New Mexico State University Employee Reviews

Found 140 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New Mexico State University
Branson Library-Student Worker/Desk Clerk (Former Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMJune 27, 2016
Being a student worker at NMSU was the perfect opportunity to gain work experience while being to continue my studies. It was a great opportunity to network and meet new people. I'm definitely thankful for the opportunity.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am a graduate assistant. I love my job. The pay is low for most universities and you have to pay for your tuition which comes out of your salary.
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  ChemistryJune 25, 2015
As a graduate assistant, I enjoy the faculty, students and fellow graduate students. The pay is low and you have to pay your own tuition out of your teaching salary.
Pros
Excellent Department Chair
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Undergraduate Student at New Mexico State University
Organic Chemistry Peer Learning Assistant (Former Employee) –  New MexicoJune 13, 2016
I gained valuable skills and experiences as a student at New Mexico State University. I worked several jobs while attending this school. The chemical engineering curriculum prepared me to take on challenging experiences.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Graduate Research Assistant
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMApril 24, 2013
The people in the Mechanical Engineering department were great. Unfortunately the department is somewhat underfunded by the university and the research equipment is outdated. The department is also unable to keep good members of the teaching faculty as they are no capable of offering a competitive salary.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Circulation Specialist (Former Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMJune 23, 2016
Working for the university leaves you room for flexible hours that works with your school schedule. Very friendly co workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very respectful workplace
Student Aide/Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMMay 27, 2016
Working for New Mexico State University was a great experience it helped become well rounded and get better at giving tours as well as presenting new material.
Pros
Scheduling
Cons
Organization
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Graduate Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMMay 28, 2016
It is delightful experience to work as a graduate assistant for the university, the supervisor, coordinators and deans are really cooperative. They always treats me as a team player despite of my position.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work enviroment
Research assistant (Former Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMJune 13, 2016
I have learnt a lot working with New Mexico State University staff. i enjoyed the working environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun productive place
Work Study Student (Former Employee) –  Alamogordo, NMMarch 29, 2016
Answer incoming phone calls and direct phone calls as needed.
Assisted students with FAFSA, registration, Administration, computer software systems, and showing them around the campus.
Organized student files for other departments, assisted in paperwork and filing for Admissions, Advising and Financial Aid.
Provided customer service to prospecting and continuing students.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked as Activity Coordinator for the Family Resource Center
Activity Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMApril 11, 2012
Progressive atmosphere and have workstudy compensation. Really enjoyed the time worked for them and gained skills to use throughout my working experiences!
Pros
workstudy availabilites
Cons
no health care for many positions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment
Web Developer (Current Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMApril 6, 2016
Nice people and great environment to work. Had the opportunity to obtain my BS and Master degree.
Good culture, friendly and encouraging environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great supervisors
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMMay 9, 2016
This is a place with great supervisors to work with. The learning environment is great and they care about your professional growth.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great!
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMJanuary 21, 2016
NMSU Civil Engineering Department is a wonderful place to work for. A typical day entails working in lab and mentoring undergraduate students. My professor is very hands off so it allows for a lot of independence but requires a willingness to learn and work hard.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding and rewarding
Financial Aid Specialist (Former Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMApril 7, 2016
Fast pace environment, multi-tasking required with accuracy, superior software knowledge. This job is customer service based with students and parents. Best part of this job is seeing a FASFA through from beginning to award status for the students.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting commuinty
BUYER (Former Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMJune 25, 2012
Fun and exciting higher education community, that offers excellent benefits, GREAT vacation structure, and a relaxed atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NMSU work with students
Assistant College Professor (Former Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMJanuary 12, 2016
I enjoyed working with students. I had good relationships with my colleagues. There was good supervisory support. This is kind of a crazy process. How much do I have to write here? Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx!!!
Pros
Administrative Support, adequate auxiliary people
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great professor to help
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMMarch 14, 2016
The projects were for promoting healthy life choices in senior citizens and for children. I absolutely loved being a part of these 2 projects
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student review
Athletic Marketing Intern (Former Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMJanuary 23, 2016
New Mexico State University provided me with so many great opportunities from being an athlete and able to compete to student and campus life. It also offered the opportunity to be engaged in SAAC and to be an Athletic Marketing Intern for the school as well to become even more integrated within athletics.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace
COMPUTER LAB CONSULTANT (Current Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMDecember 28, 2015
Learned how to manage and supervise staff
Maintained professional and working relationships
Acquired skills to pursue a career
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of challanges
Assistant professor for the college of nursing (Former Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMJanuary 30, 2016
nice place to work. they have a ways to go to be really organized. some new opportunities. some travel involved. hard to work with students from outside area.
Pros
lots of people will help you
Cons
not well managed
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at New Mexico State University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 141 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
4.0
Culture
4.1

New Mexico State University Reviews by Location