New York & Company Employee Reviews

Found 871 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average job
Retail Associate (Former Employee) –  Albany, NYAugust 9, 2017
Some days could be very boring, others could be super busy. Plenty to do if you are willing to find work. Learned how to be a good sales person as well as learn how layout in retail means everything
Pros
Easy to get into, not hard to learn
Cons
Lack of pay and consistent hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 9, 2017
Great place to work. Great way to learn about the Retail Industry. Schedule is a bit complicated. Staff at times call in unexpectedly and they call you at time when you are off.
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Hours and Lunch break
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Aurora, ILAugust 9, 2017
I really didn't like on call that was the worst but other than that job was pretty easy. Management was nice. Overall a nice place to work for supplemental income for teens
Pros
nice place to work
Cons
on call
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nyc
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Gilbert, AZAugust 5, 2017
The average day at new york and company was very boring. It was the easiest job ive ever had. They didnt make you do barely anything. That didnt really work for me, I like a challange. I left because of that and also due to incredibly horrible management.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work, open setting
Real Estate Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 5, 2017
open setting, fun place to work, but very strict on time, lots of use of the printer with tons of trees sacrificed.
Had 3 managers in my short time, which shows the unfavorable responsibilities of the position. also shows lack of training, and structure of the department.
VP is great to work with, but having to switch gears to 3 managers is tough. Deadlines are tight and pretty structured. Leadership specifically the CEO lacks guidance.
he was on undercover boss and was completely embarrassing to watch even alone.
business always feels like it is sinking
Pros
fun people, fun place to work, nice ambiance
Cons
multiple managers frustrated the hekout of me, leadership lacks, always the feeling of business sinking
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not as much about the customer
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TNAugust 4, 2017
This is definitely a job that was less about the customer, and more about the dollar. I left this job 4 years ago, and still have to remind myself that the customer is always right. The company would not allow its employees to solve problems in the store, always sending them to the customer service hotline, and I just don't believe this is a best practice.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Work Place; Underappreciated
Sales Lead (Current Employee) –  Florence, KYAugust 4, 2017
Working at New York & Company is an easy job to me. It is fun but sometimes very slow on occasion. The hire management often under appreciates their employees however.
Pros
Ability to work with my crazy school schedule
Cons
Short breaks, low staffing
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting
Retail Sales Consultant (Current Employee) –  Sumter, SCAugust 4, 2017
It's a great place to work, people are friendly, professional, and I will continue to work for them in the future. I find the team members to be the best in the Sumter Mall area, focused on customer service and helping out people when we can.
Pros
Team work, flexibility, professionalism
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's retail
Sales Associate/Part-time Manager (Former Employee) –  Saint Petersburg, FLAugust 2, 2017
Selling credit cards was the downside of this. But it gets easier and SO many people already have them. It can actually be super beneficial for those who shop often. Makes it easier to sell something you believe in.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast - Pace environment, with cut throat managers
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Silver Spring, MDAugust 1, 2017
Small, and crowded work place, it's a very competitive job with demanding quotes. And the Store Manger is very rude. He screams at customers, and curses under his breath.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good summer job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCAugust 1, 2017
This is a retail clothing store, and life/vacations normally revolve around the schedule. I t was nice to be able to assist people in updating their wardrobe. Only con is having to clean up after adult women who like to be messy in the dressing rooms and store.
Pros
discounts on clothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and fast paced
Sales Lead/Eva Specialist (Former Employee) –  Shreveport, LAJuly 31, 2017
Loved working there! The clothes were great and so were the discounts. Not sure about upper management, they didn't have the DM position filled when I left. I did work with the previous DM and she was great!
Pros
Fun work enviorment, great clothes, and discounts
Cons
no benefits for sales leads
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Management (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 31, 2017
it is a place that people become your friends even though it is a large company there is a closeness.
Good working environment. A place you can start your career and grow.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work here.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Elmhurst, NYJuly 30, 2017
New York and Company was the absolute worst job I ever had. The managers were rude, antagonizing and unhelpful. The pay was also not much and there would be times where my check was short. They never even sent me my w2 form! Overall, it was a terrible experience.
Pros
none
Cons
everything!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eye opening job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Waterbury, CTJuly 30, 2017
They have a great management system. Their customer servicing is something that they train thier associates on from the start. Very through on money handling procedures and register software.
Pros
Enviroment
Cons
Break time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
slow pase
Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Burlington, NCJuly 29, 2017
lots of stressful situations starting pay very low very little training involved. Very slow pace environment, unorganized there is no room to grow. Not a company to make a career out of.
Pros
Pto
Cons
Slow Pace
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place everyone gets along well
Retail Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Gonzales, LAJuly 26, 2017
Cashier
Customer service
Reward cards(runway card)=extra 2 dollars on check
Great people
Shipment
Censoring
Dressing rooms
Hanging up
Restock
Filling
Clothes
Customer First
Jewelry
Redlines
Sign changes
Promotions
Pros
Great people
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the most enjoyable part of the job
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Snellville, GAJuly 26, 2017
If you are in school and looking for a small side job to do here is NY&C. The most enjoyable part of the job is working there without feeling working at all because it's so fun and the time goes by fast
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
seasonal employee
Cashier/Customer Service (Seasonal) (Former Employee) –  Tyler, TXJuly 26, 2017
only worked during the holidays. it was alright. just needed some extra cash to pay for bills and buy family christmas gifts. was nice while i worked there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a very fun environment
Full Time Manager (Current Employee) –  Charleston, WVJuly 24, 2017
A great place to work with amazing customers and amazing people to work around. I've learned while working there that you can never let one issue bother you.
Pros
Bounus
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at New York & Company. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 874 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.4
Culture
3.5

CEO Approval

71%
235 ratings
Add your rating