NEC Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Got laid off unexpectedly
Business Analyst, Senior (Former Employee) –  Worked from HomeJanuary 3, 2018
Got laid off unexpectedly. Lots of pressure to meet deadlines. Sometimes unrealistic expectations. I enjoyed the people I worked with, and was told the lay off was purely for budgetary reasons.
Pros
My boss was excellent
Cons
Lots of pressure, short lead times.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a good company to work for
Manager (Former Employee) –  Melville, NYDecember 13, 2017
Decline ...... It is unfortunate that indeed forces candidates to review employers I choose not to. Indeed should make this an optional choice. Sorry!
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had a blast
Senior Account Executive (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CADecember 13, 2017
NEC was a great place to work and I enjoyed the people, the culture and the products I represented. Many good times and memories. I would recomend NEC as a great place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not trustworthy
Project Manager (Contractor) (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXDecember 12, 2017
Always forced to deliver beyond realistic expectations. Would create realistic estimates then management would cut the time and expect the team to deliver. We were always behind.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Political place
Manager (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXNovember 21, 2017
Good people with good intentions, But way to much CYA to actually
accomplish anything meaningful. Unable to assist customers with real needs, policy this policy that.Upper management is not
helpful with real world problem. Just a bunch of VP's failing over and over again and getting promoted.
Pros
none
Cons
upper managment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a very good experience too working with NEC
team member (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXNovember 14, 2017
Very good experience in working with NEC. Lot of good people, manager etc are very helpful. Regularly goes outside for team lunches. All managers and leads are very cooperative.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
AVIATION ELECTRONICS TECHNICIAN (Former Employee) –  Norfolk, VAOctober 23, 2017
Enjoyed working with the people. Policies were great. Good pay and benefits. I enjoyed meeting new people and expanding my knowledge. Every day was a challenge and fun.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Solution Architect/Senior Developer/Lead Developer (Current Employee) –  Irving, TXOctober 16, 2017
This was my 3rd innings at NEC. Wonderful place to work. Excellent work culture. Cutting edge technology. Multi-culture. Appreciate the work. smooth to sail
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and challenging at the same time had fun time being there.
Consultant (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXOctober 12, 2017
I have been working off shores and from a different place and the company allowed me to that and also the Manger and the Department head were too helpful for any kind of help.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good experience with career development opportunities
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXOctober 11, 2017
My experience with NEC was overall positive. Great benefits and a positive work environment with typical challenges for any large corporation. NEC provides tuition assistance and offers online learning material from outside vendors to employees at no additional cost (when I worked there).

The workload can get overwhelming and stressful at times, but if you have the drive and initiative to succeed it can also be rewarding. I developed a lot of personal relationships with coworkers and customers during my time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place
Deployment Support Technician (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXOctober 10, 2017
Good Place. A learning organization with good structures.
Everything from management to workplace culture is good.
The most enjoyable part of the job is the team spirit.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most enjoyable part of the job
Analyst (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXOctober 6, 2017
Working for the company is very exciting. We mainly responsible for the Master Data of customers, vendors and materials. We only worked closely with the internal workforce. Great workplace culture.
Pros
working and meeting internal employees
Cons
no free lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, uncertain future
Director of Internal Audit (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXOctober 4, 2017
The environment and local culture at NEC are outstanding. However, there is no vision of the future and management is handcuffed by the Japanese parent.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employees
Planning Specialist/ECN Control/NPI Specialist (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CASeptember 21, 2017
Enjoyed the team work environment, fellow team members were helpful, supportive and had a go to attitude. Management was great to work with and were supportive when necessary.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The people are nice
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAAugust 30, 2017
I wish the managers would lead more and throw orders around less. I wish there was more organization and structure. But overall it's an okay place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced, putting out fires to keep production running.
MECHANICAL ENGINEER (Former Employee) –  Roseville, CAAugust 29, 2017
Fast paced and challenging work but fun and rewarding. I worked in the Facilities department and got somewhat pigeon holed becoming a subject matter expert and not able to move up. The facility in Roseville is now called TSI Semi. Compensation was not competitive.
Pros
Challenging and rewarding work.
Cons
The compensation was not competitive.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  TWAugust 18, 2017
If you are not a Japanese, there is an intangible ceiling above your head. Most of the high-ranking managers are Japanese. That is all I can tell you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cube farm, but low stress and productive environment
Senior SAP Basis / Database Administrator (Current Employee) –  Irving, TXJuly 26, 2017
Cube farm, but low stress and productive environment. Free parking, free coffee, telecommuting available. Hard-working and knowledgable co-workers.
Pros
good benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Senior Material Planner (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXJuly 24, 2017
I worked there for 22 years and the people were good, the workplace professional and clean. The company provided good insurance and 401k matching for employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
picnics and free lunches trips to sixflags great benefits Bonus
Assembler (Former Employee) –  McDonough, GAJuly 24, 2017
Good work place supervisor and manger are nice to there emploves Great benefits and bonus very understanding place when it comes to family Easy to talk to
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at NEC. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 203 reviews
568
474
346
28
17

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.7Culture