New York Cares

40 reviews

New York Cares Employee Reviews

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
College Preparation Volunteer/English Tutor (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 25, 2015
Meet high school seniors through the college application process, helped them to establish appropriate lists of colleges to apply complete the Common Application, and write their college application essays – more...

Learned how to work with teenagers in an effective and productive way using various techniques (listening, taking small brakes, incorporate their opinions on the subject etc) to keep them engaged and interested

Management
Very professional and organized management

Co-workers
Very knowledgeable and prepared peer tutors

The hardest part of the job
Keeping teenagers engaged and motivated

The most enjoyable part of the job
Knowing i contributed in shaping another person's future – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many different opportunities, flexible time schedules
Volunteer (Current Employee), New York, NYJuly 7, 2015
Pros: One can choose what they want to participate in.
Cons: A lot of activities can run out of space very quickly.
New York Cares is an excellent organization to volunteer with. The areas where they provide volunteer work are very broad, there is never a lack in things to participate in. First, a person has to register – more... online wit them and they ask for all the necessary information. Once approved there are sections on the home page to search for volunteer activities. Then choose what you want to do and make sure you arrive or let the person in charge of the organization of the activity know that you cannot make it at least a day in advance. It really is very fun if you enjoy volunteering. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great way to volunteer
Volunteer (Current Employee), New York, NYJune 22, 2015
New York Cares is a non-profit organization that gives a very good opportunity to give back to society we live in. NY cares has a variety of different programs and events in which people get the opportunity to help out. I think it's a great organization.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work as a volunteer.
Volunteer job (Former Employee), New York, NYMay 22, 2015
New York Cares is the best volunteer job in NYC. They gave us the opportunity to work with kids, teenager and adults.
My co-workers are happy people who want to help others in their free time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place; ability to help others in a fun and exciting way
Activities/Volunteer Work (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYMay 9, 2015
Pros: chance to make a child smile; patient care; bonding
Cons: none
helping children and patients in hospitals and giving them the care they need
helping them express themselves through arts and crafts
helping the less fortunate and allowing them to experience fun things they have not discovered before
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Connected me with Pro life service
Service member (Current Employee), New York, NYMarch 24, 2015
Pros: Meeting people, making friends, very flexible; pick your work time
Cons: Traveling for at least 30 minutes to and fro
I learned to service humanity with gratitude
I enjoyed and loved making the community green
I loved helping the less privilege and providing them with food
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome place to meet people
Member (Current Employee), New York, NYMarch 22, 2015
Pros: positive
Cons: na
volunteers coming together to help the under served in a positive encouraging environment. Great way to give back and make in difference in someone's life as well as your own
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lovely volunteer organization
Volunteer /Team Leader (Current Employee), New York, NYMarch 21, 2015
they are the best. The flexibility alone is great.They truly appreciate their volunteers. God bless them with many more years.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
flexible/fun
Volunteer (Current Employee), New York, NYMarch 14, 2015
I love that I am able to make my own schedule. Meet cool people and still make a difference at the end of the day. Joining New York Cares has helped me to enhance my skills and further appreciate the importance of my community.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to volunteer
Volunteer Mentor Career Coach (Current Employee), New York, NYDecember 30, 2014
Flexible schedule, and web front end back it easy to schedule appointments.

Vast variety of volunteering gigs available.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly Recommended
Volunteer (Former Employee), New York, NYDecember 10, 2014
Though this is a volunteer opportunity, money will not amount to the experience for those who have free time and want to give back
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to volunteer with kids
Volunteer (Current Employee), New YorkDecember 4, 2014
This is a great place to volunteer if your schedule is all over the place (like many New Yorkers.) There are a variety of volunteer opportunities for whatever you might be looking for and the project leaders are great in getting to know the other volunteers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work and doing amazing things for organizations and people in New York City
Foundations Officer (Former Employee), New York, NYNovember 18, 2014
New York Cares is an amazing organization, great place to work with an awesome management team,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VALUABLE EXPERIENCE
Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 28, 2014
Spent spare time to help low income people file their tax returns
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Volunteer (Current Employee), New York, NYSeptember 19, 2014
This is a great company. It helps so many people in New York City. I am a volunteer here and love being involved with such an amazing charity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company
Volunteer (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 27, 2014
Pros: meet new people every time you sign up for an activity.
Cons: no cons!!
Volunteering and offering my services to people in need brings me so much joy. Based on my schedule, I can go online and sign up for any event or activity and lend a helping hand to people in need. From – more... tutoring children, to helping adults formulate their resumes, volunteering allows you to take a break from your personal life and tend to those who may be in need of assistance. Overall, it is amazing! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable
Youth Team Leader (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 16, 2014
IT was very enjoyable helping others. As well the co workers were cool.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
an volunteer organization offering various kinds of volunteer events
Volunteer (Current Employee), New York, NYApril 1, 2014
We can find happiness through helping others and make friends with kind people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A feel good moment everytime I volunteered.
Volunteer Work (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 18, 2014
Pros: sharing with people on what you have and know is fulfilling.
New York Cares one of the premier volunteer group in New York City encompasses what volunteering should be. Easy to tackle assigned projects with knowledgeable and well prepared team leaders. Signing up – more... for a project is a breeze, intuitively designed by management for ease of scheduling and use. Having instant gratification is not easy but as soon as you understand each groups predicament and why you volunteered every second is feel good moment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a fun place to work.
Volunteer (Current Employee), New York, NYMarch 7, 2014
New York Cares puts you in a position to help people from all walks of life in many different ways. You meet many kind people who all share the same goal of helping others and making the world a better – more... place. With New York Cares, you have many options to choose from. You can help fix parks, clean streets, or teach children different subjects such as Math or English. This is a great way to not only help others but to learn about yourself. I have learned that I want people to be successful. Not everyone is born into a nice home or a nice neighborhood but with hard work, anything is possible and life can improve for you. – less