New York Cares Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 50 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and funloving
Student Education Program (Former Employee) –  Queens, NYApril 29, 2016
It was good experience to work with New York cares where we work as team and help each other to clean parks and gardens in New York City.
Pros
Friendly atmosphere
Cons
Food served was not for vegan
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great organization helping the city's resident
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  New York, NYApril 22, 2016
New York Cares is a great volunteer organization seeking to improve the lives of New Yorkers in different institutions across the city.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to volunteer
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 15, 2016
I think it is a great place to volunteer. I like the various places you can provide service and help others in New York City.
Pros
flexible options
Cons
Don't have any
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
average
Youth Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYMarch 2, 2016
this job was seasonal and i basically went on trips with kids. we had talent shows and they showed me a lot about the kids these days.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great volunteering experience.
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 15, 2015
New York Cares has several volunteer opportunities that permits individuals to assist in several community service activities. I had the pleasure of working in an educational environment with elementary school students. The organization gives individuals of all ages to have access to exploring skills pertaining to their career fields and/or learn new skills for a hobby or for just simply giving back in the community.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunities
volunteer (Current Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 9, 2015
Interesting and wonderful experience.
wonderful opportunities. always organized.
great spirit.
xxcvbvchgfhgfhgchgc
gxghfxgfdjhgfjhgfhgfhjfg
cjhgjhgfhfhyfhjyfhjyfhyfhjyfhjyfhyfhyfht
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and Productive
Volunteer Experience (Current Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 1, 2015
Volunteering is one of my lifetime passion.
It gives you the opportunity to meet a huge amount of loving people sharing your same ideals.
Networking is a great aspect of this organization.
Team leaders and coordinators are always helpful and welcoming.
Will always be a volunteer of this organization.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to volunteer.
Active volunteer, Tutor (4hrs/week) (Current Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 6, 2015
The greatest and most compassionate people you'll ever meet.
The hours are also extremely flexible, so you get to do good things while pursuing work or school.
Pros
Great people
Cons
Far from home
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great experience
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  cambria heights nyOctober 14, 2015
had a lot of fun helping and meeting new people. learned new things like how to arm knit,how to build a green house.Its a great program for kids in school
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer experiences
PARENT ADVOCATE (Current Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 9, 2015
I love what New York Cares represents, their contributions to this city are unsurmountable. Yes, there are other major volunteer organizations but New York Cares always take care of the people who are helping them maintain their bottom line.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
College Preparation Volunteer/English Tutor (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 25, 2015
Meet high school seniors through the college application process, helped them to establish appropriate lists of colleges to apply complete the Common Application, and write their college application essays

Learned how to work with teenagers in an effective and productive way using various techniques (listening, taking small brakes, incorporate their opinions on the subject etc) to keep them engaged and interested

Management
Very professional and organized management

Co-workers
Very knowledgeable and prepared peer tutors

The hardest part of the job
Keeping teenagers engaged and motivated

The most enjoyable part of the job
Knowing i contributed in shaping another person's future
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many different opportunities, flexible time schedules
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 7, 2015
New York Cares is an excellent organization to volunteer with. The areas where they provide volunteer work are very broad, there is never a lack in things to participate in. First, a person has to register online wit them and they ask for all the necessary information. Once approved there are sections on the home page to search for volunteer activities. Then choose what you want to do and make sure you arrive or let the person in charge of the organization of the activity know that you cannot make it at least a day in advance. It really is very fun if you enjoy volunteering.
Pros
One can choose what they want to participate in.
Cons
A lot of activities can run out of space very quickly.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great way to volunteer
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJune 22, 2015
New York Cares is a non-profit organization that gives a very good opportunity to give back to society we live in. NY cares has a variety of different programs and events in which people get the opportunity to help out. I think it's a great organization.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work as a volunteer.
Volunteer job (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 22, 2015
New York Cares is the best volunteer job in NYC. They gave us the opportunity to work with kids, teenager and adults.
My co-workers are happy people who want to help others in their free time.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place; ability to help others in a fun and exciting way
Activities/Volunteer Work (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYMay 9, 2015
helping children and patients in hospitals and giving them the care they need
helping them express themselves through arts and crafts
helping the less fortunate and allowing them to experience fun things they have not discovered before
Pros
chance to make a child smile; patient care; bonding
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Connected me with Pro life service
Service member (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 24, 2015
I learned to service humanity with gratitude
I enjoyed and loved making the community green
I loved helping the less privilege and providing them with food
Pros
Meeting people, making friends, very flexible; pick your work time
Cons
Traveling for at least 30 minutes to and fro
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome place to meet people
Member (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 22, 2015
volunteers coming together to help the under served in a positive encouraging environment. Great way to give back and make in difference in someone's life as well as your own
Pros
positive
Cons
na
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lovely volunteer organization
Volunteer /Team Leader (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 21, 2015
they are the best. The flexibility alone is great.They truly appreciate their volunteers. God bless them with many more years.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
flexible/fun
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 14, 2015
I love that I am able to make my own schedule. Meet cool people and still make a difference at the end of the day. Joining New York Cares has helped me to enhance my skills and further appreciate the importance of my community.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to volunteer
Volunteer Mentor Career Coach (Current Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 30, 2014
Flexible schedule, and web front end back it easy to schedule appointments.

Vast variety of volunteering gigs available.
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

4.7
Based on 50 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture