New Mexico State University Employee Reviews in United States

Found 129 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, New
Pivot Maintenance Trainie (Former Employee) –  Farmington, NMJuly 21, 2016
Chill work environment if you enjoy being outside all the time. I liked it. I learned a lot about farming techniques, operating farm equipment (such as tractors, ect.), learned how to drive manual for the first time and handling power tools. The hardest part of the job would have to be the heat, some days are nice, but when it's hot the task you are doing becomes a bit of a challenge.
Pros
Outside, Learned a lot
Cons
Hot days
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun productive place
Work Study Student (Former Employee) –  Alamogordo, NMMarch 29, 2016
Answer incoming phone calls and direct phone calls as needed.
Assisted students with FAFSA, registration, Administration, computer software systems, and showing them around the campus.
Organized student files for other departments, assisted in paperwork and filing for Admissions, Advising and Financial Aid.
Provided customer service to prospecting and continuing students.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Undergraduate Student at New Mexico State University
Organic Chemistry Peer Learning Assistant (Former Employee) –  New MexicoJune 13, 2016
I gained valuable skills and experiences as a student at New Mexico State University. I worked several jobs while attending this school. The chemical engineering curriculum prepared me to take on challenging experiences.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New Mexico State University
Branson Library-Student Worker/Desk Clerk (Former Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMJune 27, 2016
Being a student worker at NMSU was the perfect opportunity to gain work experience while being to continue my studies. It was a great opportunity to network and meet new people. I'm definitely thankful for the opportunity.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employment for full time staff
Welding Instructor (Former Employee) –  Carlsbad, NMJuly 12, 2016
1) Teach students a fun lifestyle trade.
2) Learned how to accommodate individuals with different needs.
3) Great partnership with management.
4) Excellent co-worker interaction.
5) Politics
6) Teaching
Pros
Great accessibility to materials
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding and rewarding
Financial Aid Specialist (Former Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMApril 7, 2016
Fast pace environment, multi-tasking required with accuracy, superior software knowledge. This job is customer service based with students and parents. Best part of this job is seeing a FASFA through from beginning to award status for the students.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NMSU work with students
Assistant College Professor (Former Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMJanuary 12, 2016
I enjoyed working with students. I had good relationships with my colleagues. There was good supervisory support. This is kind of a crazy process. How much do I have to write here? Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx!!!
Pros
Administrative Support, adequate auxiliary people
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to learn and work
Teaching Assistant (Sculpture Technician) (Former Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMJuly 10, 2016
The Art Dept. at NMSU is a great place to learn. The masters program is very intense but its faculty is very receptive and helpful.
Pros
friendly and encouraging professors
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Graduate Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMMay 28, 2016
It is delightful experience to work as a graduate assistant for the university, the supervisor, coordinators and deans are really cooperative. They always treats me as a team player despite of my position.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very respectful workplace
Student Aide/Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMMay 27, 2016
Working for New Mexico State University was a great experience it helped become well rounded and get better at giving tours as well as presenting new material.
Pros
Scheduling
Cons
Organization
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student review
Athletic Marketing Intern (Former Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMJanuary 23, 2016
New Mexico State University provided me with so many great opportunities from being an athlete and able to compete to student and campus life. It also offered the opportunity to be engaged in SAAC and to be an Athletic Marketing Intern for the school as well to become even more integrated within athletics.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT Place to work!
HR Specialist (Current Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMJuly 7, 2016
I love NMSU and am very proud to be part of this great university. It has provide the stability and long time career for myself and has been a great supporter of work/life balance.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best place to work, learn and earn your living expenses
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Mechanical engineeringJanuary 4, 2016
Being a master's student in NMSU, and working as a graduate student assistant is the best part.
Its a good place to refresh your undergraduate basics, interact with students to come up with new ideas.
the payment is also good.
Pros
Good salary
Cons
No Insurance provided
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a temporary, work-study position, while attending.
Crimson Scholar-Work-Study-Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMDecember 30, 2015
I was a crimson Scholar/Work-Study/ Research Assistant ( part-time) while attending NMSU. The position terminated when I graduated with my bachelor's degree.
Pros
It was a good experience doing academic research.
Cons
It was only a 'temporary' job without benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great!
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMJanuary 21, 2016
NMSU Civil Engineering Department is a wonderful place to work for. A typical day entails working in lab and mentoring undergraduate students. My professor is very hands off so it allows for a lot of independence but requires a willingness to learn and work hard.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of challanges
Assistant professor for the college of nursing (Former Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMJanuary 30, 2016
nice place to work. they have a ways to go to be really organized. some new opportunities. some travel involved. hard to work with students from outside area.
Pros
lots of people will help you
Cons
not well managed
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
S.G.A.,
Student Government Representative (Former Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMNovember 21, 2015
NMSU is one of the United States most Federally Funded Colleges for Students with Disabilities yet, Continues and Amends in Personal Harms and Personal Injuries of Disabilities Department Students.



Road Runner Transit
DACC Shuttle Service
Dial A Ride Service

Value Place
Americas Best Value Inn

Albertsons Groceries
DACC Snack Bar
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great supervisors
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMMay 9, 2016
This is a place with great supervisors to work with. The learning environment is great and they care about your professional growth.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Circulation Specialist (Former Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMJune 23, 2016
Working for the university leaves you room for flexible hours that works with your school schedule. Very friendly co workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment
Web Developer (Current Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMApril 6, 2016
Nice people and great environment to work. Had the opportunity to obtain my BS and Master degree.
Good culture, friendly and encouraging environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 130 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
3.9
Culture
4.2

New Mexico State University Reviews by Location