New Penn Motor Express Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive workplace
Customer Services Specialist (Current Employee) –  Puerto RicoNovember 28, 2017
In resume, I have been working for New Penn for over 15 years.
Leaving to improve my living conditions USA verse Puerto Rico
Working for New Penn is not a factor for wanting to relocate to Florida with rest of my family.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard working and fast paced
Fork Lift Operator (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, NJNovember 27, 2017
a typical day at work was fast pace with a lot of paperwork. i learn that you must obey all traffic. upper management was great to work for, the supervisors were not too fun to work for. there was a quick turnaround of employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dockworker
Dock Worker (Former Employee) –  Maspeth, NYNovember 20, 2017
under paid this is not a full time job they will not tell you that its a waste of time co workers great people very helpful you will maybe work a month or two full time then you will have to call in 2 hours prior to your start up time to see if you will work that day the chances of you getting hired here full time are very slim you will be lucky to work one or two days out of a week
Pros
great co workers
Cons
not full time work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Credit Dept./ Customer Service Dept (Former Employee) –  Lebanon, PA 17042October 23, 2017
New Penn Motor Express was an exceptional company to work for and I would have remained at that company had I not relocated to another state. I would highly recommend.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run away
Truck Driver Class A (Current Employee) –  Newburgh, NYOctober 15, 2017
The place is the lowest play for truck driver nobody care poor equipment unsafe working condition hireing fellon losing buissness more damage freight the best part of this job is not showing up
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
like my role and job, company in a difficult market, not performing well
Building Maintenance Technician (Current Employee) –  Lebanon, PAOctober 7, 2017
since YRC acquisition, the attitude of the teamsters has been very negative and made the relationship with management difficult. there is potential for the company to turn around and do well, unfortunately I cannot wait for the change and must find a growing company with a positive attitude.
Pros
flexible work schedule
Cons
poor attitude of coworkers
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Top rate is locked
Driver/Dock Worker (Current Employee) –  Dunmore, PAOctober 4, 2017
Top rate here is approximately $21.77/hr. with the current 15% wage reduction.
Other jobs are paying higher, but benefits are fully paid here.
Working on call really sucks. On the extra board you get a 2 hour phone prior to your start time.
I really cannot live with it anymore. No open bids for days forced me to stay extra for an earlier start time.
Now after 5 years here, I think I'm done.
If there's opportunity for work somewhere else with better daytime hours and close to the salary I'm at, I may take up offer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible! Stay away from "the New Penn-itentiary" at all costs!
Driver (Former Employee) –  Cranston, RISeptember 30, 2017
Dangerous and unsafe place to work. I would give it zero stars if that was an option. Equipment is not updated or maintained properly and breaks down frequently. Management does not do their job, then pressures and harasses you to cover for their mistakes and incompetence. Stress and aggravation from the moment you punch in until when you punch out. Wages are about 6 dollars per hour below non-union freight companies like XPO, FED-EX Freight etc. Ironically, this company had the reputation as the best freight company in the industry for decades until YRC got their greedy claws into it and started bleeding it dry. Go anywhere else and you will be much happier and much better off.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Steadfastly Safeguarded LTL Carrier of Professional Choice in Freight Logistics
Driver (Current Employee) –  WNYSeptember 26, 2017
Been driving for New Penn a few years now. My Transition from solely a driver to dock man started unfirmly; I had sole CDL drop/ hook experience and knew little about moving freight, loading trucks, or making yard moves skillfully . thus far I've learned to adequately drive forklifts then spot and load trailers with astute attentiveness and care . In all that I've absorbed job-wise thus far, the greatest values acquired: reliability, seniority, and teamwork .
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Overtime Reduced in Winter
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok Place to work
Dock Worker/Forklift Operator (Current Employee) –  Boston, MASeptember 26, 2017
Long hours, not enough equipment, need to hire more people to have the job completed properly. Management tells you one thing and then changes their mind without any notification.
Pros
Ok pay
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Place sucks
Driver (Current Employee) –  Cranston Rhode IslandSeptember 20, 2017
Where new pen was new pen it was a fantastic outfit. Now that it's YRC it is horrendous, there is not one person in management that knows anything about handling and or delivering Freight. Trailers are horrendously loaded dangerous very unsafe
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay far away
Driver (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PASeptember 18, 2017
Only work here if you wanna be the lowest paid drivers in the ltl business. Stay away from Pittsburgh. Make you drive all day and then work the dock. Horrible conditions in the evening
Pros
Non
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Atmosphere
Driver/Dockmen (Former Employee) –  Mercerville-Hamilton Square, NJSeptember 17, 2017
Good Solid Job Guaranteed a paycheck every week Time off on short notice if needed Good Environment Cold in winter dress up safe secure dependable employment
Pros
fair pay good equipment good perks insurance holidays vacation time
Cons
weather sensitive job when cold you freeze need to dress and in summer you sweat
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Evening Biller PT (M-F) (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PASeptember 13, 2017
I was part time evening, due to medical reasons I had to leave. I loved working there. The management and people were great. Miss them a lot. Garry Panucci was a great boss and so was the manager. Wish I could have done more to help out, but I was just in billing.
Pros
laid back
Cons
there were none
Was this review helpful?YesNo 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
left due to paycuts
Job titles held are Outbound Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Cinnaminson, NJAugust 3, 2017
Was a great company to work for then it was sold to YRC. Work force had to take 15% paycut. Place was just never the same. Used to be a great people company but that change when YRC bought them
Pros
Vaction time
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away at all costs
Manager (Former Employee) –  Lebanon, PAAugust 3, 2017
Corporate atmosphere and upper level management think it's still the 20th century. Management thrives on gossip and thinking they are above everyone else. Micro management by VPs. Stay away, very far away. Very few paid holidays for salary staff. Sub par salary, raises will not be given even though promised at interview. Vehicle reimbursement plan is a complete joke. I could go on and on
Pros
None
Cons
Pay, 401k match is basically none, corporate childish gossip atmosphere about others
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
better off at mcdonalds
Dock Worker (Former Employee) –  Neville Island, PAJuly 10, 2017
had me believe it was a full time position, when in reality its just "hire a guy then have him pay his dues then tell them were slow and never call them back"... DO NOT APPLY HERE EVER!!!!they will run you into the ground then then not even give you a chance at unemployment... and you're highly underpaid!! terminal manager is a liar also and the rest of the management are fully unorganized and idk how the place is still open for business
Pros
none
Cons
work through breals, underpaid, no safety, managment is trash, and they lie everyday
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace, with non experienced management
Road driver (Former Employee) –  Rochester, NYJuly 7, 2017
Old equipment bad management and ready to write you up for everything. I'm thinking the company is struggling to stay afloat, but that's just my opinion
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Inexperienced management
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for the same company for over 20 years says it all!
Customer Service OS&D Specialist (Current Employee) –  Rochester, NYJune 11, 2017
The company has been in business over 75 years. Good place to work. Our terminal is like a family. We all know what is expected to get the job done. Good manager, kind and caring of his employees. We have laughs and joke around. We work as a team and help each other out when one is over loaded.
Pros
Free lunches sometimes. No problem getting time off.
Cons
Small environment. Work load heavy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Newburgh Terminal needs a complete overhaul
P&D Driver (Former Employee) –  Newburgh, NYMay 30, 2017
Worked here as a P&D Driver for almost 2 years. Where to start. Typical union environment. Everything revolves around seniority. Only way you will make and money is working 12-14 hours a day. Management has no grasp on reality and is brainwashed by corporate. No pension. Newburgh Terminal in the month of April has had 8 people leave from drivers, office and a couple dock workers. Just look at the openings they have in Newburgh on here. This company hires felons and will hire anyone.
Pros
none
Cons
pay, management, truck never loaded in time, teamsters
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at New Penn Motor Express. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 85 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
2.6
Management
2.8
Culture
2.9