New Mexico State University Employee Reviews

Found 112 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creating positive relationships through the love of horses
Horse Handler/ Side Walker (Former Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMMarch 7, 2015
By having the opportunity to work the the NMSU Theraputic Riding Program I have been able to be apart of children's lives through the way of a horse. Horses have been such a big part of my life growing up and through college, that when I was given this opportunity to work with students and horses at the same time there was no question to be asked. During this experience I have been able to work with Children with Disabilities, Children with Autism, and Children who are Hard of Hearing/Deaf and watch them grow through the interactions with a horse. I was able to experience and watch the growth of students who had limited or no moment on certain sides/parts of their body, strengthen those muscles and be able to perform functions independently. I was also able to connect with children that would not interact with people outside of their home and help those students become excited to come and participate during their next lesson.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at work
Administrative Assistant, NMSU (Current Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMOctober 20, 2014
Our Strengthening Families Initiative office is not only a place of employment, but an office where the atmosphere is friendliness. Working with 10 co-workers for the past 7 years has been a learning experience for me. We work with Family Wellness program, bringing Healthy Marriages and family unification to the families in the community of Las Cruces. I enjoy coming to work everyday, because we strive to improve and promote seff-suffiency in the lives of families. Our work ethic is genuine and we deliver a wonderful curricula in order to improve the family dynamics. We all work together as a team and learn from each other everyday by communicating and putting our best foot forward at all times.
Pros
communitication, team-players, healthy workplace
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interactive work environment that allowed continuous learning
Financial Literacy Coach (Former Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMJune 3, 2013
Meeting with my supervisor weekly allowed me self-start every workday as I knew what was expected and tasks that needed to be done. I was then able to manage my time according to tasks.Part of this position was to work alongside another Financial Literacy Coach. Together we made discussed, weighed options, and made decisions.
During this time I learned a substantial amount about financial literacy and its' importance in impacting students' decisions that will effect them in the future.
Although challenging, helping students see that they must begin taking care of their finances early in their lives was rewarding. They could now use tools my team gave them to build financial stability.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work environment
Housing and Residence life associates (Former Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMSeptember 22, 2014
: Labor- Sweeps, mops, polishes and performs restorative/interim floor and carpet maintenance in rooms and halls. Dusts and/or polishes furniture, blinds and equipment. Empties trash receptacles and bags trash for proper disposal. Cleans restrooms and fills dispensers. Vacuums, spot cleans rugs, carpets, and furniture. Reports malfunctions of bathroom fixtures, light fixtures and/or damages to the interior of buildings i.e. walls, floors, ceilings, windows, furnishings, doors, locks, bathroom dispensers, graffiti etc. to supervisor. Stocks area with appropriate supplies. Locks and unlocks doors as directed. Initiates work orders for repair/maintenance. Moves furniture, equipment or fixtures as required.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun, learn new things
Laboratory Assistant (Current Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMAugust 7, 2013
Managing marine aquarium tanks currently with NMSU has been exciting. I never knew that such a program existed even while I was studying for my degree. There is a comfortable work environment, and with each new individual that arrives, the current people always make you feel as part of the team. Scheduling certain duties can sometimes become difficult, but are quickly remedied. The hardest part of the job is keeping all the equipment running efficiently with the limited amount of resources given. The most enjoyable part of the job are the people I work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a true rewarding challenge which was enjoyable.
CAD Drafter (Current Employee) –  Las Cruces, New MexicoMay 7, 2015
A typical day would be to review documents and to correct if needed using AutoCAD or Revit. I have learned to convert 2d to 3d format from autoCAD to Revit. The team management at New Mexico State University is excellent. I worked with coworkers in several challenging projects to review and make modifications as needed. The hardest part of this is to make sure that all specification were met at a strict timeline which was completed. The most enjoyable part of this job is seeing come to realization.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multiple great experiences
Communications, Outreach, Project Director, Web (Former Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMJanuary 22, 2014
New Mexico State University is a great place to work in Las Cruces. Since I was staff, most of my work was grant funded. This had both a pro and a con, as funding changes had me changing positions and learning new roles. The downside of course in that situation is a lack of security.

I worked with students with disabilities, managed events, researched for grants, and worked at the Arrowhead Entrepreneurial Institute in Business Planning
Pros
many experiences
Cons
little security for staff
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Knowledge enhancement,good benefits, job security
Groundskeeper II (Former Employee) –  Alamogordo, NMMay 10, 2012
I worked at NMSU for approx. 17 years.I expanded my knowledge, had great benefits,met wonderful and interesting people and always knew that I had job security. The most difficulty I had with the job was the physical aspect(I was a groundskeeper) and at times it was very frustrating communicating with management about getting supplies.
Pros
free tuition, medical benefits, annual and sick leave, friendly atmosphere
Cons
communicating with management at times, obtaining supplies
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere
Workstudy (Current Employee) –  Alamogordo, NMMay 23, 2012
A typical day at work included helping anywhere from 18-120 students a day. I learned how to be patient with people whom are angry or upset. We also work with disability students, so I learned to work with them as well. The hardest part of the job is keeping up with who seen what student and what students still needed help. I loved being able to help students with different tasks. I really enjoyed when I got positive feedback from the students that I helped. All of my co-workers were very down to Earth and easy to talk to.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Engineering College
Electronic Engineer (Former Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMApril 23, 2015
They are well equipped with electronic instruments and friendly people to work with. I mostly worked on high voltage designs and amplifiers. The hard part of the job was to build what they exactly needed, even though they don't have a good idea what they want. So I had to interview several peoples in the group to understand what they want and according to their requirements system had been built. Which is a success.
Pros
Good community, knowledgeable people
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo1

Want to know more about New Mexico State University?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research job at NMSU
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMMarch 4, 2015
I am a Research Assistant working on a Dept of Energy project for my PhD. This is a temporary job to support my PhD.
The work place is friendly and infrastructure available but since its a temporary job it does not have a long term future.The hardest part of a research job like this is to think innovatively for a meaningful contribution through my PhD to the research community which is also the most enjoyable part as I perform better with challenges.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A conducive work and study place with a double-screen computers
Research Assistant II (Current Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMDecember 22, 2014
It is well organized and esteemed University. It is the only land-grant university to be identified by the federal government as a Hispanic-Serving Institution and also a Carnegie Research-Extensive institution. Students are encouraged to undertake their own research projects during the course of their academic career.
Pros
ambient for studying
Cons
70 percent health insurance
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Multi-Media Specialist (Current Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMApril 11, 2014
As a student employee, the day to day meant imaging computers, installation of projectors, PCs, speakers, filming regent meetings. I learned a lot about electronics and basic troubleshooting needed for the job. The co-workers are a fun team to work with. The hardest part of the job would be terminating coaxial cables. i enjoyed the building of the teach stations from scratch.
Pros
learn a lot
Cons
bosses like to micromanage
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NMSU work with students
Assistant College Professor (Former Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMJanuary 12, 2016
I enjoyed working with students. I had good relationships with my colleagues. There was good supervisory support. This is kind of a crazy process. How much do I have to write here? Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx!!!
Pros
Administrative Support, adequate auxiliary people
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job to have while still in University
Student Assistant in Program Development (Former Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMJanuary 20, 2015
A typical day included creating labs and code for in class and distance education students. Working with the professor to teach classes and to develop new things using VHDL, Assembly, Altera, Java, and working with various AC/DC circuits and building rockets.

The job was steady and worked well with my classes.
Pros
great schedule, great job, fun, interesting
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity for graduate students
Marketing Research Assistant/Graduate Instructor (Former Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMApril 16, 2012
New Mexico State University's School of Business offered many work-study programs for graduate students to utilize their skills and education in various departments. I was assigned to the marketing department, where I gained experience with marketing research, database management and analysis, technical writing, and teaching.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and safe place to live and study
Teacher assistant, EE314, Signals and Systems II (Former Employee) –  Las Cruces NMMay 27, 2015
By living and studying at nmsu I learned lot of thing not only in the field of my major but also in different parts of life. I hired by school as being a teacher assistant and that was a great experience. Las Cruces is safe place to live and cost of living is acceptable and suitable for life of studying. I strongly recommend this university.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMJuly 22, 2013
♦ Responsible for Class set-up including food preparation, plating and wine pouring for 90+
♦ I also do wine inventory
♦ I supervise volunteers who help with the class
♦ I’m responsible for collecting class fee’s from the students
♦ I do all cleaning of the glassware and utensils used in class
♦ I’ve been a volunteer for the class for 3 ½ years prior to getting the paid Assistant Job
Pros
free wine, free food
Cons
long days
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Clinical Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Alamogordo, NMJuly 2, 2014
I first began as an Administrative Assistant then got promoted to Clinical Assistant. I learned a lot in the little time that I worked here. I learned how to run the front office and then became a clinical assistant where I did inventory and get everything set up for lab and I enjoyed working with others. This was a work study job.
Cons
no insurance or room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed work here
Department Secretary III (Former Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMJune 20, 2012
Working here was great. The ability to work in different departments gave me the opportunity to meet people from every part of the U.S. I enjoyed working with students, staff and faculty. The best part of working here was watching students grow into mature adults by the time they graduated. Hard work, but great benefits.
Pros
job security if you work hard.
Cons
long hours at times.
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 113 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture