like this and how it works. Sat with the engineers and right next to an AutoCAD guys who I really enjoyed learning from just for fun. Patty Dieser was my supervisor and she was wonderful. Flexible hours worked great when I was going to school.
Pros
large company had a lot of people to learn from
Cons
out too far in hillsboro for me now
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great multicultural environment
Channel Manager Central US (Current Employee) –  Las Colinas, TXJune 10, 2014
Awesome headquarters building, lunch room and fun travel, good coworkers
Pros
work out room
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice company, but the management in my department was substandard.
Special Events Manager (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXMarch 29, 2014
Japanese owned company in which I enjoyed my job a great deal. This is where I learned to excel in marketing and special event management.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NEC is a great company to work for!
Sr. Corporate Accountant (Current Employee) –  Irving, TXMarch 25, 2014
Everyone has plenty of work to do. There is a work/home balance. Typical work week is about 40 to 45 hrs a week.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
location
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Job
Production Support Team Lead (Current Employee) –  Irving TexasMarch 6, 2014
I work with wonderful people, and for a wonderful company. I Lead a team of different personalities which make our days fun and productive.
Pros
flexible schedule
Cons
no professional growth, under paid based on industry standards
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun, challenging, interesting 10-years of my life.
On-site Communications Engineer (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 4, 2013
Day-to-day was programming, maintaining, and upgrading various communications and MIS systems on-site in downtown Chicago. The fun was when our customer's customers had special communications requests that had to be designed and implemented in a very short time frame.
Pros
a pretty solid 40-45 hour work week.
Cons
on-call most of the time.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Sap BI/BW Architect/Developer (Current Employee) –  Irving, TXJuly 25, 2013
Good benefit and have 20 days vacation, relax working environment and nice co work
Like most company, it really depend on who your manager are, some are good and some are not so good
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging and job knowledge
Electronic Assembler (Former Employee) –  Roseville, CAJanuary 2, 2013
like to work on computerize machine,learned the process of memory chip is very enjoyable.the hardest part of this job was 12 hour shift.
Pros
employee recognication
Cons
health care
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best places to work
Assembler II (Former Employee) –  Las Colinas TexasSeptember 25, 2012
NEC was a wonderful place to work. I enjoyed the 15 years that I worked there.
Pros
we were supplied lunches fro time to time.
Cons
all of nec benefits were great.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace.
Manager of Integration Services (Former Employee) –  Herndon, VAJuly 5, 2012
Good place to work! Good people. Good management. learned a lot.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 19 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture