Find companies:
NEW STORY
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
10 reviews

NEW STORY Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome
Behavioral Support Specialist (Current Employee), Wyomissing, PADecember 30, 2013
new story is a great job. if you enjoy creating new stories for children and their families this job is for you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Money not quality of care
Classroom assistant (Current Employee), Wyoming regionSeptember 7, 2013
Pros: students and coworkers
Cons: terrible healthcare, not valued as an employee, unethical
Management will do anything to make a dollar. Ethical standards and guidelines are not considered when funding the multi-million dollar company. They manipulate funding sources and make employees find unethical reasons to bill just to keep productivity high.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big business----not an educational setting
Staff (Former Employee), WyomingAugust 13, 2013
Pros: caring staff
Cons: management
The staff is a great bunch of caring and talented people. The management from the very top down runs the school like a business not a school. The emphasis is on billing and generating money not the best interest of the Students. The management plays favorites among employees. There is a lot of back stabbing and sophomoric behavior. The students and – more... co-workers are the only reasons you want to go into work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love It!!!
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee), Wyomissing, PAAugust 1, 2013
I really like working for New Story. This school I work for is a private school strictly for students with autism. I am still employed there, just under a new position. As a BSS, my day included getting the student off the bus, helping the child attend to lessons and if needed, implementing that students behavior plan. I was also involved in weekly – more... meetings. I have learned a lot about autistic children since employed here. I have learned how to implement the VB-MAPP curriculum along with safety techniques and strategies used in dealing with autistic children. The hardest part of the job is putting a child in a restraint even though I know it is in their best interest. Management is really good at trying to work with employees. Unfortunately there are some things that come from a higher person in the company and they just have to follow and abide by these terms. Overall, this is a great company to work for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding place to work
Classroom Assistant (Current Employee), Throop, PAJune 16, 2013
Pros: co-workers are very supportive.
Cons: health benefits
On a typical day, I assist Special Education teachers, and teachers assistants with their daily academic and behavioral goals. I have learned to adjust my day to day schedule quickly and easily. I occasionally substitute for lead teachers in the classrooms.
My co-workers are very supportive and easy to work with everyday. We all work as a team to make – more... sure our days run smoothly. The hardest part of my job can be the emotional toll throughout the day. Working with children with special needs can be very emotional.
The most enjoyable part of my job, is seeing the progress that students make throughout the school year, academically and behaviorally. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive stress, intrinsic rewards and the opportunity to grow!
Therapist (Current Employee), PennsylvaniaMay 22, 2013
More recently, New Story has implemented much needed revisions to resolve and/or reduce work performance anxieties related to preparing for and following changes made to both the infrastructure and documentation; during this process, management has encouraged and promoted accountability which has been beneficial to the employer, the employee and their – more... consumers. New Story continues to grow! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Valuable work hamstrung by hostile oversight.
Program Director (Former Employee), Berwick, PAMarch 18, 2013
Pros: the programs are well-respected, and direct-care staff very skilled.
Cons: management is untrustworthy, the work load is intensive and calls for frequent overtime.
The day was extremely busy, and scheduling needs rarely allowed for breaks of any kind. The direct care staff was a delight to work alongside with few exceptions. The most difficult portion of the job was working to interpret if not predict the expectations of management so that they could be met; this process had no transparency, in part because management – more... proved untrustworthy and frequently employed moving goalposts. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many recent changes
Special Education Teacher / Behavior Support (Current Employee), Wyomissing, PAAugust 16, 2012
New management and many changes that negatively affect the staff and students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and challenging
Behavioral Support Staff (Current Employee), York, PennsylvaniaJune 13, 2012
Pros: staff support
Cons: lack diversity
New Story meet the behavioral and education needs of Autistic children. I have learned applied behavior modification and creative ways of teaching children learning techniques. Staff and management are very supportive of the children. The difficult part of the job is managing physical aggression. The enjoyable part of the job is working with the children – more... on various activities. – less