New York & Company Employee Reviews

Found 611 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales Representative and Cashier (Former Employee) –  Greensboro, NCSeptember 13, 2016
Working at New York & Company has exposed to me to so much, this job was able to provide a chance for change and growth within the company. They provide wonderful incentives to the staff to help encourage great work and a positive mindset while working.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reputable and fun fashion
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Milpitas, CAMay 15, 2016
I was excited about going to work everyday except for having the worst schedules.I learned hold to fold,use the register,and help our clients. At first it is a bit overwhelming due to all the multitasking but all that is needed is some proper training.
Pros
discounts, nice clothes
Cons
short breaks, worst hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stylish,fun,music
Customer Service Representative/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXJune 24, 2016
Everyday was a busy,messy day on a regular it's a women's clothing store and lot's of women love to shop.I learned great customer service how to set up credit cards payments ext.
Pros
work with schedule
Cons
When closing store its very dirty, messy.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst retail job, in all my 20 years, working in retail.
Co-Manager (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDJune 14, 2016
I worked at the New York &Company in the Columbia Mall. Management is horrible, unprofessional. The work culture was very negative. They don't care about the people and how they treat you.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Employee's mean nothing to this company.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Factory outlet mallMarch 21, 2016
Niagara Falls is the worst location to work for horrible management nothing is ever done on time. People quit all the time and they expect employees to cover other people shifts and the managers won't come on to help except for there workdays. No room for advancement and the managers will make you do their job without the pay. Worst place to work!!!
Cons
One of the managers there gives employees a hard time with taking there breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Part-time Job!!
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Branson, MOSeptember 15, 2016
I loved working here while I was in college!! My manager worked great with my schedule and gave me the hours I needed. Also, you get a great discount!!
Pros
Friendly co-workers and Tanger discount.
Cons
Standing throughout shift
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lenient fun fun workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Nyack, NYJune 11, 2016
typical work day consist of ringing fast and keeping store clean
learned about stores numbers
management is organized
co-workers are helpful
hardest part is cleaning store
enjoyable part is store meetings
Pros
overnight shift available
Cons
breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Brandon, FLJuly 27, 2016
I loved it the only concern of mine was not enough hrs was giving to me. They offered me a position to become an assist manager with a .10 cent raise and I was not excepting the offer I feel my work eticity is worth way more
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  El Cajon, CASeptember 12, 2016
wonderful place to work, help with the grand opening of a new store, in the Fredericksburg area. co workers was okay, making sure the store was clean dressing rooms was clean, assisted customers with items, and helping them .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun atmosphere
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Trumbull, CTJuly 27, 2016
I enjoyed building relationships with co-workers as well as the regular customers. The most enjoyable part of this job was raising money for the St. Jude's Children's Center every year.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about New York & Company?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New York and company
Cashier/Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Moorestown, NJAugust 31, 2016
i open with a manger, Im main ringer, i make sure customers are being helped as needed, make sure they find exactly what they are looking for, if there are clothes that need to be processed i do as soo
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy work but pay is horrible
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Simpsonville, KYMarch 1, 2016
The work was not difficult. However, the temperature is not much different than what the temperature outside was for the day. A typical day is organizing and re-stocking merchandise.

Management is friendly most of the time. There is no room for advancement. Hours are not guaranteed but they don't want you to work any where else, even though pay is $8.00 an hour. Managers make bonuses and get freebies but there are no incentives for the regular associates.

This company pushes their store credit cards. There are supposed to be incentives to being the associate with the highest amount of credits but I never saw or heard of anyone receiving anything... other than management.

Training is non-existent.
Pros
Job is not difficult
Cons
Minimum Pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes12NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant and fun place to work
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Willow Grove, PAAugust 11, 2016
Responsible for scheduling employees, store displays. This was a fun place to work and enjoyed working with customers.
Pros
Close to home, generous discount
Cons
Hours, no medical benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company going through some growing pains
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJuly 23, 2016
New York and Company is business advanced and makes tough decisions to keep them profitable in tough times for retailers.
Pros
personal growth, challenging
Cons
difficult work load
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
started off good ended bad
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Staten Island, NYJune 21, 2016
bad management liars and they want you to over work for very low pay and no hours started off as a good cool job opportunity and towards the end it turned unproffesional
Pros
flexible
Cons
no hours no room to advanced
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fashionable
sales associate (Former Employee) –  Towson, MDAugust 29, 2016
must have a good fashion sense especially an open mind. to get a feel of what other people like and be able to match with other items they would like. and definitely have great customer service.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was something new
i assist customers (Current Employee) –  Glen Allen, VA 23059July 27, 2016
it took them awhile to get my training started for the position i was hired for. it was very laid back and not many customers visited the store. it was fun being in retail for the first time ever
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Seasonal Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Lakeland, FLAugust 17, 2016
A typical day at work would be for example: greeting customers, working on inventory, setting up clothes on racks, and working the cash register.
Pros
Discount on clothes
Cons
Rude customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going work place
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Silver Spring, MDJune 16, 2016
Busy sometimes, fun energetic co workers, easy job from close to open. the hardest part was trying to find people to cover your shift what i learned about is how to style people and communcation skills
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Same work each day
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Camp Hill, PAFebruary 19, 2016
There was not much differences in the work. Not much variety in the differences of working or working styles. The place was sometimes empty and had dull moments with nothing much to do. Though the place was a safe environment to work in. There was a manager or assistant manager often as possible in sight.
Pros
Safe, clean, not difficult or complicated
Cons
Not much variety in the work
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 613 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.5
Culture
3.5