Find companies:
New York Hospital Queens
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
27 reviews

New York Hospital Queens Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive
Emergency Department Technician (Current Employee), FlushingMarch 20, 2014
It is very warming environment. Co-workers are very friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job difficult
Mail Room Assistant (Former Employee), Flushing, NYMarch 19, 2014
The hospital was trying to operate with a limited workforce and an overabundance of work to be processed. Even though advancement was 'promoted' it was difficult to obtain. My co-workers were great, the management is now under investigation by it's parent hospital New York Presbyterian for ineffective executive management.
I worked for 4 1/2 years as – more... a part time worker, and tried in vain for full time status which was only five additional hours weekly. I worked 30 hours as a part time worker. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive working in healthcare setting
Ward Clerk (Former Employee), Flushing, NYMarch 10, 2014
Pros: breaks between shifts and employee events such as a luncheon
Cons: not enough hours
To work in a healthcare setting such as a hospital, one is able to interact with other fellow healthcare professionals and learn from each other to give the best possible care to patients, which is a remarkable component of the occupation. Working in different units/sections of the hospital, one learns the different tasks and obtains new skills in different – more... areas of the healthcare setting including administration and management skills. One challenging part I came across was working in emergency units which requires one to adjust in fast paced situations but in time I become used to it and learn how to think and decide in a short period of time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly reputed private teaching hospital affiliated with New York Presbyterian & Weill Cornell Medical Center
PA Student (Current Employee), Flushing, New YorkFebruary 22, 2014
Completed Internal Medicine and Pediatric rotations as a PA Student here 2011-2012.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
clean and organize work area,instruct,motivate patients,transport patients to and from treatment area.
Physical Therapy Attendant (Current Employee), Flushing, NYJanuary 21, 2014
Secure patients into or onto therapy equipment.
Confer with physical therapy staff to discuss and evaluate patient information for planning treatment.
Providing standing support to patients during therapy session.
Perform clerical duties,such as ordering supplies,answering phones.
arrange treatment supplies to keep them in order.
change linens such – more... as bed sheets and pillows cases.
Assist patients to put on and remove supportive devices, such as braces,splints and slings – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging environment
QC Coordinator (Current Employee), Flushing, NYSeptember 26, 2013
Fast paced and challenging environment to work in. Good teamwork among co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
extemely challeging and satisfiying surroundings
Housekeeping (Former Employee), Flushing, NYSeptember 25, 2013
Pros: provide outstanding janitorial services
Focused on the cleanliness of entire premises to ensure a healthy, safe, and sanitary environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place but you get treated good
Volunteer Housekeeper (Former Employee), Flushing, NYAugust 22, 2013
Cons: short breaks
everybody nice as well and don't complain at all....like everybody for who they are
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Great Learning and Management Experience
Manager, Ambulatory Care Center (Current Employee), New York, NYAugust 11, 2013
NYHQ is a good place to work. I have learned and grown up a lot in the field of Health Care Management with the hospital. The most enjoyable part of the job is the respect that I have gained from my colleagues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay is good but management is not!!!
Medical assistant (Current Employee), QueensJune 19, 2013
If you call out sick, even one day you a require to bring a doctor note . You can only call out sick three time in a year ,when you actually get twelve days . Managers want to know why you want a day off! There is not flexibility !!! They prefer for you to be out the entire day but you can not request to come late or leave early . Managers prefer men – more... over women ! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Manager (Former Employee), Flushing NYJune 6, 2013
Management do not cooperate. With this company is not what you know is who you know
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice experience for volunteer
Volunteer (Former Employee), Flushing, NYJune 4, 2013
Pros: free meal for volunteer
Since this review its from volunteer's view, I cannot say much about the job securoty part. It was a nice experience,I was a high school student. I learned the first-hand of how to be a nurse. And I can say it was very busy. Since goverment had shut down some hospital in New York, this hospital was a bit crowed, but then they had a new buikding after – more... I left. My co-workers were treated me as I was one of them, even though I was only volunteering. The hardest part of the job was to the first hand of patient care. I enjoyed the most of my time over there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New Hospital of Queens
Patient Access Rep /Patient Financial Service Dept (Current Employee), Queens, NYMay 10, 2013
Pros: the great hospital environment
The hospital has a great and excellent working environment. I enjoy working with my collegues. I have learned alot working at this hospital. It is a very busy hospital so you are always on the go and I enjoy the interaction with the doctors, nusres an patients. Managaement is very supportive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work in the healthcare field
ER Patient Access-Registrar (Current Employee), Flushing, NYMay 6, 2013
Pros: great benifits and good salary, always here for overtime
Cons: no advancement to learn and grow, overtime can wear you out
ER is a busy environment. When patients come into the ER I input them in the system. Later on I interview them for registration and gather their insurance info. I am always rotating to different locations.

Most enjoyable part of the job is when I work with great doctors and nurses.

The hardest part of the job is that there is no way to advance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive enjoyable place to work
Emergency Room Technician (Current Employee), Queens, NYApril 23, 2013
Enjoyable Naturing enviroment with supportive employees who possess an immense about of knowledge and experience which they are willing to share to those who are eager to learn.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging environment, tremendous learning, very rewarding
Director of Special Events (Current Employee), Flushing, NYApril 22, 2013
Pros: great staff, impressive hospital
Cons: very heavy workload, minimal staffing
My position grew in the nine years that I worked at the hospital, and I am very proud of my accomplishments. The special events for fundraising program was transformed and profitablilty greatly increased during my time managing the program. The most difficult part of the job would be the heavy workload and minimal staffing. That being said, my co-workers – more... are an amazing team and are incredibly supportive. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly work environment
Per Diem Registered Nurse, Coronary Care Unit (Former Employee), Flushing, NYApril 7, 2013
Pros: great per diem job
Cons: sometimes a headache to find parking dependent on time of day
Amazing nurse manager, friendly staff, and street parking available for night shift nurses.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working enviornment with oppertunity to grow.
General alb. Supervisor (Current Employee), Main Stree QueensMarch 25, 2013
Pros: good health benefits
Cons: benefits can be better
Excellent working enviornment with a diverse population.People are friendly willing to help. Huge valume of work on a daily basis. Available courses to help deal with diverse population. Hardest part of the job is to complete work when instruments are down
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional
Research Coordinator (Former Employee), Flushing, NYDecember 30, 2012
Pros: decent community hospital
Cons: inept management
The clinical research department currently in place at NYHQ does not work AT ALL!!! I understand that this research program is fairly new in comparison to the other major clinical research programs in NYC but the people who are there to train you know very little to nothing in terms of regulations and best practices. The senior staff and administrators – more... are clueless! The have no clue how research works, they have antiquated standards, do not understand the concept of conflict of interest, have unrealistic expectations and the administrator is quick to throw you under the bus if she screws up. Weekly research meetings are a joke where the topics being discussed are tv shows and party planning. Favoritism is rampant and top employees are not essentially hard workers but gossip mongers/Pollyanna types. Horrible experience. Very amateur and highly unprofessional.

Advice to Senior Management – PLEASE TRAIN PEOPLE THOROUGHLY ENOUGH TO KNOW WHAT THEY ARE DOING. This place is not where anyone should aspire to be. Management is aloof and unprofessional. It's a house of cards and it will fall some time sooner than later. If you do decide to accept a position there please remember to smile all day and never bring up anything negative that may ruin the administrators illusions.
More – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive
Emergency Department Volunteer (Current Employee), Flushing, NYNovember 30, 2012
Pros: free lunches
It is very busy and well organized. My most enjoyable part is signing patients in and helping them with their questions. The management is very nice.