Find companies:
New Mexico State University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
60 reviews

New Mexico State University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tutored Dona Ana Students
Tutor (Former Employee), Las Cruces, NMSeptember 6, 2014
I worked with students from various backgrounds. I really enjoyed helping them with class work in order to further their education.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Culture but Low Pay
Vice President Business and Finance (Current Employee), Carlsbad, NMAugust 25, 2014
Pros: great work environment
Cons: low pay
The work environment couldn't be better, but the pay is as low as it can get.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NMSU has great benefits
Associate Director / Business Manager (Current Employee), Las Cruces, NMAugust 15, 2014
Pros: break during the christmas season with pay, free tutition
Cons: high insurance rates
A typical day at work is to review all emails to keep track of all that is going on with the Accountants that I supervise. Review and approve
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NMSU
Graduate Assistant (Current Employee), Las Cruces, NMAugust 3, 2014
A typical day in the Marketing Dept. at NMSU can involve many duties including but not limited to survey design and construction, human subject recruiting, survey/experiment proctoring, general office duties,etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Clinical Nursing Assistant (Former Employee), Alamogordo, NMJuly 2, 2014
Cons: no insurance or room for advancement
I first began as an Administrative Assistant then got promoted to Clinical Assistant. I learned a lot in the little time that I worked here. I learned how to run the front office and then became a clinical assistant where I did inventory and get everything set up for lab and I enjoyed working with others. This was a work study job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good institution dedicated to study learning.
Instructor (Current Employee), Las Cruces, NMJune 29, 2014
Pros: high level learning and convenient locations.
Cons: needs more full time faculty.
Administration, staff and faculty alike are dedicated to advance student learning.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relatively quiet, but productive. Good People
Special Aid (Current Employee), Las Cruces, NMJune 11, 2014
I would encourage anyone who is a full time student to seriously consider employment at the college they go to. Management is very understanding of scheduling, and lenient so that school never takes the back burner. Generally friendly environment. However, there is not always much to do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Student Aide (Former Employee), Las Cruces, NMJune 4, 2014
Pros: hours
Good job all the way around from management to co workers, in a typical day you can expect to interact with many people in a relaxed environment. the job is not difficult at all and is enjoyable in the sense of being able to learn how to conduct a multi purpose center.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved this job!
Front Desk Attendant (Former Employee), las cruces, NMJune 1, 2014
Great people, easy work, and great environment! There is always someone to ask if you have any questions. The management is very lenient and easy to get along with
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Staff is great.
Student Clerical Assistant (Former Employee), Las Cruces, NMMay 22, 2014
Heavy workload but makes the long office hours go by fast. Comfortable work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Multi-Media Specialist (Current Employee), Las Cruces, NMApril 11, 2014
Pros: learn a lot
Cons: bosses like to micromanage
As a student employee, the day to day meant imaging computers, installation of projectors, PCs, speakers, filming regent meetings. I learned a lot about electronics and basic troubleshooting needed for the job. The co-workers are a fun team to work with. The hardest part of the job would be terminating coaxial cables. i enjoyed the building of the teach – more... stations from scratch. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Superb work/study balance
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Las Cruces, NMMarch 27, 2014
Pros: flexible schedules
Cons: na
See previous NMSU review

See previous

Host review sessions, grade and create exams and assignments.

Assist professors further the teaching mission of the college.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great atmosphere and Hispanic serving college
Program Coordinator (Current Employee), Las Cruces, NMMarch 17, 2014
Great co-workers always willing to lend a hand to the students, staff and faculty. I have enjoyed myself at the college as an employee and student.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great place to work.
CHINESE TEACHER (Former Employee), Las Cruces NMFebruary 21, 2014
Everything was good, the people were great, the culture was great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to build a career
Planner (Former Employee), Las Cruces, NMJanuary 28, 2014
Pros: plenty of advancement opportunities
Working there for 15 years was the best 15 years of my life.Great people to work with, and a camaraderie unmatched.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am a student
Full-time Student (Current Employee), Las Cruces, NMJanuary 28, 2014
Pros: community, knowledge hoarding.
Cons: only get paid twice a year, summers are slow.
School is excellent, but studies can be time consuming. The steady schedule is comforting but the differences from the day to day topics really keep you on your toes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multiple great experiences
Communications, Outreach, Project Director, Web (Former Employee), Las Cruces, NMJanuary 22, 2014
Pros: many experiences
Cons: little security for staff
New Mexico State University is a great place to work in Las Cruces. Since I was staff, most of my work was grant funded. This had both a pro and a con, as funding changes had me changing positions and learning new roles. The downside of course in that situation is a lack of security.

I worked with students with disabilities, managed events, researched – more... for grants, and worked at the Arrowhead Entrepreneurial Institute in Business Planning – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Freedom for self starter
Research Technician (Former Employee), Northern New MexicoJanuary 21, 2014
Assisted in construction/installation of water monitoring devices in Northern New Mexico. Facilitated data collection by taking manual flow measurements at research sites. Supervised research students on how to properly maintain equipment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
encourage people to work very hard
volunteer (Current Employee), Las Cruces, NMNovember 9, 2013
a typical day at work
I learned how to work with a group
the hardest pert is the we have to do a lot of work at the same day
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
_
Internship (Former Employee), Las Cruces, NMNovember 8, 2013
Good Place to start a career.
Good Working Environment.
People are very well rounded and helpful

1 2 3

New Mexico State University Photos