NeighborWorks America Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best job I ever had!
Specialist (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJuly 17, 2017
I love this place. I was laid off during the sequestration. Shortly after I heard the organization went under a total re-org on the executive level. BUT, under the previous executives this was a great place to work. The team I worked with in the training department was irreplaceable and knew how a team work environment should operate. I had a great boss who was very smart; She pushed her staff to take advantage of professional development opportunities on a consistent basis and provided resolutions to problems when the arised versus putting you down and placing blame. On top of that, the pay was great!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome laid back work environment.
Sr. Specialist, Software Support (Current Employee) –  Washington, DC 20002March 21, 2017
Neighborworks America is a great organization to work for. Great opportunities, HR staff is very friendly and attentive to your needs. Yes i would recommend anyone to work at NW America.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great corporation
Sr. Finance Manager (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCMarch 17, 2017
NeighborWorks America is a great place to work, with motivated employees and great work/life balance. Employees are well versed in the company's mission and work together towards the same goal. The company relies heavily on federal funding. Most importantly, there are always opportunities to collaborate cross-divisionally and expand the internal knowledge base.
Pros
Great people
Cons
federal funds reliance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Consulting Work
Consultant (Contract) (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCNovember 9, 2016
Agency is nationally recognized and undertakes projects/training venues that can be challenging but are critical to the long term economic health/stability of communities nationwide.
Pros
Widely accessible, exceptional support, talented staff
Cons
Some budget limitations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Staff Accountant (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCNovember 4, 2016
I loved working at Neighborworks America. It was a very fun place to work, the evironment, the company culture, my co-workers everything was cool. My time there was short because I was a temporary employee, but I would love to go back.
Pros
great company to work for
Cons
I was a temporary employee
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible or no communication from everyone.
Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Washington/Metro, DCSeptember 20, 2016
The most ridiculous and longest hiring process. HR is a joke - non-responsive, never available, low quality everything. Don't work for this place; look elsewhere!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, friendly, welcoming environment
Intern (Former Employee) –  Washington City, DCJuly 14, 2016
You will never walk through NeighborWorks without feeling at home. Everyone is very welcoming and friendly and is here to work hard but have fun at the same time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Great Environment
Sr. Support Specialist, Software Applications (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCJanuary 29, 2016
The overall environment is great. The organization's main purpose is inspiring...supporting and assisting low income families towards their goal for home ownership.
Pros
Additional days off around the holidays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun place to work.
Budget and Project Planning Intern (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCOctober 29, 2015
Clean environment. Fun atmosphere. Employees work hard to accomplish goals. Great place to network for future career developments. I recommend applying.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
none
Senior .Net/SharePoint Developer (Current Employee) –  washington dcApril 23, 2015
I love what i do right now and the company is stable.The most enjoyable part of the job is working on sharepoint and get expereince. And also the coworkers are so friendly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NeighborWorks is an outstanding organization with great leadership and an enormously talented staff
Senior Manager Quality Control & Compliance (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJanuary 6, 2015
I enjoyed being part of this magnificent team as it relates to foreclosure prevention. Staff work tirelessly to benefit the families, individuals, and communities we exist to serve.
Pros
People
Cons
Term-Limited
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work.
INTERNAL AUDIT CONSULTANT (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCAugust 10, 2014
Great working environment, friendly co-workers and great life/work balance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company Mission and Goals
Manager (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCAugust 5, 2014
Due to the nature of the work, environment is super fast paced and hours worked are often extrememly long for periods on end. However most of the staff are committed to the company mission and although the job function itself is great the work environment can be stressful.
Pros
Decent Pay, great benefits, great company mission
Cons
Long work hours/days, stressful environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for Job Work/Life Balance
NeighborWorks America (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCJuly 30, 2014
This is a great organization for Life Balance; however, there isn't much room for career advancement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mission focused nonprofit with solid reputation
Manager for Corporate Media Relations (Current Employee) –  washington, dcJune 19, 2014
A typical day at the office is definitely not routine. There is change happening all of the time. Relationships with government and private sector are varied and challenging.

The people I work with are great -- committed to the mission.

The hardest part of the job is the frequent inconsistent messages coming from the C-suite around business objectives.

Most enjoyable part of the job is the mission -- we help people.
Pros
tele-work available up to 3 days per week, if eligible
Cons
poor office location. very expensive commute.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Compliance and Quality Control Specialist (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCMarch 1, 2014
Great company to work for. This is a non profit organization that deals assists with housing programs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome organization
Coordinator, Contracts and Concurrence (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCFebruary 13, 2014
Great work life balance. Great benefits. Great environment. Awesome Organization.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Organization was consistent in its efforts to fulfill its mission statement
Sr. Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCFebruary 11, 2014
Having the ability to multi-task
Learned the organization's mission and its relevance to the community
Management did not enhance opportunity for promotion
Co-workers were friendly, cooperative and supportive
Hardest part of the job was scheduling meetings with external board members
The most enjoyable part of the job was the opportunity to travel
Pros
Exceptional benefits
Cons
limited recognition of accomplishments
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A diverse and challenging set of opportunities
Trainer, Facilitator and Curriculum Development (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCJanuary 19, 2014
A diverse set of consulting and training opportunities are presented. An enriching opportunity to empower challenged negotiators.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A pleasure
District Operations Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Anaheim, CASeptember 11, 2013
An absolute pleasure to work with.
Staff was wonderful, clients were mostly wonderful.
I highly recommend.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at NeighborWorks America. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 25 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
4.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.6
Culture
4.1