Find companies:
Nemours
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
45 reviews

Nemours Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Accounts Payable Specialist (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FloridaJune 2, 2013
Pros: a few pros flexible hours, pleasant atmosphere and management keep us informed of decisions
A typical day in Accounts Payable Department is making sure all invoices have been processed in a timely manner for the next check updated for payment processing. Job task includes process invoices, payment request, and match PO in Smart Recon which is Lawson software. Assist other co-workers if needed. A challenge is when the PO and invoice do not – more... match due to item description, This could be an example of a ping pong table, a little more effort to get the ball to the other side. In the work place extra research is needed, to get invoice processed so that we do not incur late fees/ finance charges. During this past year my company opened a new hospital, although I am a patient person it made me realize how much pressure upper management was under, I knew I had to be extra accountable for all my responsibilities to ensure everything was running smoothly for my accounts. I really enjoy working for my employer, thy are very generous with us. It's a joy to know that a few invoices may save a child's life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a job
Nurse (Former Employee), Wilmington, DEMay 16, 2013
Terrible, unfair management
At times hostile work enviroment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management for physicians
OR nurse (Former Employee), OrlandoMay 12, 2013
As a Staff OR nurse I found the nurses here to be petty, clicky, and the lack of leadership and management is appalling. The poor management starts at the top with the Nursing Administration basically dictating how physicians should practice. There is absolutely no consideration for years of experience and I have never seen the Human Resource department – more... be so involved at micromanaging physicans and nurses. The OR is a complete joke. The anesthesia department for example has had one physician resign and one was fired. What is left is a skeleton crew of brand new grad CRNA's who know less than the OR nurses. The Chairman of the department is not even an MD but a DO who does not believe in pain medicine. I constantly had to battle the anesthesia department for pain meds for PACU recovery. This is supposed to be a Peds Hospital right? I would never take my child here or refer anyone to this Nemours. I have since went back to Arnold Palmer. A beautiful building filled with incompetent and mean people. – less

May 16, 2013

An OR nurse has the same opinion I had from the Radiology and Laboratory department!!! Not a coincidence What a disgusting place to work. Without a doubt the most disrespectful staff .. How a professional can work in an environment like this. I hope the CEO reads the review and acts right away !!!! Management was poorly selected.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not likely to hire anyone with credible experience
employee (possible) (Former Employee), Orlando, FLApril 30, 2013
I recently completed several applications with Nemours. For the positions that Nemours were seeking to fill, I know that I had more than enough experience to fill the position. I do believe that Nemours like many other companies hire people based on who they know within the company instead of the experience and qualifications one possess. You work hard – more... to achieve the necessary education and experience and yet someone determines you have either too much or too little experience to fill a position. I am certain that Nemours is working hard to care for their patients, but I do not see the same dedication in hiring employees based on their talents, experience, and knowledge of the position. I do pray that Nemours will revamp the hiring process to include not only employees who are familiar with management and other staff but also to include the candidate that is capable of honoring the facility's mission. – less

June 13, 2013

I really don't know why the take so long to respond to your application. I have been waiting a total of 40 days now and still no respond on my application. So frustrating!!

July 7, 2013

Nemours receives hundreds of applications on a regualr basis.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a typical day as a hmo specialist II
HMO specialist II (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLApril 24, 2013
Pros: awesome children, great coworkers
Cons: park off site
Greet patients using AIDET. Assist patients in obtaining an authorization when they arrive at the clinic without an appropriate authorization and advise clinic of patient status. Communicate with assigned clinics regarding unattainable authorizations. Verify and update demographic, insurance, PCP and authorizations/referral information when required – more... at each encounter. Process encounters via DAG worqueue daily. Refer patients to financial counselor as appropriate. Monitor voicemail and return calls as appropriate for the main HMO phone line.
Perform registration and check-in or check –out functions for clinic(s). Verify and update demographic, insurance, PCP, and authorizations/referral information when required at each encounter. Ensure all annual mandatory forms are complete, accurate, updates and on file in accordance with NCC policies. Collect all copayments, coinsurance and self-pay amount due for services rendered. Adhere to end of the day business processing standard by verifying that cash analysis and receipts balance. Schedule follow-up appointments as instructed via the appointment disposition. Process encounters via the registration and check-out workqueue daily. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Wilmington, DEApril 18, 2013
Pros: seeing the pediatric patients
Cons: seeing the sick children
Fast paced Radiology Department
Many jobs duties
Must be able to multi task

April 22, 2013

Unfortunately Orlando new Hospital does not imitate your culture. The mother hospital has been running for a while and seems to have a better management team. Orlando lacks of wise administrators or management. It is a shame that a beautiful place lacks of expertise and professionalism. Some departments are falling apart and patients don't trust them ex. radiology and laboratory ( so many mistakes !!! ) . NO ONE SHOULD PLAY WITH KIDS LIVES....

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Patient Care Technician (Former Employee), Columbia MarylandApril 3, 2013
I love the interaction with patients verifing insurance Helping people making schduling or make appointment it was great I the medical fiedl you take the good and the bad and makeit pleasant
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible ethics.
Radiology (Former Employee), Orlando, FLApril 1, 2013
Pros: pay
Cons: bad administration, poor standards of behavior.
Radiology has terrible ethics. I have yet to work in a place that has such poor management, all around. I took the job for money but I feel as if I sold my soul. There is one Radiologist who puts down the techs and nothing is done about it. In the begining they talked about the great standards of behavior, but it seems like no one ever practiced them, – more... not even the administration. It seems as if the worst techs are the ones who admin bends over backwards for, but the ones who have experience and knows what they are doing, and do not mess up exams, are the ones who get punished. I have lost all respect for the Nemours name since working here and from what I hear from other collegues in other hospitals, they know the stories of them place and feel as if this hospital is a joke. – less

April 24, 2013

The radiology manager has no clue what she is doing. She trusts in the most incompetent technologists to do her bidding for her as the department is in a downward spiral. There are some good technologist there but it seems as if she sees them as a threat and keeps them from any part of the decision making process. The ones that make the schedule and are rewarded with leadership tasks are those that are fresh out of school and have no experience. This poor decision making is really starting to show too.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very rewarding
Lead Anesthesia Technician (Current Employee), Wilmington, DEMarch 12, 2013
One of the best Children's Hospitals in the area. Great people, great culture, great service.

March 17, 2013

Orlando is a total different enviroment. I had the opportunity to visit Delaware hospital as part of my training and I agree with you , but the culture and values from the mother hospital are not reflected in the "new " hospital. The poor management is not positively affecting to build their reputation, it seems they need coaching and mentoring in order to make it work.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Better hospitals to work, dont fall for money...
Laboratory Medical Technologist (Former Employee), Orlando FlMarch 8, 2013
Pros: compensation is high, healthcare
Cons: no breaks, expensive food, lack of communication
Worst management style ever seen, no personal life balance , not well organized to be a hospital dedicated to childrens. Co-workers rude and poor knowledge. Not a place to grow proffesionally, unless managers are your friends. Bad reputation. Very short staff makes work exhausting ( no wonder they pay you well). NO Communication , bad management.

July 7, 2013

Nemours pays great and has great managment to back up the staff. When an organization is new, it goes through growing pains. You should have stuck around, it is well worth it.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family friendly
PBX Operator III /Switchboard Supervisor (Former Employee), Orlando, FLMarch 3, 2013
I was always busy. I learned a lo about the different disease's the physicians work with on a daily basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome benefits, Poor management
Certified Ophthalmic Assistant (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLFebruary 21, 2013
Awesome benefits. Poor management. Bad leadership. Favoritism and nepotism at its best.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dissapointment for medical professionals
Former nurse (Former Employee), 4thFebruary 20, 2013
Pros: compensation is high
Cons: short staff, poor management
A complete dissapointment for nurses. Lack of training , materials not organized appropiately, rude managers and unprofessional staff, 75% of staff that left other leader hospital in the Orlando Community returned for their jobs. No balance between work and personal life. Short staff makes you work extenous hours. Culture is odd , only staff that was – more... previously hired advance in positions. Laboratory is a complete mess, had experience samples cancelled due to not well trained personnel... lack of clinical knowledge .. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only a nice building , thats all
Laboartory (Former Employee), OrlandoFebruary 10, 2013
Pros: compensation, health insurance
Cons: poor management, buddy system, disorganizarion
Nemours in Orlando is a new hospital trying to get their reputation, not doing so well do to disorganization and lack of real team work. Some departments were well established before and they do know what they are doing but others dont ( ex. laboratory ). The laboratory refers over 50% of their samples due to poor management. Patients at risk getting – more... labs done there. Patients with certain insurances their blood gets refered to chain laboratories !!! Personnel lacks of training and act like they are lost. Employees multitask to the point of exhaustion (under staff). Pathlogy and lab crew lacks of clinical knowledge. Manager is rude and unprofessional. Very sad experience , nice building but thats all. Not recommended .... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work and learn
OFFICE TECHNICIAN I (Former Employee), Jacksonville FloridaFebruary 6, 2013
Pros: excellent benefits, flexible schedule, i loved my co workers
Cons: major changes in supervisors and company moral deminished.
I loved Nemours. It was my first job after I had a baby. I started out as a clerical rep and advanced to Electronic Billing in less than a year. My supervisor was awesome. She was fair and help me gain knowledge in the medical field. I appreciate her dearly. After five years on her team Nemours decided to do some changes and I was placed on another – more... team. At that point I was no longer happy there, but I stayed because I loved my co workers and Nemours was flexible and understanding I had a very sick child at the time. But after about another year I decided I wanted to do something different and actually have contact with patients. I wanted to feel I could make a difference in the lives of sick people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what they say they are
MT (Former Employee), Orlando FlJanuary 30, 2013
Pros: beautiful building, good compensation
Cons: no lunch breaks, no knowledge co-workers
Buddy system, if your my friend I bring you on board even if you dont know what your doing. Closed door meetings , not organized, lack of communication, no team work , lack of clinical judgement . Laboratory is a brand new department lacking of structure.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I once loved Nemours. Not anymore.
N/A (Former Employee), Home Office - Jacksonville, FLDecember 28, 2012
Pros: nice office, on campus cafeteria, benefits, vacation
Cons: lack of communication, sneaky managers, playing favorites, too corporate for being non-profit, only loyal to well liked employees
I worked for Nemours for close to 10 years. In those 10 years I had three positions. The first was a promotion and the other two were considered lateral moves, so they did not have to compensate me. The management is VERY sneaky. They have a lot of closed door meetings, then surprise you with major changes. They make decisions about your career and – more... future without consulting you. I had that happen to me time and time again. I planned to retire from Nemours, but was forced to leave when they eliminated my position. I was not given any severance pay for the years served, when in 2009 during their "reduction in force" (RIF), they provided those folks with 1 week of pay for every year of service, plus re-employment assistance. I got nothing from Nemours. I was well liked and had nothing but great performance reviews and accolades, and have proven over and over again that I can easily adapt to new challenges and succeed. After my departure, I found out they fired a young lady and then re-hired her in another department. As far as I’m aware, that is against company policy. They also promoted several co-workers to other teams, which require they learn new jobs. Why couldn't they do that for me? They also consistently promote only those who are well liked, and allow "trouble makers" to remain with the company. I once loved Nemours and felt very proud to work for them, but they proved to me they have no loyalty to their employees. They have adopted the corporate America attitude. Once you serve your usefulness, they will get rid of you without thinking twice. The only saving grace for me was knowing what I did made a difference in a sick childs life and also my wonderferul co-workers/peers. Nemours has some good people working for them, but unfortunately the managament and executives don't care about the people who do all the work. – less

January 25, 2013

I experienced the same on my department. No communication, lack of consistency , P/P 's not followed, a mess in general. Nurses and janitorial staff feel the same way. A beautiful place but no proffesionalism at all.

January 30, 2013

Company lacks of organization , meetings at closed doors. Information is hidden by managers. Particularly in the laboratory is an entire CHAOS. That department needs some serious help or the hospital might loose accreditation.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a fun place to work
PSS (Former Employee), OrlandoNovember 2, 2012
Pros: good health benefits
Cons: short breaks, managers are control freaks, outdateculture.worst place i ever worked!
Buddy system ,managers are control freaks and bullies .worst place i ever worked,culture is out dated and lots of older judgmental people work there.

December 12, 2012

This was not a friendly place to work at all, the staff was unprofessional....too clickish my experience in the call center with 3 other employees would put the patients parents on hold or mute and would daily talk about them from how they sounded terms like "ghetto" to what type of insurance they had. All kinds of unprofessional behavior took place, in regards to the front desk staff was also very unproffesional complainers......not to mention the office manager who was also a the charge nurse never wanted to make contact with the patients always in her office sending emails....just overall not a good place to work

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Place to Work
Medical Assistant (Current Employee), Wilmington DEOctober 16, 2012
Possess knowledge of medical terminologies, clinical requirements and procedures
Proficient in handling medical tools, apparatus and equipments, required to conduct several medical tests
Ability to multitask and respond to the needs and pressure situations promptly
High understanding and patience levels that help to ease out the patient's worries and – more... anxieties
Capability to manage and coordinate several activities efficiently – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Verifying insurance/benefits/returning patient phone calls
Referral Coordinator (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLSeptember 4, 2012
Worked in many areas checkin / checkout. Calling insurance companies to verify benefits. Worked well with others.