Find companies:
New York City Transit
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
30 reviews

New York City Transit Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
operator
Bus Operator (Former Employee), New York, NYNovember 19, 2014
Assign to transport commuters traveling on NYC transit buses ensure the safety of
customers and of other motorist.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a good working place if you looking to retired in the next 8 years or so
College Aide (Former Employee), New York, NYNovember 15, 2014
working there is not for new workers who are planning to get the experience and skills
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
On the job with Transit
Station Agent and Train Conductor (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYNovember 11, 2014
Pros: benefits, pay, co-workers, public, time saved & room for advancement
Cons: job pick, contract, breaks, lack of empathy and sympathy, time off, & hours lost in family time.
New York City Transit is a job that can be a career. It offers advancement through promotions, good benefits and a decent wage, meaning to be able to actually live in NYC and support a family. I'm a people person and I am also a hard worker... the stressful and fast pace environment didn't harm me. The hardest part of the job was the loss of family – more... time and dealing with irate people or the fact that you are put in harmful situations at time. I had a very good rapport and still do with many of my co-workers.
The biggest benefit from working with the NYC Transit, is the ability to stretch myself and the growth the job itself provided by work through and overcoming various situations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great Career even through Idiosyncrasies!
Motorman (Former Employee), New York, NYOctober 23, 2014
Pros: good camaderie along with good supervision!
Cons: poorly trained supervision with little time on the job!
My Career was filled with a great variety of jobs and skills learning. Worked revenue(passenger) trains which was a highly skilled job which required very good operating skills and dealing with all kinds of humanity. Also worked as a Switchman which required very good skills in the preparing trains for service or moving bad order (electrical/mechanical/pneumatic – more... problems) trains. Most co-workers were easy to get along with and treated as brothers both on and off duty! Most managers were knowledgeable and courteous and knew their jobs some did not! Weather! Good or Bad it affects your Job and how the job gets done! Going to work everyday! Especially when the weather is great! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow paced work stations
Employee Benefits (Associate Clerk) (Former Employee), New York, NYOctober 9, 2014
Pros: holidays parties
Cons: strict lunch routine
Interacted with a wide variety of individuals. Learned phone etiquette and developed my people skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job security is really great.
Iron Worker, Welder, Burner (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 12, 2014
Pros: good benefits, job security
Cons: gotta know someone to move up.
management has no real managing skills. managers move up because they know someone or family members at high ranking positions. this is the reason most don't have any management skills. Answers are often given to exams to those they want or like and that the main reasons for the idiotic management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Salary and benefits are great!
Cleaner (Former Employee), New York, NYMay 24, 2014
Pros: salary and benefits
Cons: with no seniority, you get stuck with the worst jobs and shifts
I worked on a team washing down various stations and pulling garbage
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
:Productivity great place to work
Customer Service Specialist/paid internship (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 10, 2014
Pros: free metrocards
Cons: n/a
I interned on that place very good treatment of employees.i only interned at the organisation for a short period but I would like to work for that company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a great job
New York City Transit (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 27, 2014
Pros: very good pay and medical benfits
Cons: you have to be ready work all hours of a day
This was a great job but I took the test in 2005 and did not hear from them until 2010 so that was bad for me because working on buses is a lot harder then working on cars like I did at the FORD Dealer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and gain valuable experience.
Assistant Project Manager (Current Employee), New York, NYJanuary 23, 2014
Pros: healthcare, benefits, pension, job security
A typical day at work includes meetings with field superintendents and foreman to go over what has to be completed for that particular day. I also meet with the group scheduler to develop a schedule for future and current projects. I help facilitate project closeouts and construction estimating. I find working with my team the most enjoyable part of – more... my job. The hardest part would coordinating meetings between the contractor and design team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable and Rewarding
Director Customer Services Project Manager Office (Current Employee), New York, NYDecember 1, 2013
Pros: benefits and pension
Cons: slow to promotion and salary increase
Work at NYCT is rewarding and friendly. It requires discipline and the will to improve yourself daily. I have learned more about myself in this job then any I have held before. As a manger myself I find that the increase responsibility seeds ownership and ownership brings quality. My co-workers enjoy their jobs and wish to improve themselves. The hardest – more... part of the job is the deadlines but they too provide excitement and reward when you and the team have completed. The most enjoyable times are preparing for a new project and assembling the teams – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Miserable people to work for
Administrative Assistant to the Project Manager (Former Employee), New York, NYNovember 12, 2013
No one seems happy with their job and the paratransit division is treated like the red-headed step child of the MTA.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this was a fun place to work
Train operator (Former Employee), New York, NYNovember 8, 2013
this was a nice job to have the only thing we the employees had to worry about was other people looking out only for themselves. there was really no team work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work at
College Aide (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 9, 2013
Pros: free metrocards
Cons: short breaks
Competitive job position but, worth it in every meaning of the word.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job, good environment
Legal Secretary/Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), New York, NYJune 27, 2013
Pros: great job, great benefits
Cons: no complaints
Work with three Attorneys. Booked their calendar for court appearance and deadlines. Typed Briefs, Notice of Motions, Notice of Appeals, filed papers in court. Typed their time sheets, correspondence
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Transit Customer Service Specialist PT (Current Employee), New York, NYJune 12, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: career growth limited
Great place to work for and the benefits are awesome. New York City Transit offers great benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place has improved over the years
Transit customer service specialist II (Current Employee), New York, NYApril 8, 2013
Pros: flexability of job, you are able too switch with a another work to attend to personal matters.
Cons: travel too work is long
overall decent, good benefits.Talking & helping customers of all cultures.Excellent co workers.Most enjoyable part is knowing you helped some one.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temp Work
Data Entry Secretary (Current Employee), New York, NYNovember 26, 2012
Pros: can make my own schedule, great supervisors
Cons: the low pay for my college background
No chance for advancement, Lots of work for the little pay, Dont have a future at the company due to no chance for me to advance
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
none
Consultant (Former Employee), New York, NYNovember 13, 2012
terrible place to work.co-workers very lazy, consultan does all the work, not respect for consultan, paid low, at lot work, work at lot hours in the cold and even rainy. not break
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best of the best.
Bus Operator (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYNovember 7, 2012
Pros: working for the state of new york.
Best job I ever had.Great pay, great benefits.Hardest thing about the job was getting there.