New York State Department of Health Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 23 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Same as previous
Medicaid Review Analyst II (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 3, 2016
As stated in my prior write up. Summary: I loved my work and remain dedicated to the New York State Medicaid program. I hope to continue to be involved in the program in some manner on a part time basis.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy Work Place
Office Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 2, 2016
Interacting with different clients, learning the ends and outs of the Health Care area. Helping clients improve the quality care they are getting
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible advancement
Data Abstractor (Former Employee) –  Albany, NYJanuary 27, 2016
There is no desire to see their employees succeed. Poor management. Much of the department is focused on putting down others
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service
Health Systems Specialist 1 (Former Employee) –  Albany, NYJune 15, 2015
Arrived at work eager to help applicants fulfill the requirements to become eligible to take the national examination.
Pros
free parking
Cons
Disappointment when applicants did not pass the exam.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Daycare
Morning Assistant Bell's Daycare Service (Current Employee) –  Rochester, NYJune 9, 2015
Great Daycare to work at. I enjoy working with kids. I loved working for the Daycare, pay wasn't great but an enjoyable job.
Pros
Working with kids
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning environment
Student Intern (Current Employee) –  Albany, NYJune 5, 2015
The past two summers I worked full time as a Student Assistant at the New York State Department of Health. This position included reviewing quality assurance programs for formulary maintenance and Medicaid Managed Care Plans. Strong attention to detail was required for retrieving data from numerous online sources and utilizing multiple Excel spreadsheets. I am to grasp new topics very quickly.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Senior SAP BASIS HANA Consultant
Senior SAP BASIS HANA Consultant (Current Employee) –  Albany, NYApril 27, 2015
• Provide leadership and technical direction to team members and consultants
• Management and resolution of problem tickets
• Plans, manages and communicates system maintenance activities Migration of SAP BW 7.3 on Oracle database to SAP BW 7.4 on HANA database
• Usage of SUM/DMO tool for Upgrade/Migration.
• HANA stack upgrade and administration
• Backup/Recovery and security of HANA
• Installation of HANA client and HANA studio and performing post installation steps
• Monitoring SAP HANA system landscape
• Starting and stopping of SAP HANA systems
• Configuring data replications with SLT and DXC
• Working with DBACOCKPIT for scheduling backups
• Creating database users and roles in HANA studio
• HANA database security.
• Experienced in using various HANA database tools like HANA studio, HLM, HDMLCM
• Knowledge on SDA and integration if HANA with NLS(Near Line Storage) systems like Hadoop.
• SAP OSS note management to drive resolution
• Version maintenance of existing landscape
• Performance tuning and optimization
• System health checks and proactive maintenance
• Backup and recovery
• Administration of system transports and change control
• Landscape synchronization activities such as system clone and refresh activities
• Development and enforcement of process and procedures
• Participation in the development and execution of SAP landscape strategies
• Works directly with 3rd party system integrator and application support teams
• Administration of SAP Systems (HANA, ECC, CRM, PI, SOLMAN, BW, EP, BOBJ) on HP-UX 11.x, SUSE Linux and Oracle 11g
• Significant
  more... hands-on knowledge of SAP modules including ECC, CRM, PI, EP, MDM, CE, BODS, BPM, TREX
• knowledge and understanding of SAP modules including WWI, Content Server, GRC, ADS
• Significant hands on knowledge of system management toolsets including Solution Manager, CHARM, CTS+, NWDI, TDMS, LVM, Early Watch, WILY, SMD, CCMS
• Installation of standalone SAP Netweaver Gateway 2.0
• Strong working experience in both ABAP and JAVA stacks
• Configuration of Gateway and backed systems.
• Applied corrections and OSS NOTES according to EWA report suggestions.
• Performed Net Weaver Administration, Performance Tuning, and database index analysis.
• Troubleshooting J2EE patch related problems, J2EE start/stop problem troubleshooting, J2EE memory management.
• Taking care of adapters, communication channels, registering and de-registering queues, any issue coming on the PI systems and trouble shooting and performance tuning.
• Performance monitoring and troubleshooting to any issues coming for SAP ECC and SAP BW.
• EHP upgrade from ECC EHP 5 to EHP 7
• Managed the Log files and logs related to Database, OS, Backup
• Transport, analyzed the ABAP dumps, Monitored the buffers and logs
• Support packs, kernels upgrade and any corrections through SAP NOTES
• Client administration, Workload analysis.
• Running RTCCTOOL report and preparing system EWA report generation
• BASIS Support during project go-lives
• Performed Database enhancement, performance tuning and monitoring, including
Table space administration, SAP data dictionary and Oracle database objects.
• Index Analysis and Expensive Statement Analysis.
• Buffers admin, backup and recovery strategies, Database logs
• Working with primary and fail over databases.
• Developing scripts to automate processes at database level and OS level activities
• Monitoring of data loads and enhancing query performance
• Applied various SAP notes and modifying profile parameters and daily system checks
• Hardware sizing of various SAP components.
• Defined roles and user groups and maintained Security in SAP.
• Audit logs & Security logs, SOX and SOD. Risk analysis for profiles, roles and authorizations.
• PI and BI functional monitoring
• Support during monthly renewals
• Oracle upgrades from release 10.2 to 11.2 and Oracle bundle patch upgrade
• Configuring central monitoring system (CCMS) for whole SAP landscape in SOLMAN
  less
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great job where you're able to learn the many different aspects of business and government no matter which department you get to work in.
Administrative Specialist / Security Analyst (Current Employee) –  Albany, NYApril 8, 2015
When I started with the Department I wasn’t even able to tell you who the Governor was, but working with the NYSDOH I've learned a lot. A typical day consists of answering phones, emails, problem solving and long hours on the computer. Everyone for the most part is on the same time crunch and we work together to complete the tasks.
Pros
Stability, benefits and retirement
Cons
Parking
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and understanding workplace.
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Albany, NYMarch 20, 2015
Everyone works as a team and is very understanding. I learned a lot about data entry and how to handle phone calls from people.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work
Legal Intern (Former Employee) –  Corning TowerNovember 7, 2014
Great job culture. Wonderful co-workers. Very interesting work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable, productive workplace
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 24, 2014
The New York State Department of Health was very interesting place to work. There was a lot to learn regarding the policies and protocols of State run programs. It was never boring. Work flow was steady and sometimes fast paced. Employee rapport was congenial and easy going. A typical day on the job involved fielding numerous phone calls from WIC vendors regarding fines and violations, scheduling meetings and conferences, editing reports from Senior Investigators, data input, filing. The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing a case being resolved successfully. The hardest part of the job was setting up conferences for vendors and ultimately they were a no show.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Investment company, company lay off because of falling stocks
General Service Clerk (Former Employee) –  New Rochelle, NYJuly 15, 2014
Answered phone, handled inquiries concerning clients mutual fund accounts, check quotes for the day, Gave pertinent information over the phone about the various mutual funds to prospected clients
Hardest part was the manager.
Enjoyable part was the interaction with co-workers.
Pros
knowledge about mutual funds
Cons
company's lay offs
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Walking on Eggshells
Customer Service Rep. /Data Entry (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 7, 2014
The job itself was great. I loved what I did however a room full of catty woman not for me. I felt like at any moment I could do something wrong and they would fire me. Needless to say I was fired for being pregnant and getting sick at work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
State Employment Very Enjoyable
Application Developer (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 6, 2014
flexible hours
allowed to research the internet to perform duties
management takes a hands off approach to development
co-workers are very friendly
right now nothing hard about the job
allowed to be creative with work approach
Pros
no micro managing
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unannounced site visits to heathcare facilities
Hospital Nursing Services Consultant (Current Employee) –  Manhattan, NYMarch 4, 2014
Preparation for next site visit. As team leader, conduct pre-conference briefing. The most exciting part of the job is meeting new people daily, including interviewing patients and families.
Pros
traveling throughout the five bouroughs of nyc
Cons
informing facility of an immediate jeopardy
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Fast Paced Environment
Contract Manager - Auditor (Former Employee) –  Menands, NYJanuary 7, 2014
My job consisted of a lot of desk audits and claims processing for the NYS Department of health. I learned a lot about state sponsored agencies that promote nutrition to areas that are in need. My coworkers provided me with proper training and provided a nurturing and friendly environment that allowed me to excel at my job.
Pros
great learning experience
Cons
lacked upward mobility
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A secure job in government, with good benefits.
Public Health Representative (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, NYSeptember 20, 2013
The job offered satisfaction for helping the community. However, with state cutbacks, there was a responsibility for more work with fewer employees to complete it.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ffffffffffffffffffffffffffff
Data Administrator (Current Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 9, 2013
a typical day at work
what you learned
management
your co-workers
the hardest part of the job
the most enjoyable part of the job
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive employment opportunities.
Executive Secretary to Director (Current Employee) –  Albany, NYJanuary 17, 2013
Unfortunately, the state is very hard to work for being they pay below average for very demanding positions.
Pros
medical staff
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An intellectually stimulating place to work.
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Albany, NYJanuary 3, 2013
My duties consist of schedule management for co-workers, projects, and meetings; contact person for my office; assistance with research and project completion. The most enjoyable part of my job is being able to learn knew things everyday, and know that the work we are doing has a goal of making New York State ultimately a better place to live. The hardest part of the job is that I am a contractor (as oppose to an employee of the State) and currently advancement opportunities are slim and pay is low.
Pros
research, learning, quiet environment, friendly employees
Cons
low pay, no benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 23 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture