New York State Office of Mental Health Employee Reviews

Showing all 18 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
Oracle DBA (Current Employee) –  Albany, NYFebruary 22, 2017
Job security and benefits of the public sector used to make up for the relatively low salary. That is no longer the case. Creation of HBITS in 2012 eliminated much opportunity for advancement.
Pros
Cost of Benefits
Cons
Salaries are slow to increase and are often cut as NYS budget needs arise
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-workers very supportive
Housing specialist for non-profit agency (Former Employee) –  Kenmore, NYAugust 28, 2016
The best part of this job is that mostly everyone was in mentalhealth recovery. It was nice not to be secretive about my mental health issues.
Pros
very independent environment
Cons
New HR company took control. "If it's not broken, don't fix it."
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a positive agency to work for
Rehabilitation Counselor II (Former Employee) –  Comstock, NYMay 31, 2016
I choose not to speak further about this. I had an awful experience despite doing everything I could to maintain my employment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some very nice people but very poor management.
Trainer/Consultant-Training Video Producer (Former Employee) –  Albany, NYMay 22, 2016
I spent 10 years at OMH and they functioned like most government organizations.
Most of the workers were career civil service people and they did not have the proper incentives to do quality work.
Many good people with very poor management and structure.
Pros
Stable Employment
Cons
Management was well below par.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive job
Environment Services Aide (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMay 14, 2016
I have been learning a lot of environmental field as buffer machine, how to do shampoo the carpet, and so on. My workers show me some technical about this field.
Pros
a lot of activities
Cons
I don't have union.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy Office with lots of Coworkers
Secretary (Former Employee) –  Albany, NYJanuary 24, 2016
Great Experience working for OMH. Cordial and friendly coworkers.
Most enjoyable part of job was working with people.
Learned how to set up meetings, Managing multiline phone system and how to direct calls. Lots of other clerical duties. Was very comfortable with workload.
Pros
Teamwork, Challenging
Cons
Temporary Assignment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to begin in State government
Licensed Master Social Worker (Current Employee) –  Bronx, NYDecember 7, 2015
My first foray into mental health. Excellent ground work, but difficult and not always immediately rewarding. Very challenging system, bureaucratically antiquated. Great opportunities for growth in the SW industry if one is interested in developing their own private practice. The Office of Mental of Health is one of the foremost NYS government institutions that provides necessary training for certification advancement. Pros, a permanent job and permanent paycheck after probation. Cons, Top heavy with management, ulterior motives and machavellian tactics utilized to insure the growth of very few individuals. Co-workers not interested/too scary to hold union feet to the fire, therefore nothing much changes from year to year. Also, takes seven years to reach top salary.
Pros
Civil service
Cons
Dangerous work
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work if you are devoted to creating and maintaining healing environments.
Facilities Design, Bureau of Environmental Design (Former Employee) –  Albany, NYNovember 5, 2015
The offices of NYSOMH employed a devoted staff who were committed to providing inpatients and outpatients with safe and healthy environments. This required travel with long hours and meetings with a diverse population of staff and consultants.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Foodservice Director II (Current Employee) –  New YorkJune 7, 2015
This is the perfect job for someone that wants work/life balance.
There are delays with the disciplinary process and the disciplinary process itself is not adequate for those that strive for better.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Staff come from a civil service list based on exam
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job
General Machanic (Current Employee) –  Dix Hills, NYOctober 29, 2014
General mechanical duty's. Fun positive job. Mostly good people, some emergency's,
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 10Report

Want to know more about New York State Office of Mental Health?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run as fast as you can
LPN (Current Employee) –  CreedmoorAugust 6, 2014
OMH has no respect for its LPNS or staff for that matter. It is a workplace bullying and intimidation atmosphere. Salary is poor as are your working conditions. Stay away from this place at all costs.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 49No 13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NY State office of mental health field office.
Survey Editor (On contract) (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 26, 2014
A typical day at work was on paper review/editing.

• Review yearly New York State Mental Health Survey conducted in Albany
• Edit and flag out discrepancies
• phone contact to various mental health programs throughout the State of New York to report
discrepancies and ask for updated of all records for compliance according Make
NYS Mental Health
regulation.
• Making sure that all documents are securely kept for reference purpose
• Answer phone calls to address questions regarding survey
• Attend to routine office paper work
Pros
None
Cons
Lots of paper work
Was this review helpful?Yes 56No 16Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Daily Functions
Safety/Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Marcy, NYMay 21, 2013
• Monitored inmates' daily activities, watching closely for unusual behavior, improper conduct, or signs of possible conflict.
• Performed periodic patrols of the entire correctional facility area to maintain order and prevent escapes.
• Searched cells, living quarters, visiting areas, recreational areas, and buildings for contraband or unapproved items.
• Guarded inmates in penal institution in accordance with established policies, regulations, and procedures
• Supervised up to 20 inmates in a maximum-security facility maintaining 100% accountability.
• Patrols assigned areas for evidence of forbidden activities, infraction of rules, and unsatisfactory attitude or adjustment of prisoners.
Was this review helpful?Yes 40No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning experience
CLINICAL RISK MANAGER (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJune 30, 2012
Working her has been a great learning experience on a personal and professional level..
Pros
autonomy
Cons
no raises
Was this review helpful?Yes 31No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very professional work environment
Data Quality Review Clerk (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 30, 2012
I enjoy my current position within the Office of Mental Health. My coworkers are professional and I find the work interesting. I feel challenged, which I enjoy, and feel that I learn something new every day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 36No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love this job
Case Manager (Current Employee) –  Far Rockaway, NYMarch 14, 2012
This is a great job. I have learned a lot in regards to client mental health needs. It has prepared me to be in a profession to help others with different emotional, social, and family needs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 33No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administrative Supervisor
Administrative Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Albany, NEw YorkMarch 9, 2012
At New York State Office of Mental Health is a very professional Establishment....I personaly managed a team of employee to do basic office duties when there where budget and claim's time line to be meet....OMH was an experiance I will never forget, the professional setting has trained me to a well rounded and straight to point person.
Was this review helpful?Yes 56No 22Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at New York State Office of Mental Health. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 18 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.1
Culture
2.9

New York State Office of Mental Health Reviews by Location