New Mexico State University Employee Reviews

Found 113 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very produtive
Computer Lab Assistant (Current Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMFebruary 6, 2016
I like working at this job because it helps me build my customer service skill and like to provide help to students and staff.
Pros
Short Breaks
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of challanges
Assistant professor for the college of nursing (Former Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMJanuary 30, 2016
nice place to work. they have a ways to go to be really organized. some new opportunities. some travel involved. hard to work with students from outside area.
Pros
lots of people will help you
Cons
not well managed
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student review
Athletic Marketing Intern (Former Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMJanuary 23, 2016
New Mexico State University provided me with so many great opportunities from being an athlete and able to compete to student and campus life. It also offered the opportunity to be engaged in SAAC and to be an Athletic Marketing Intern for the school as well to become even more integrated within athletics.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great!
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMJanuary 21, 2016
NMSU Civil Engineering Department is a wonderful place to work for. A typical day entails working in lab and mentoring undergraduate students. My professor is very hands off so it allows for a lot of independence but requires a willingness to learn and work hard.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NMSU work with students
Assistant College Professor (Former Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMJanuary 12, 2016
I enjoyed working with students. I had good relationships with my colleagues. There was good supervisory support. This is kind of a crazy process. How much do I have to write here? Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx!!!
Pros
Administrative Support, adequate auxiliary people
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best place to work, learn and earn your living expenses
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Mechanical engineeringJanuary 4, 2016
Being a master's student in NMSU, and working as a graduate student assistant is the best part.
Its a good place to refresh your undergraduate basics, interact with students to come up with new ideas.
the payment is also good.
Pros
Good salary
Cons
No Insurance provided
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a temporary, work-study position, while attending.
Crimson Scholar-Work-Study-Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMDecember 30, 2015
I was a crimson Scholar/Work-Study/ Research Assistant ( part-time) while attending NMSU. The position terminated when I graduated with my bachelor's degree.
Pros
It was a good experience doing academic research.
Cons
It was only a 'temporary' job without benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace
COMPUTER LAB CONSULTANT (Current Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMDecember 28, 2015
Learned how to manage and supervise staff
Maintained professional and working relationships
Acquired skills to pursue a career
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work life balance
Graduate Assistant - Finance Department (Former Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMDecember 19, 2015
Great place to work. Very easy job. I worked only 20 hours/week and I managed my work schedule as it pleases me. I will recommend this workplace to everyone.
Pros
Relax work environment with good pay
Cons
Limited work hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a good place to work and study
Capstone Project Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMDecember 6, 2015
NMSU it has a lot of possibilities and it is a good place to work and also to study. People here are really receptive and gentle. It is perfect to have a calm life, not recommend for people who desire an agitated life.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to gain experience
Intern (Former Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMNovember 27, 2015
Great way to get real world experience in your field of study. Get to work one on one with a mentors to design, manufacture and analyze new projects.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
S.G.A.,
Student Government Representative (Former Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMNovember 21, 2015
NMSU is one of the United States most Federally Funded Colleges for Students with Disabilities yet, Continues and Amends in Personal Harms and Personal Injuries of Disabilities Department Students.



Road Runner Transit
DACC Shuttle Service
Dial A Ride Service

Value Place
Americas Best Value Inn

Albertsons Groceries
DACC Snack Bar
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun to work
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMNovember 19, 2015
The working experience is good. Colleagues are helpful. Department office is also good. I am learned a lot from the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good atmosphere
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMNovember 18, 2015
The department I work in is very close, everyone gets along well. It is a very hands on job and a great experience. The hardest thing about this job is that you are constantly challenged mentally and it requires a lot of thinking. You never stop learning.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
kindly work environment
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMNovember 15, 2015
NMSU gives me a plateform to go to a higher education and meet a lot of wise people. Also it gave me the chance to work at Los Alamos National Lab
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work!
Administrative Secretary (Former Employee) –  Carlsbad, NMNovember 2, 2015
Great place to work. Friendly employees. Many chances for advancement. Good benefits - free class every semester. Great learning experience.
Pros
Free classes, good pay, good benefits
Cons
Business Office not very well organized
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Why is this required?
Employee (Former Employee) –  TownOctober 20, 2015
Why is this information required to apply for a totally different position? Perhaps a sections should be added explaining why this section is necessary.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
corrupt
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Las cruces, NMOctober 3, 2015
Huge favoritism for Hispanics women over Caucasians. The University needs a revamp with from the top to bottom. Less diversified and can't hold onto valuable assets. The university has lot of internal politics.
Pros
cheap place to live
Cons
corrupt
Was this review helpful?Yes5No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed and Family Oriented
Building Manager (Former Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMAugust 17, 2015
Working here was very laid back. I enjoyed the people and the students. Most of the day is spent walking around being visible to answer questions and securing the building at the end of the night. My family was able to come by and see me while at work without interfering with operations.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible work schedules with good people to work with.
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMJuly 20, 2015
Work was always enjoyable as I was able to teach students and watch them learn. The schedules were flexible, which is a benefit while I was taking classes at the same time.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No6

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 114 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture