Neighborhood Health Plan of Rhode Island Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is a problem
Nurse (Former Employee) –  Smithfield, RISeptember 23, 2017
Very cut throat environment. Expressing one self in a healthy way is not welcomed and taken very personal. No advancement unless you are friends with upper management. People have been in the same position for years!
Pros
Coworkers were very nice
Cons
Management is a huge problem. Employees walk on thin ice!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult environment
Nurse Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Providence, RISeptember 5, 2017
The work was challenging and fulfilling, but the team I worked with were , at times very political and unpleasant.
In my Nursing Career I had never faced the foolish politics before.
Happy to leave
Pros
Nice Office, learned a lot. Grew professionally
Cons
staff, some fellow RN's
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
Claims Service Recovery Representative (Current Employee) –  Smithfield, RIMay 12, 2017
Can be a great place to work under the right management. Time management can somewhat be a problem at times because there is not enough staff to do the amount of work that gets put out on the floor.
Pros
Great diversity
Cons
Time management prioritization
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work and learn
Manager (Current Employee) –  Providence, RIMay 7, 2017
working hours depends on your role but you are interested there are learning and growing opportunities available. management is focused on organization growth. workplace culture is good and motivating. hardest part of the job is the initial training required to do the job is most of the times self learning, most enjoyable part of job is exposure to higher management
Pros
flexible hours depending on the need
Cons
job training
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This USED to be a great place to work
Claims (Current Employee) –  Smithfield, RIMay 23, 2016
Neighborhood used to be a real good place to work. it was like family. Its a big company now and All new management that don't communicate important info.
Pros
anniversary lunch, medical benefits
Cons
Micromanaged, lower pay scales, outsourcing work, small work space, corporately run
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very challanging
Lead Care Manager (Current Employee) –  Providence, RIMarch 23, 2016
I love the people, and what they do, however, I don't feel that all of my potential and assest/knowledge are being utilized.
Pros
benefits, people
Cons
not best utilizing my skills
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Providence, RIAugust 8, 2013
I enjoyed my time there very much! Fun people, great working environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 14Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding career serving underpriviledged community in RI
MEMBER SERVICES SPECIALIST (Current Employee) –  Providence, RIApril 19, 2013
As a member services specialist, it is my duty to resolve any and all issues concerning our members to ensure that they are satisfied with their insurance. I have learned many skills including communications, follow up, and technical competencies in the medical field including medical billing. My co-workers work together as a team along with my managers. The job itself if challenging, but that is the most rewarding part.
Pros
team oriented department, sense of accomplishment in resolving issues
Cons
strict time schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 31No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Claims Analyst II (Former Employee) –  Providence RIMarch 16, 2013
processing claims, taking calls from providers. learned a lot about the health insurance industry. had great coworkers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very friendly working environment with a great medical staff from which to learn from
Student Pharmacist (Former Employee) –  Providence, RIMay 22, 2012
On a standard day I would arrive and work on drug/formulary review material which was required of me on a weekly basis. I was also assigned various drug information questions which were delivered to me daily. Twice a week I would travel to a local community health clinic with another pharmacist to meet with patients and review their current medications. Other tasks that I may have been assigned on a typical day revolved around becoming familiar with the managed care aspect of pharmacy (i.e. prior authorizations, formulary decisions, sending out informational material to providers).
Pros
friendly environment, knowledgeable staff, quality learning experience
Cons
very demanding at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 11Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Neighborhood Health Plan of Rhode Island. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 11 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
2.9
Culture
3.1

Neighborhood Health Plan of Rhode Island Reviews by Location