New York & Company Employee Reviews

Found 840 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and fast paced
Sales Lead/Eva Specialist (Former Employee) –  Shreveport, LAJuly 31, 2017
Loved working there! The clothes were great and so were the discounts. Not sure about upper management, they didn't have the DM position filled when I left. I did work with the previous DM and she was great!
Pros
Fun work enviorment, great clothes, and discounts
Cons
no benefits for sales leads
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Management (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 31, 2017
it is a place that people become your friends even though it is a large company there is a closeness.
Good working environment. A place you can start your career and grow.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work here.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Elmhurst, NYJuly 30, 2017
New York and Company was the absolute worst job I ever had. The managers were rude, antagonizing and unhelpful. The pay was also not much and there would be times where my check was short. They never even sent me my w2 form! Overall, it was a terrible experience.
Pros
none
Cons
everything!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eye opening job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Waterbury, CTJuly 30, 2017
They have a great management system. Their customer servicing is something that they train thier associates on from the start. Very through on money handling procedures and register software.
Pros
Enviroment
Cons
Break time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
slow pase
Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Burlington, NCJuly 29, 2017
lots of stressful situations starting pay very low very little training involved. Very slow pace environment, unorganized there is no room to grow. Not a company to make a career out of.
Pros
Pto
Cons
Slow Pace
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place everyone gets along well
Retail Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Gonzales, LAJuly 26, 2017
Cashier
Customer service
Reward cards(runway card)=extra 2 dollars on check
Great people
Shipment
Censoring
Dressing rooms
Hanging up
Restock
Filling
Clothes
Customer First
Jewelry
Redlines
Sign changes
Promotions
Pros
Great people
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the most enjoyable part of the job
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Snellville, GAJuly 26, 2017
If you are in school and looking for a small side job to do here is NY&C. The most enjoyable part of the job is working there without feeling working at all because it's so fun and the time goes by fast
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
seasonal employee
Cashier/Customer Service (Seasonal) (Former Employee) –  Tyler, TXJuly 26, 2017
only worked during the holidays. it was alright. just needed some extra cash to pay for bills and buy family christmas gifts. was nice while i worked there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a very fun environment
Full Time Manager (Current Employee) –  Charleston, WVJuly 24, 2017
A great place to work with amazing customers and amazing people to work around. I've learned while working there that you can never let one issue bother you.
Pros
Bounus
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy to advance, would not reccomend
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOJuly 21, 2017
Easy to advance, severe lack of respect for employees. Great product for customers and great merchandising expectations, but work life balance, payroll to get what needed done and when, and their ship from store is awful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great overall place to work
Training Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Springfield, PAJuly 17, 2017
positive work environment, good opportunity for advancement. Paid well, paid time off, discount, and bonus structure. Organized and great training. Good customer service
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Place
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Colonial Heights, VA 23834July 17, 2017
Great hours, willing to work around your schedule. very nice co workers, awesome healthcare coverage, opportunity to become promoted through the company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hours were crazy.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJuly 17, 2017
I enjoyed working for New York and company. I learned how to be a better manager and merchandiser. The area where the company falls short is on re merchandising the store during peak shopping times. I was at work all the time but the management staff that I worked with was the best and the associates were also fabulous.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautiful people
Brand Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLJuly 16, 2017
I looked forward to helping the beautiful women purchase beautiful well made clothes. With each new collection that came out ,gave me the opportunity to dress women in beautiful success.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good atmosphere
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Bay Shore, NYJuly 13, 2017
As a part time job for a college student they week very flexible with working around my student's schedule. The benefits of working at this company is awesome
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 13, 2017
Working at New York and Company I had a blast. I meet some really great customers and my co-workers were very supportive. This is the type of job every girl dreams of.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, VAJuly 13, 2017
The work culture was pleasant and fun, but you worked hard. You were effectively trained to do your job, as well as teamwork. The consumers and workmates were great.
Pros
Effective training
Cons
No job security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity to advance quickly in the company
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Escondido, CAJuly 11, 2017
The company was removed from the Escondido mall for not being true and fair with payroll. They were sued. Shifts were normally scheduled with overtime however I was rarely paid in overtime and so I decided to join the lawsuit. Had they been fair with payroll, I would have probably worked here for 2 more years.
Pros
fast advancement
Cons
sneaky with payroll
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work
Assistant Manager/ Visual Manager (Current Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAJuly 10, 2017
new York and company is a good company for a young kid in college. but not for a grown person trying to make a living for his or her self. But over all its a decent job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremly task and operations orriented
Senior Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Moorestown, NJJuly 10, 2017
Pressure to get tasks and operational expectations completion are highly pressured without small regards to family-life balance. from some upper management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at New York & Company. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 843 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.4
Culture
3.5

CEO Approval

70%
208 ratings
Add your rating