New York & Company Employee Reviews

Found 621 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going work place
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Silver Spring, MDJune 16, 2016
Busy sometimes, fun energetic co workers, easy job from close to open. the hardest part was trying to find people to cover your shift what i learned about is how to style people and communcation skills
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst retail job, in all my 20 years, working in retail.
Co-Manager (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDJune 14, 2016
I worked at the New York &Company in the Columbia Mall. Management is horrible, unprofessional. The work culture was very negative. They don't care about the people and how they treat you.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Employee's mean nothing to this company.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lenient fun fun workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Nyack, NYJune 11, 2016
typical work day consist of ringing fast and keeping store clean
learned about stores numbers
management is organized
co-workers are helpful
hardest part is cleaning store
enjoyable part is store meetings
Pros
overnight shift available
Cons
breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning experience
Managerial Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  West Des Moines, IAJune 9, 2016
I learned a lot about management at New York & Company. I learned how to lead co-workers and interact with customers. I learned a lot of customer service and money management skills. The hardest part of the job was trying to maintain a store with all available sizes during rush hours and trying to have enough employees working to cover all shifts.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great First Job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Saint Peters, MOJune 7, 2016
The work is fast pace and fun. You get to build customer relationships when helping with outfit selection. There are also amazing events; I love how NY&Co. support St. Jude's Hospital with yearly fundraisers! Though management can be a coin toss.
Pros
Employee discount, good staff, fun events
Cons
High turnover, healthcare, credit pushing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  College Station, TXJune 6, 2016
it was my first job. Loved working there it was the best experience. I miss working there very much. Good place to work at ...
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High energy
Customer Service - Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Yonkers, NYMay 27, 2016
Assist with display changes under the direction of the Visual Merchandising Manager or Merchandising Team
Maintain and stock the sales floor, including sales counters and all store displays and uprights/shelves, understanding the priorities of stocking, signage and cleaning
Organizational and time management skills
Assist the Merchandising Manager/Operations Manager to complete essential inventory control functions in an effort to support financial and inventory accuracy
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job to work at
CASHIER, STOCKROOM, FITTING ROOM, (Former Employee) –  Cerritos, CAMay 26, 2016
great store to work at everyone is friendly and is very helpful to one another made sure the store stayed clean and organized making sure the customer's were satisfied with their purchase
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to be
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYMay 24, 2016
This is probably the worst job I've ever had. The store is big and always had work, but the managers acted like drill sergeants rather than managers. What they said had to be done, had to be done or there were consequences such as write ups. When you have employees that work hard I believe they should be treated like people instead of lifeless robots that just take orders while management in in the office or making sure everyone is doing what they're supposed to be doing. Leaders don't give orders and watch, leaders lead. This store had no leaders.
Pros
Close to home
Cons
Bad management, terrible hours
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for with good opportunity.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  North Brunswick, NJMay 23, 2016
The company itself is very nice to work for. Shifts are generally very laid back. Helping customers, ringing customers up, giving personal input, and trying to sell the brand. Co-workers were enjoyable and helpful when necessary. Hardest part of the job is when customers become impatient and unsatisfied with company rules and regulations. Most enjoyable part of the job is working with others who are willing to help, and helping customers who become satisfied with their purchases.
Pros
Discounts on clothing
Cons
Occasional extra shifts necessary for rearrangement of store.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not that fun
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Tannersville, PAMay 23, 2016
I would greet customers when they entered the store. Continuously clean up clothing around store. Work the fitting rooms and clean them out after each customer.
Pros
none
Cons
No break
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was a manager. I had to count the cash register every morning and every night.
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Layton, UTMay 19, 2016
I managed the store. I folded the clothes and did customer service. Part of the job requirement was selling credit cards to our customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Sale Associate (Former Employee) –  Saint Cloud, MNMay 18, 2016
Saint Cloud New York & Company was a nice place to work, with the manager of all the time. A very organized and welcoming place to satisfy our customers.
Pros
flexible schedules
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1st
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMay 16, 2016
this was my first job fresh out of high school before i went off to college. i also worked here seasonal when I came home from college.
Pros
staff
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reputable and fun fashion
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Milpitas, CAMay 15, 2016
I was excited about going to work everyday except for having the worst schedules.I learned hold to fold,use the register,and help our clients. At first it is a bit overwhelming due to all the multitasking but all that is needed is some proper training.
Pros
discounts, nice clothes
Cons
short breaks, worst hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Lithonia, GAMay 11, 2016
I barely worked at this job since I spent majority of my time at my other job, but when I did attend the job it was very slow. I did not learn much from the job because I never really work, but I'm sure if I worked more often i would have learned a lot fro the company. Management was pretty good, she always made sure everything was copacetic.
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Lack of security
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun seasonal Job
Sales/ Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Pembroke Pines, FLMay 6, 2016
This job was temporary, a great starter job but I wouldn't consider this a career. The typical retail store job. This job was not difficult at all and I enjoyed being able to interact with different people.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Profitable and enjoyable workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Livingston, NJMay 5, 2016
Prioritize effectively
Accomplish multiple tasks at a time
Stay calm under pressure
Remain high in energy
Management motivated staff productivity
Pros
Discounted clothes
Cons
Interfered with school
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun place to work with different skills
Sales Lead / Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Knoxville, TNApril 15, 2016
To build a wardrobe for a customer was not easy but challenging.
Time management with customers and processing shipments in between required me to be multitasker was hard but doable.
Teamwork plays a huge role in this particular company that it had less staff but communication and flexibility helped a lot to get to the required tasks done in a timely manner.
Pros
Flexible schedule, Manager Flexibility
Cons
Healthcare, Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed
sales associte (Former Employee) –  Silver Spring, MDApril 14, 2016
wonderful work envierment. not so much pessure on you when it comes to goals. your only expected to ask a customer about one thing. i've learned costomer service skills
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 623 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.5
Culture
3.5