New York & Company Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast-paced
Junior Sales Lead (Current Employee) –  Burr Ridge, ILSeptember 7, 2017
A typical day consists of opening the registers at the start of the day from there I move to any sales changes. Then I open the doors to start interacting with my customers.
Pros
Speaking with my customer and my store discount are the best benefits.
Cons
The biggest downfalls are some of the companies expectations and the everyday sale changes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
benefits and hours are good but co-workers lack respect and motivation
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CASeptember 5, 2017
no complain on the hours, amount of paid days off you get depends on how much you work. Push too hard with no raises. as a company they do not really care about employees
Pros
discounts
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, fun
Sales Lead (Former Employee) –  Wilmington, NCSeptember 5, 2017
Working for New York & Co. was a great experience! The company management helped me grow into opening up( talking and expressing) and showing my creative side. Selling products became easy to me and knowing my customers became fun in knowing their styles
Pros
discounts on clothing
Cons
way too much clothing to put back and out onto the sales floor
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced competitive fun place to work
Co-Manager/Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Yonkers, NYSeptember 4, 2017
New York and Company is a great place to work if you are into fashion trends and positive attitudes. Great place to start out with your retail careers.
Pros
Discount room for growth
Cons
short lunch breaks long hours promotional changes everyday
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a great company to work for
Co Manager (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLSeptember 4, 2017
Working for the company you was a great experience you have to be a fast Time Warner you have to know how to work with different cultures of customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company is a cool place to work for. My first store manager was the best he rotated the schedule between managers fairly.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYSeptember 2, 2017
I liked working there when it was the first management team I got promoted within four months working with the company the store manager rotated the managers schedule fairly.I left because the new store manager was not fair at all with the schedule she did not close she didn't work weekends me and the other manager were rotating closing shifts and we had no weekends to ourself
Pros
Some of the employees were nice made a lot of friends
Cons
To many floor sets, the store manager never closed, lunch breaks to short
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok Store, Nice Staff, Horrible Customers
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Riverhead, NYSeptember 2, 2017
The store is a mecca for city people who treat you like trash. I enjoyed most of the staff though there was a high turnover and a lack of reliable workers. The managers did a nice job working with me while i was in school.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
short breaks, nasty customers, unreliable co-workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Burbank, CAAugust 30, 2017
Staff was amazing and went above and beyond for the clientele. Unfortunately the pay was less the desirable for the amount of work and time that was expected of each person.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It has its ups and downs
Sales associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Queens, NYAugust 28, 2017
Working here was honestly great at times but a nightmare most of the time. Management is constantly changing, upper management is rude to you and you are not paid the same as the person next to you. There where people making 13 dollars an hour and had only been there for a month while i had been there a year and was only making 8.70
Cons
managment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Review
N/A (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNAugust 28, 2017
Give us your opinion about
- a typical day at work
- what you learned
- management
- workplace culture
- the hardest part of the job
- the most enjoyable part of the job
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful to the max
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNAugust 26, 2017
none of managment knew what they were doing. out back smoking half the time. other half they were eating. it was pretty lame honestly. run away as fast as you can.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Key Holder, Sales Lead (Former Employee) –  Pleasant Prairie, WIAugust 25, 2017
Towards the end of my days here, there was catty high school drama going on. In my opinion, once you step foot in a place of business anything unprofessional should be left at the door.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice team
Sales Lead/Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIAugust 23, 2017
New York and Company was a fun and upbeat place to work. Management was very understanding about needing time off and making accomadations to your schedule. Towards the end of my time there the management team wasnt as strong but overall it was a great place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun workplace
Sales Lead (Former Employee) –  Lawrenceville, NJAugust 23, 2017
Working for New York & Company was enjoyable and rewarding. The knowledge i received from working hand in hand with Management is something that i carry with me from job to job.
Pros
Fun
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best place to work in
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Chicago Ridge, ILAugust 22, 2017
Its the worst place you can work at. The managers have no self respect and if you make one mistake then they would cut your hours. They also dont respect the fact that you can't work at sometimes
Pros
Nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary on new york and company
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Tannersville, PAAugust 22, 2017
Working in this busy enviornment, everything was always moving. There were no room for mistakes, but that's a good thing in the world of retail because it gives feedback to becoming manager one day. New York and company showed me that working organized and being top notch with customer service, brings great feedback to not only me but to the store too. When working with companies like this one, everyone is family we all progress together and that's what new york and company was about. I definitley enjoyed the daily customers, but what i found a bit challenging was how the manager came about the credit apps.
Pros
Relationship building with the customers
Cons
breaks were too short for the amount of time working on a shift
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Discounts on clothing.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Shreveport, LAAugust 21, 2017
I loved shopping at the store, but it almost became addicting. I loved meeting new customers and making new sales. I enjoyed getting repeat customers, especially new clients.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work.
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLAugust 20, 2017
Fun teams and fast paced. Allows for input on running day to day business. Teaches how to plan strategically and ensures that each day is fulfilling.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There was always something new and exciting to do, I was always on my toes.
Stock Associate (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 20, 2017
What I have learned from this job is that patients is key to everything, being able to understand your customer and have them leave the store with a great experience is and amazing feeling and enjoyable part of the job.
Pros
interacting with customers
Cons
long hours, short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meh
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Albertville, MNAugust 17, 2017
It was your typical retail job. The manager at my particular store wasn't great, and my co-workers were often gossiping behind each others backs. As far as a first job goes it was fine, but I'm glad I found a better job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at New York & Company. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 922 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.4
Culture
3.4