Find companies:
New York State
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
23 reviews

New York State Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and different work without getting boring
Tax Examiner (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 1, 2014
Pros: healthcare, vacation time, interesting work
Typical days varied. I had to deal with all different personalities and situations. The people were very nice to work with. The hardest part was finding people who owed money and going places I hadn't been to before. The most enjoyable part was a nice office,good benifits
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
State Senator
State Senator Serphin Maltese (Former Employee), Queens, NYApril 25, 2014
I learned how to communicate with the citizens of the district on what mattered most to them. I also traveled for political campaigns and was able to see the core issues that plague people in this country. I learned that we all have rights and we should exercise them. The most enjoyable part of the job was the staff and environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educated
Trainer (Former Employee), NY NYApril 22, 2014
Learning from entrepreneurial skills by becoming a trainer and tutor for various clients
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would like to work in a quite nice place.
Tax Auditor II (Current Employee), New York, NYFebruary 23, 2014
Pros: i believe that free lunch is good and will save time to both the corporation and the employee.
Cons: i do not agree with too many short breaks as it consume working time.
My Day starts at 8::45 AM till 5:00 PM. I review my emails, listen to phone call and starting working for the day based upon the prepared objective I discussed with my supervisor. All reports have to be submitted to supervisor on time. Dealing with co-workers in professional and tactful way to create good working environment. I believe there is no hard – more... part in my job as long I organized my work professionally. I believe that I enjoy deal with the clients in professional way to gain their respect serve them with high efficiency. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Focused on Branch Awareness and New Accounts
District Sales Manager (Former Employee), New York, NYFebruary 19, 2014
Growing a single account into an A account for the company was rewarding
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Public Service oriented
Supervising Investigator (Former Employee), Central Islip, NYJanuary 10, 2014
Pros: govermant service
Cons: less employees same amount of work
Once had a good job security but the economy has taken its toll. Lots of work not enough tools and equipment. Enjoyed doing this public service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best experience of my life
Park Employee (Former Employee), Niagara Falls, NYJanuary 5, 2014
Pros: people, atmosphere, friendly
Cons: short breaks, healthcare, advancement
Meeting people from all over the world & being able to help them understand a culture I grew up around was one of the most memorable times in my life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was not a good place to be or work
General Maintenance (Former Employee), Staten Island, NYDecember 30, 2013
Pros: it was determand
Cons: i had no chioce
it thought me to be more grown up and I never want to work in that type of place ever again
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment and educational
Food Service Worker / Cusodial Maintenance (Former Employee), Sonyea, NYDecember 6, 2013
Very educational it was basically what I made it .I wanted to learn and they were willing to take the time to teach me. I take all learning experiences with pride especially when someone gives there time to teach me.Every day I gave them 100% .The hardest part was having to deal with a negative work space but I always stayed positive .The best part – more... was at the end of the day I got my job done and knew I gave it my all . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place was crazy fun
New York State Corrections Officer (Former Employee), NYNovember 23, 2013
Pros: excellent benefits
Cons: travel
The long drive and the long hours spent doing very little. I learned a lot about the many different cultures. Co-workers were enjoyable to work with. The hardest part of the job is getting there. The most enjoyable is the closeness of the officers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An overview of working in a Restaurant
Restaurant Bartender & Server (Former Employee), New York, NYNovember 23, 2013
Pros: cash daily, i was more often than not the recipient of prizes due to winning the sales contests
Cons: long hours on your feet, some shifts ended well after midnight
The beginning of each shift was busy in stocking materials needed for the remainder of the night, learning about any specials or outages. Learning about any selling contests for the evening.

I learned the my career goal at the time of becoming a restaurant manager was not what I really wanted.

Co-workers were, eclectic

The hardest part of the job – more... was the disconnect from family during the holidays, as you usually had to work on or around.

The monies (tips) received daily – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Students, Great Support from colleagues
Science Teacher (Former Employee), Cross River, NYNovember 12, 2013
•Collaborated with science teachers for curriculum mapping, SMART goals, and exit tickets
•Integratednew material in an attention-grabbing and productive classroom environment
•Formulated and executed differentiated lessons for a multitude of learners
•Worked with students to create inquiry based experiments
•Utilized the scientific method in laboratory – more... settings
•Offered extra help during free periods on top of allotted contractual time
•Participated in daily 8th grade team meetings – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The place is relatively impersonal. There one thing sure, most of physician are employed either by a group or hospital.
Attending Anesthesiologist (Former Employee), New York, NYNovember 6, 2013
Pros: steady income
Cons: high tax state
Cultural city the place is for young budding practice.. Working in New York is rapid face and hard with much intricacies with hospital management. Productivity if main concern
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging work
Direct Care Staff (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 24, 2013
Pros: enjoy helping others
Cons: low pay
Worked with individuals who were severely challenged in many areas, from brain to physical challenges
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Commercial Sales Specialist
Commercial Sales Specialist (Former Employee), Cortland, NYSeptember 16, 2013
Pros: good hours
Cons: retail
Building project build quotes up to 50,000 dollars. Responsible for customer service while leading a Commercial Sales department with entire product knowledge and quote developing and selling.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
QUIET PLACE TO WORK
Inventory Clerk (Former Employee), BEDFORD HILLS NEW YORKAugust 27, 2013
Pros: i always got great reviews
Cons: short breaks
I LOVE DEALING WITH NUMBERS COUNTING, FILING THINGS LIKE THAT SO I ENJOYED THIS JOB NO ONE OVER NY SHOULDER SO IT WAS GREAT.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly skilled in supervising and interacting with children positively
Lead groups, keep play areas clean and safe (Former Employee), Syracuse, NYMay 25, 2013
Supervised activities of children
Prepared and served meals utilizing provided menus Gave children positive reinforcement
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job security
Correctional Officer (Former Employee), Albany, NYJanuary 28, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: many hours on your feet
showing direction to multinational ethnics and patiences. Quick problem solving and humor.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Lifeguard (Former Employee), New York, NYNovember 16, 2012
Wonderful place to work! Very rewarding experience to have the chance to assist patrons in need. Great job!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment
Owner of Sound Valuation Services (Former Employee), New YorkMay 11, 2012
Excellent training programs but highly driven by profit margin.