Find companies:
New York Hall of Science
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
13 reviews

New York Hall of Science Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summer job
Customer Service Specialist/ Sales Representative (Former Employee), Hall, NYJuly 19, 2014
Pros: cute coworkers
Cons: pay rate
Pay is for a 12 year old kid but it was fun while it lasted. You learn a lot about these institutions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mostly dealing with educating children
Works as chaperone and a guide (Former Employee), New York, NYMay 24, 2014
The feeling of educating children was a good experience.Although Id rather work with my hands.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Program Explainer (Former Employee), Corona, NYMay 23, 2014
work days were entertaining.
i learned a lot of new science concpets
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very nice place to work .
Custodian (Current Employee), Queens, NYApril 12, 2014
Pros: meet new people
Cons: russian employees feel that they are better than everybody, can't talk to coworkers
i like working here . you learn something new everyday.. people are great. staff is amazing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved It
Early Childhood Resident (Current Employee), Corona, NYFebruary 26, 2014
I love working here because there are many growth opportunities, the atmosphere is great, and the coworkers are for the most part friendly, considerate and easy-going. Benefits depend on your status (casual, part-time, or full-time).
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SCIENCE MUSEUM - located in Flushing Meadows Park
Assistant Librarian (Former Employee), Corona NYFebruary 3, 2014
Pros: science career ladder - connecting with other genius level people!
Cons: s.c.l. started as i was leaving.
The BEST place that I have ever worked at.

I was an intern on a team of about 200 of us. We rarely got to see all of each other (about 4x a year) but I was able to work very closely over the years with about 40-50 of them, and very closely with the management / full time employees.

PLAYING WITH PUPPETS

DISSECTING COW EYES

SLIDING DOWN SLIDES in – more... the SCIENCE PLAYGROUND

The hardest part of the job, is waiting in the cold for the kids to get off the bus!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rewards you with a fun experience every day
Intern (Former Employee), Corona, NYOctober 26, 2013
Pros: free lunches and fun activities
Everyone would get a schedule that would dictate which exhibit you will be in during a certain time. Teaches you a vast amount of science in an interactive and engaging way. I did not really talk to management so much because i was an intern. i had supervisors and co-workers who accepted me the first day i started working there. They were very supportive – more... as i learned the basics while working there. There was no hard part to the job because i was an intern. The most enjoyable parts were bonding with fellow co-workers and children during activities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Explainer (Former Employee), Queens, NYJuly 6, 2013
I enjoyed working at the Hall of Science as an Explainer, I had the opportunity to interact with visitors of all age. I also learned about the exhibits at the Hall of Science and had the opportunity to explore all the exhibits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work
Program Explainer (Current Employee), Corona, NYFebruary 10, 2013
Pros: excellent work environment
NYSCI has the best work environment and co-workers imaginable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
disorganized at best
customer service (Former Employee), Corona, NYNovember 21, 2012
It was low paying and demanding. There was no clear structure and it was highly disorganized.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excessive work and low pay
Clerk/Cashier (Former Employee), Corona, NYAugust 6, 2012
Pros: flexiable hours and long break from work
Cons: not enough pay for high volume of work.
A typical day involved admitting patrons into museum, Providing security of customers property. Conducting sales in gift shop..I've learned to admi ta of high volume of customers. My co-workers were pleasant. management was not too helpful. the most enjoyable part of the job was the end of the shift.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review Hall of Science
Volunteer (Former Employee), Queens, NYJune 11, 2012
i volunteered here and it was my first experience of the working world and i enjoyed it because i worked with others to help younger kids and i was young at the time.