Find companies:
Neighborhood House
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
20 reviews

Neighborhood House Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Youth Leader (Former Employee), Louisville, KYApril 9, 2014
Supervisors were friendly. Children were fun and interactive. All around great experience That i enjoyed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tyronies Italian Cafe Summary
Meal Delivery (Former Employee), Peoria, ILFebruary 27, 2014
I would arrive at work as soon as school was out, and start by cleaning any tables and seating people that needed seating. I again learned a lot of good customer friendly skills, and how to be patient with people. The co-workers here were great! The management was awesome! The hardest part of the job was dealing with a packed house, and the most enjoyable – more... part was meeting all kinds of new people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Neighborhood House
Adult ESL Student-Teacher (Former Employee), Saint Paul, MNFebruary 22, 2014
Neighborhood House provides the tools needed to move from “survive to thrive,” working to help break the cycle of poverty through four main programs: basic needs, youth leadership, adult and family education, and community building. Participants are immigrants, refugees and long-term residents facing challenging situations. Of the approximately 15,000 – more... people served each year, more than 90% live at or below the poverty level, over 90% are minority, and roughly 75% speak a native language other than English at home. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved it!
Director of Youth & Family Services (Former Employee), Columbus, OhioFebruary 13, 2014
This is where I got my managerial experience. I learned to not be afraid to make mistakes. That's how you learn. There was a lot of support. Great place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Front Desk Receptionist (Former Employee), Seattle, WAJanuary 23, 2014
Pros: manegment
Cons: slow
Great communication with co-workers and manegment. Love helping people and answering phones.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Neighborhood House Tutor (Current Employee), Auburn, WAJanuary 9, 2014
this is a place to work where everyone helps out everyone and obviously cares about you and your needs
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place where a smile bringhten up a frown
Janitorial Worker (Former Employee), Milwaukee, WIJanuary 9, 2014
Great management team CO-Worker where so nice and kind caring and would say the same bout me
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Maintenance
Teacher/Site Supervisor (Former Employee), Morristown, NJOctober 30, 2013
Pros: friendly parents
Cons: director was out of touch with the agency needs
Staff didn't receive salary pay on time. Maintenance was not available to keep agency safe and clean.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and loving place to work
Asst. Teacher (Former Employee), Seattle, WASeptember 13, 2013
Pros: diversity, great mangement
Cons: too much work and not enough hours to complete
I loved working at NH. I learned a lot about other cultures. between the families and staff NH has over 100 different spoken languages. The management is great! You could go at anytime and voice your opinion to management and they would listen. I have heard, since I left 3 years ago that almost all of management are new to NH. In my opinion. The best – more... thing about NH is the diversity and the hardest thing is what make this company so unique all the languages. which sometimes makes it hard to communicate. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
East duties
Janitor (Former Employee), 2819 w Richardson plSeptember 7, 2013
Pros: breaks after every room.
Cons: getting bored when im done.
I would come in vaccum the computer and library room which were attached together and wipe the areas. Disinfect the roller skates then sweep the skating ring and mopp afterwards. Sweep and mopp the hallways, do the same to classrooms and restrooms along with wiping and cleaning toilets windows and desks. When I had nothing to do I was assigned inventory – more... monitor in which I had to take out a closet filled with toys and miscellaneous items record them, and turn the records in each day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work activities
VOLUNTEER (Former Employee), Calexico, CASeptember 5, 2013
Pros: social knowledge
Cons: short breaks
It is great to be around of individuals and meet their needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Historic community center servicing urban area
Administrative Assistant/Front Desk Receptionist (Former Employee), Wilmington, DEAugust 18, 2013
Pros: self fullfillment
Cons: lack of job security, non profit industry
Able to contribute to the advancement of community strength through education, community assistance, health and well being assistance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Neighborhood house Babysitter (Current Employee), Louisville, KYAugust 11, 2013
Pros: playing with the children
Cons: too many kids talking at once
I would interact with the kids on a daily basis and assist them with washing their hands before I passed out lunch or snack. I learned time mangement, patience and responsibility. My co-workers were friendly for the most part. The hardest part of the job was listening to all the kids needs at once. The most enjoyable part was seeing their smiling faces – more... every day that I worked. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and learning environment
Teacher Aide (Former Employee), Peoria, ILJuly 8, 2013
Pros: free lunch
Cons: short breaks, always part-time, on call, short hours
At Neighborhood House I had to assist the teachers with the children. I have learned how to take care of 10 children at once and realized I do not want any children soon. I've learned how to deal with different children based on their personality. I learned how to change a diaper in one minute and their clothes in three minutes. My co-workers were nice. – more... It took me two years to get to know them on a personal level. there were problems with one co-worker but we worked it out by working as a team and came up with a plan. The hardest part of the job was watching 20 children and making sure they were not in things they should not be in. The children were everywhere. The most enjoyable part of the job was the smiles that I put on the children's faces every day and the smile they put on my face plus the love that we had for each other. I grew to love and care about every child that came into that building. I was around them more than their own mother was. The smiles and hugs were worth being there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Neighborhood House
Billing & Marketing (Former Employee), Auburn NY, 13021February 4, 2013
I was the billing/media/marketing specialist. I was in charge of all the billing to the parents and the county. I loved the people I worked for and with but unfortunately I was not getting paid enough for the amount of work I was doing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employess
Dish Washer.cook (Former Employee), Peoria, ILNovember 27, 2012
Pros: serving seniors who would not be able to get their own meals
Cons: no having enough help in kitchen.
My day starts off preparing daycare breakfast, then getting lunch ready for the meals on wheels program, daycare and seniors program for that day and staff. After that is executed I start preparing for the next day menu. then I get daycare snack ready for that day. clean work area. I would write out of the purchase orders every two weeks. when stock – more... comes in I check it in and then put it away. I loved my job there and the other co-workers were like family. I don't find anything that was hard about my job loved it, enjoyed every bit of it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place if you like helping out
Meals On Wheels (Former Employee), Peoria, ILMay 29, 2012
Pros: new friends
Cons: short break
You get to work with lots of nice people...helping the elderly is fun thay can be funny at time the thing i loved about working there was everyone became family but the hardest part about this job is when you go to take someone there food in you fould out that thay had past away moved on to a better place...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work environment that catered to school-age children with different types of programs
Teacher/Arts & Crafts Specialist (Former Employee), Wilmington, DEApril 12, 2012
Pros: new computer lab, free meals and field trips
Cons: lack of funding closed the after school program
Diverse group of school-age children with an abundance of fun and i magination, great to working with them, staff members worked together providing tutoring, art, sports and crocheting
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun, productive and family oriented work environment
Receptionist (Current Employee), Seattle, WAMarch 28, 2012
Pros: get to help lots of difference cultures
Neighborhood house assists the community in many ways jobs, childrens clothing and items, activities within the community, working with homeless clients and english second language clients. Also assistance with Citizenship classes and Esl classes through Highline on site.