Find companies:
New York Community Bank
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
42 reviews

New York Community Bank Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, friendly, fair, acknowledge potiential
IT Application Support /Exception Processor/CSR (Former Employee), Westbury new YorkJuly 8, 2014
Pros: on call pay, invested, great people
Cons: better benefits
In the financial world everyday was a busy and productive day. Being with the company for 15 years and 3 different departments, I've learned all aspects of banking. From customer service over the phone, helping customer with their account questions, processing personal loans. In Exception Processing, I worked with different applications to code and – more... maintain customer's accounts. And in It Application Support, troubleshooting over 200 applications, assisting bank employees with PC questions. My co-worker became family.
The hardest part of the job is having to leave due to my family relocating.
I enjoyed the people and the potential to advance. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Financial Service Associate (Current Employee), Staten Island, New YorkJune 18, 2014
Good for people out of college or in college looking to get their foot in the door in banking or any other financial field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everything Started for me here
Default Management Specialist (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHMay 18, 2014
My first professional job was with this bank. I started at the age of 16 as an intern and moved my way up within the company. I built a lot of friendships at the job. I will say this is one of the best places to work.Nothing but positivity when you walk through the doors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what I was expecting
Branch Manager (Former Employee), West Caldwell, NJApril 9, 2014
Branch manager position was more of a glorified head teller position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice company
Financial Service Associate (Former Employee), new yorkApril 1, 2014
Pros: earn a lot of time off
nice company people were very nice flexible schedule etc. the work was easy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and learn lot of new things everyday
Financial service associate (Former Employee), flushing new yorkMarch 26, 2014
Pros: great atmosphere, amazing team, everyday learning
Cons: not so satisfied with the pay
Loved working with the bank, learned so many new things everyday, and the best coworkers and management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Loan Administrator (Current Employee), Jericho, NYMarch 22, 2014
Good learning experience but low salary. Nice people and relatively relaxed company culture.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a really great company to work for with flexability.
Remote Sr. Mortgage Loan Underwriter (Former Employee), Scottsdale, AZMarch 12, 2014
The company was great! After completing your 90 days you start working remotely from home. The management was excellent, very approachable and helpful. The culture was very diverse and my co-workers were fun to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Bank HQ
Intern (Former Employee), Westbury, NYFebruary 10, 2014
Very friendly atmosphere. Great staff, and overall great experience. I was respected as an intern and compensated very well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace with a great staff
Bank Teller (Former Employee), Staten Island, NYJanuary 25, 2014
Learned a lot the time I was there! I learned great customer service skills and helping the public with all banking transactions. Being a head teller, I also learned leadership skills. My co-workers were friendly, and made great relationships that still continue outside of the bank. Selling banking products was sometimes a hard task seeing the same – more... people come in and out, but with hard work, you get the job done. Overall, great experience! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great learning place
Financial Service Associate (Former Employee), Syosset, NYJanuary 22, 2014
I was hired as a teller but two years later became head teller.
I learned about money and banking services, helped customers save their money and made sure they were happy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quick to hire not enough hours.
Finical service associate (Former Employee), Corona heightsJanuary 17, 2014
Pros: quick to hire
Cons: no healthcare for employees who work 38 hours or less and they try not to give the hours.
This job doesn't give you great training for there VERY out dated software. No job security long hours and the company doesn't really know there employees the just want you to smile and agree with there backwards rules.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Working Environment
IRA Processor (Current Employee), Westbury, NYDecember 18, 2013
Pros: great boss, flexible hours
Cons: not much room for growth
I have worked for this company for 9 years and it has been a great experience. However, the job is no longer challenging and there really is not much room for growth or promotion. It is a office job with light clerical work. I maintain IRA accounts to make sure that we are abiding with the IRS ruling. A typical day at work is contacting the local branches – more... to fix errors and to assist with the IRA questions. The most enjoyable part of the job is to be a great assistant to my co-workers and to make sure our customers are satisfied. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Work Environment
Mortgage Client Support Consultant (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHDecember 17, 2013
Mortgage Client Support Consultant-
Excellent training.
Welcoming staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team orientated company
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYNovember 13, 2013
The staff at NYCB work very strongly as a team as well as a family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Normal work place
TELLER (Former Employee), Elizabeth, NJNovember 9, 2013
Pros: pay
Cons: hours
Staying focus on all transactions, banking has helped me solve saving solutions. Management great always helpful as well as co workers, hardest part of work is balancing you drawer to the penny, and most enjoyable part has to be surrounded by lots of money.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
laid off and no job security
Financial Service Associate (Former Employee), bayonne njNovember 6, 2013
Pros: 10 years and long time friendships
Cons: no job security and promotions
i was laid off while pregnant and told i had job security after 10 years with the company was passed over for numerous positions i applied for that where given to people i would train so i would not give them the best review.....but i did meet i lot of good people along the way. I still call them really good friends. I learned a lot as I did with every – more... job I had. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun environment
Financial Services Associate (Current Employee), Queens, NYOctober 18, 2013
A typical day would include taking care of customers transactions whether they want to open a new account, make a deposit, amend an account or make withdrawal. I would also assist managers with their end of the day and monthly reports. Assist with training new employees. The hardest part of the job is getting customers to sign up for a new product. – more... I always enjoy interacting with my co-workers and my customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Bank Teller/FSA/PBR (Current Employee), New York, NYOctober 5, 2013
Fair at best
Supervisor seems to take his job a little too serious using the line of "as a supervisor.."before he says anything is quite annoying
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Banking is fir certain people no doubt about it.
SENIOR CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee), Chandler, AZSeptember 15, 2013
Pros: hours and every holiday off
Cons: constantly slow, nothing to do without the customers present.
I have working in the Banking industry for 9 years if my life. It's not for everyone. I enjoyed the employees and customers but as far as the job, its too slow for me, Im very hyper, Energetic, and more then often need some running around room :) I am extremely hyperactive and love people and talking. As far as sitting behind the teller line waiting – more... for people, absolutely drove me nuts. I need to be busy a good majority of the time. Which some say that isn't always good but I disagree. – less

1 2 3