New York Medical College Employee Reviews

Showing all 17 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
School was in transition
Administrator (Former Employee) –  Valhalla, NYJune 11, 2016
When I worked for a full time permanent Pathology Chairperson, my job was great. However due to the fiscal problems in the school, I had to work with inexperienced temporary Chairpersons who made the performance of my position difficult.
Pros
Academically a good school
Cons
Instability
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and nice envrionement
Associate professor (Current Employee) –  Valhalla, NYFebruary 28, 2016
I love my lab and working with students We have seminars and an easy going environment. We have master students give seminars which are often better than outside speakers! We have outside speakers and intelligent faculty. Mostly we work quietly and sometimes together.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning Environment
RESEARCH INTERN (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 29, 2014
This position was excellent for learning standard laboratory techniques. I joined not having any experience in a laboratory, but my co-workers were welcoming and more than happy to teach me the protocols. My P.I was involved and curious about my progress during my time there. After the first month of learning and practicing the responsibilities became second nature allowing me to feel as a valued team member.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The residency rotation was excellent.
Anesthesiology Residency (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 14, 2014
The training was excellent and provided multispecialty exposure for learning and development.
Academic and clinical guidance was excellent.
Pros
provided a wide variety of clinical and academic teaching of residents
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A trouble medical school
Professor of Clinical Neurology (Former Employee) –  Valhalla, NYMarch 8, 2014
The school has gone through a lot of changes in the last few years including a change of ownership from the Archdiocese of New York to Tuoro Colleges and University System, a new Chancellor, and vacant Dean position just now being filled after a 1 year hiatus, and three different Vice Deans with the position currently left vacant. Needless to say, the change-over in the upper eschelons leaves those beneath with a sense of insecurity. There is also the feeling that they are constantly trying to get things done "on the cheap" which translates into fewer people trying to do more work just to keep things together.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no job security
Administrative Secretary, Pre-Internship Program (Current Employee) –  Valhalla, NYJanuary 29, 2014
no chance of advancement, every department that I worked in close, so there hasn't been career advancment nor job security.
Pros
i received an income
Cons
income was not sufficient and every department i worked in closed!!
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aiding administrative staff
Clerical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Valhalla, NYNovember 16, 2013
Collecting, scanning, retrieving and filing medical studies. I was very satisfied working with such competent women. The hardest part of the job was understanding the intricate nature of each study - lots of paperwork. I enjoy being of service and making someone's work life a little easier.
Pros
10 am - 2 pm
Cons
none to report
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Speech-Language Pathology Masters of Science Program
Speech-Language Pathologist (Former Employee) –  Valhalla, NYOctober 23, 2013
Graduate level medical emphasis clinical training program.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
family like and fun work place
General Practice Residency (Former Employee) –  Valhalla, NYOctober 22, 2013
Best GPR residency I could had asked for. Learned something everyday. Great faculty. Best program director and by far one of the nicest people I have ever met in my life. We were like a big family. great assistants and colleagues whom working with was not only fun but educational as well. Hardest part was being in a level I hospital, taking first calls q3-4 days for oral surgery, Event though it was difficult at first, it got easier after first few month. Now I'm so glad it was the way it was though, because learned invaluable lessons and gained experiences that not all new graduating dentist get the chance to go through and experience.

thank you Dr. Martinez,
It wouldn't had been possible without you
Farinaz Tazeh
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Payroll experience
Payroll - Office support (Former Employee) –  New YorkSeptember 23, 2013
First time doing payroll and learning about the different Unions for Doctors
Pros
in the city
Cons
part-time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great academic environment to learn all the tools needed to become a public health expert.
Adjunct Professor in Epidemiology (Current Employee) –  Valhalla, NYAugust 9, 2013
Students interested in obtaining an MPH degree enroll into the university.The program is a two year rigorous program which impacts a lot of knowledge needed as a public health practitioner.
Pros
co-workers encourage each other to keep fit and eat healthy diets.
Cons
the compensation is small, compared to the work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Learning environment
Research Associate (Former Employee) –  Valhalla, NYDecember 20, 2012
Productive learning environment. Easy to work and attend classes. Sale of school so cannot attest to current situation there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place
Res. Assistant Professor (Current Employee) –  Valhalla, NYAugust 7, 2012
nice place, good people, great facilities, lots of support
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people and learning experience
Database Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Valhalla, NYJuly 11, 2012
-9-5
-Approving paper work
-Data input
-Dealing with administrators
-Fun HR department with good people
-Hardest part is dealing with people who love the blaming HR for everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice place to work although the salary is not that high.
Laboratory Animal Technologist (Former Employee) –  Valhalla, NYJuly 2, 2012
A nice place to gain experience, a pleasant place to work..This is a place where I first learned working with with different species of lab. animals and I did a great performance,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive interesing job
Administrative Assistant/ Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Valhalla, NYMay 16, 2012
This job was very interesting to me, I learned how to centrafuse blood, and how it is separated in to plasma. The job was not difficult at all the people were easy to get along with. I enjoyed learning about Hepatitis C
Pros
meeting new people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 17 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.5
Culture
3.8

New York Medical College Reviews by Location