Find companies:
New York City Department of Education
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
115 reviews

New York City Department of Education Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my day at Department of Education
Program Assistant (Former Employee), New York, NYOctober 20, 2013
Pros: was able to learn how the school system operate
Cons: i am really sorry that i was not able to get pick up as a full time employee
Working at the Department of Education was one of the most meaningful job that i have ever had. On a day to day basic i had the opportunity to work with most of the new york city public schools who participate in the core curriculum promgram. I assisted them with ordering materials that they might need for the up coming school year. Explain what the – more... program or new subject about or just assisting them in anyway that would make their school run well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Programmer (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 30, 2013
Pros: great rewards i.e. educating young minds and being able to retire
Cons: not allowing teachers to have more input in the curriculum
A typical day at work would include facing challenging youngsters to
prepare for the adult world. I learned that all children can learn but at different levels. Management was a great part of my day - having to work with different levels and being a team player was quite significant because my co-workers and I would collaborate with issues that would – more... benefit education. The hardest part of the job was not being able to reach all of my students. The most enjoyable part of the job was knowing I did my best and put in a full day with very few regrets. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job security, depending on site; rewarding job
Guidance Counselor, 6th - 8th Grade (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 28, 2013
The department being restructured. Can not review at this time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enlightening
Substitute Teacher (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYSeptember 27, 2013
I loved working for the Dept of Ed in New York City - they provided many opportunities, workshops, incentives and so forth! I absolutely loved my work environment and loved working with fellow teachers in hopes to educate and enlighten the young minds of our students!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and creative place to work
Sub-Paraprofessional (Current Employee), New York, NYSeptember 26, 2013
Pros: fun and creative place, you never know what to except.
Cons: temp, no health care
follow a lesson plan and usually stick with holidays or time of the season. I have learned and I am working on trying not to get attached to any child. I believe to be a fair and motivated person, I actually rather work in a team
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Education is going through a tough time.
Teacher (Current Employee), New York, NYSeptember 24, 2013
A lot needs to change. It has become very difficult to enjoy teaching and continue the passion for it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Making a difference
Guidance Counselor at PS/MS 105Q (Current Employee), Far Rockaway, NYSeptember 20, 2013
Pros: short commute, manageable work load
Cons: disheartening to see so many young people with emotional problems.
I am the Guidance Counselor for a pre-k through 8th grade public school in Far Rockaway, Queens. My day consists of counseling students individually and in groups, working with families and community based organizations, and dealing with acute situations by providing peer mediation and conflict resolution

I am also the attendance coordinator which – more... requires me to monitor daily attendance, call homes of absentees, and resolve issues with the families of chronic absentees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A challenging and interesting place to work
Secretary Day Schools (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 17, 2013
Pros: benefits and pension are good.
If one is looking for job security the NYC Department of Education is the place to be. You have great health and pension benefits. Sometime the work conditions and not up to par.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked with children of all ages
Substitute Teacher (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 10, 2013
a typical day consisted of coming up with creative activities to keep the children busy in the absence of their teacher. sometimes getting the children to listen was a little difficult.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a very good place to work besides me being a substitute paraprofessional only working when they call.
Assisted teacher (Current Employee), New York, NYSeptember 10, 2013
Pros: good pay
Cons: no benefits
I think the DOE is a very ghood compant to work at and would perfer this company to anyone. The only problem i got with this company is being a substitute for 3 1/2 years and hafve not got and full time job with them because it's no money in the budget, but is clear tyhey need workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Career Progression
College Advisor/Student Advisor/Science Chair (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 10, 2013
Pros: the students
Cons: the educational system
I loved the students in NYC and I know that myself and other dedicated staff helped provide opportunities to thousands of these wonderful kids who otherwise would never have even dreamed about such possibilities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Day as a sub-Teacher
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee), New York, NYSeptember 7, 2013
In my experience as a sub-teacher everyday is different because of the fact that everything changes, such as the work place, co-workers, students, etc., from day to day unless you are assigned to multiple day assignment. When it is a planned absence and there are lesson plans, a seating chart and a list of helpful students, all can go quite well. Generally – more... a nearby teacher will help you with protocol like how to take lunch count etc. I've subbed from kindergarten to 12th grade, in all subjects. The little kids are easier to handle if you know what you are doing. At the high school level just introduce yourself and make sure they can relate to you. The worst situations are the ones where a teacher or a teacher's child gets sick at 6 a.m. and the lesson plans etc. are minimal if there are any at all. I carry extra work with me that is suitable for all age groups in all subjects. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok work environment.
o School Aide/Office Assistant (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 3, 2013
Answering phones and talking to people on a daily basis. Helping people find information about what they want to do for there future.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding Career
General Education Teacher Grades 3, 5, 6 ICT (Current Employee), New York, NYAugust 30, 2013
My career in the NYC DOE has been extremely rewarding. I thoroughly enjoy my students every year and look forward to challenging their mixed abilities every day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everything depends on your line.
Community Coordinator - College Advisor (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 11, 2013
Pros: great benefits working for the city of new york.
Cons: every school is as strong as its leadership team.
If you are at a school based position, the line you are hired on will dictate how much you get paid, your union and if you get summers off. Beware of being hired as a Parent Coordinator, Community Coordinator or Community Associate! The pay is embarrassingly low and there is little to no room for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Opportnity
Substitute Teacher, Grades K (Current Employee), New York, NYAugust 9, 2013
Pros: helping children
Cons: hectic
Working with children is always a great experience. I love their fresh new outlook on life. They give you the opportunity to see life through new eyes everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a great educational and supportive learning center for kids with special needs.
Teacher Assistant/Paraprofessional (Current Employee), New York, NYAugust 6, 2013
Pros: lunch
It requires a lot of strength, patient, and consistency. Everyday I have to deal with crisis management and psychological approach in a safe manner to make the students understand whatever they are making a good job or not. I have learned how to be patient and polish my communication skill to persuade the students to do their work on a timely manner. – more... My coworkers are very well educated and are very helpful when it comes to give me any kind of feedbacks so I can get better at work. I am very open minded and I am a good listener. That is why I am open to any suggestions from my coworkers because I am willing to learn from others and have a positive attitude to be able to collaborate in anything I can. The part that I enjoy the most in job, it is to interact and participate in any activity related with the students. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Substitute Special Ed Teacher (Current Employee), New York, NYAugust 6, 2013
Pros: lack of work & no benefits
Cons: no benefits/ summer off with no pay
Reports to school office at beginning of school day to pick up required materials/schedule of classes and at the end of the school day to return materials. Follows sign out procedures as prescribed by the principal.
Carries out a program of study prescribed in the lesson plans left by the classroom teacher.
Creates a classroom environment that is conducive – more... to learning and appropriate to the maturity and interests of the students.
Guides the learning process toward the achievement of curriculum goals and objectives as indicated in the lesson plans for the lessons, units, or projects assigned.
Employs instructional methods and materials that are most appropriate for meeting lesson objectives.
Maintains a neat and orderly classroom. Straightens chairs, tables, clears chalkboard, etc.
Takes attendance in accordance with school procedures.
Indicates to students at beginning of class the basic expectations for behavior in the class
Insures that the students are never left unattended in the classroom.
May perform duties usually required of absent teacher such as lunchroom duty, hall monitoring, etc.
Knows emergency evacuation routes for the classrooms assigned.
Knows procedures for referring students who are disciplinary problems.
Knows school procedures and regulations.
Performs other related duties as directed by principal – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student Teaching
Student Teaching (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 31, 2013
It was a great opportunity to work with students and being able to teach as if I am the class room teacher
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too much red tape!
Mentor/Coach (Former Employee), New York, New YorkJuly 18, 2013
Too many people in charge who have no idea what they are doing!