Newmont Mining Employee Reviews in United States

Found 127 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and safety concious environment to work
Health, Safety and Loss Prevention Coordinator (Current Employee) –  AkyemJuly 17, 2016
A typical day at work usually involves meeting the crew (during Pre-shift meeting) and meeting management on production front. Discuss safety issues concerning operators and artisans Getting to the various sections of the job. Conducting Inspections and interacting with people.
I enjoy interacting with people on the job about safety
Pros
Safety is a priority in every job
Cons
Some people demean blacks
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
highly safety concious and prompt salary payment.
technician. both electrical and mechanical (Current Employee) –  New Abirem, Akhem.March 21, 2016
I treat all days as equal
Achieving my work target in a safe manner.
Management has a very cordial relation with subordinates.
Teamwork is the bed rock of goal achievement.
Hard work does not pay.
Company is much concerned about the welfare of employees
Pros
free lunch, monthly bonus, provitions etc
Cons
healthcare, short braeks, rent allowace, loan subsidy etc
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rif
NOC Manager (Former Employee) –  Denver, COMarch 5, 2016
Newmont chose to outsource corporate IT and since I had just gone thru 4 years of terrible outsourcing contracts (Newmont paid millions of dollars to get out of contracts) and 2 years of new leadership and insourcing where the new Newmont leadership admitted it had nothing to do with customer service and everything to do with costs.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Leadership team is not people friendly and there is always the threat of outsourcing
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a good place to work
Foreman (Current Employee) –  Elko, NVJanuary 14, 2016
I start the day by lining out, a 40 man crew. I learned that communication is a very important tool. Working well with upper management is a key. My co-works were a pleasure to work with, sometimes challenging but enjoyable. The hardest part of the was to keep ahead of the crew to keep them working. The most enjoyable part of the job is to see everyone going home the same way they came to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy at work only when I go for a coffee break for thirty minutes.
Control Room Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Eastern, KYMarch 10, 2016
My typical working day is very busy and serious as well as sensitive. As a shift Supervisor in a Gold Mine, there isn't time to play because the mine has over one hundred and sixty cameras on site for operators and myself to monitor so least careless one plays can affect the entire working shift.

I have learn a lot when it comes to management because they ensure that workers needs are met to boost their morale to work well. On the other hand, co-workers try merge ideas to increase productivity of the company.

There isn't a specific thing i can say is hard about the job because i am always prepared and eager to give my best as a supervisor.

The most enjoyable part of the job is when bullion is done successfully without any qualms.
Pros
N/A
Cons
Thirty minutes coffee break and health care services, Holiday Bonuses, Overtime allowances, Family leave, sick leave and annual leave as well as monthly gratuities.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company and great benefits
Equipment Operator/Crusher Loader Operator (Former Employee) –  Elko, NVMay 30, 2016
I loved working here! The benefits were good as were the hours and pay. I would recommend this company to anyone. It was very demanding but very worth it!
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job, good environment
Instrumentation/Electrical/Electronic Technician (Former Employee) –  Winnemucca, NVJuly 16, 2016
Enjoyed different experiences, I have never worked with cyanide,
or cyanide detectors. I learned a lot. I have never worked in a gold mill before.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great compensation with learning opportunities but poor morale with ongoing layoffs
Energy Data Analyst and Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Greenwood Village, CODecember 8, 2015
great compensation - salary & benefits, good opportunities to grow & learn, but poor morale with ongoing layoffs. duplicity of responsibilities leads to high overhead and confusion for moving projects ahead, yet critical departments and positions are being eliminated while those accounting positions remain
Pros
learning opportunities, great pay & benefits
Cons
some individual dpts mismanaged, others seem to compete vs each other
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an "ok" place to work
Regional IT Procurement Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Elko, NVMarch 9, 2016
The company was all about numbers and not about the people. I found it to be very cold and nonpersonal. There were a lot of work and the department I was in was unorganized and not skilled in the tasks at hand.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay but bad work place
Security Technician (Current Employee) –  Elko, NVJanuary 11, 2016
Job was good, hardest part was gate watch during winter. Co worker was very rude and tried everything to make me quit. most enjoyable was when i got off to see my family. i learned if your upper management wont help find a better job.
Pros
Pay, Benefits
Cons
Favoritism, Bad environment, poor commincation
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Place for Internship
Supply Chain Intern (Former Employee) –  Denver, COJuly 6, 2016
I did an internship with Newmont Mining's Supply Chain Group and found it to be a thoroughly enjoyable experience. Management were solid mentors.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Heavy Equipment Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Carlin, NVFebruary 16, 2016
Good placed work, great benefits, great wages, lots of opportunity for advancement. Most People are friendly to work, if you don't like one mine, you can transfer to a mine in a different location.
Pros
wages, benefits
Cons
lots of politics
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The hardest part of the job
Operator (Former Employee) –  Elko County, NVJune 16, 2016
The hardest part of the job is making sure every one else is worrying about their safety as much as you worry about yours so that you all go home safe
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
production minded
Mobile Maintenance Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Elko, NVOctober 26, 2015
put production first saftey second. middle management was a joke. that is about all i wish to say. jjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjj
Pros
none
Cons
no breaks or lunch even on 12 hour shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
IT Enduser Support /Analyst (Former Employee) –  Elko, NVMay 11, 2016
good steady work in deadend posting. great team to work with on two generations old Operating systems and applications.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and interesting experience
Regional Manager - Strategic Planning (Former Employee) –  Greenwood Village, CO; GhanaApril 1, 2016
If you are a geologist, metallurgist or some other "ist" in the mining industry than this is a great company to work for.

Pros:
Good compensation package
Lots of learning opportunities
Top-notch industrial technical expertise


Cons (may have changed to the better now):
lack of coherent organizational structure
work-life balance
very much a relationship driven organization
cultural and gender diversity was an issue

Advice to Management:
Streamline work processes and clarify roles and responsibilities among departments, regions and consequently positions.
Matrix organization is not an excuse to have too many overlaps and even more gaps in responsibilities which make increasingly difficult to move projects forward.
Do something about the "chiefs" to "Indians" ratio - so many "directors" who never managed a single person let alone departments and/or functions.
Pros
Good compensation package, lots of learning opportunities
Cons
lack of coherent organizational structure, work-life balance, very much a relationship driven organization, cultural and gender diversity
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lab work
LAB TECHNICIAN LEVEL 2 (Former Employee) –  Elko, NVApril 1, 2016
very safe work place. fun environment to work In. Organized management, always worked as a team. Co workers were always willing to help.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Traditional Work Environment
communications coordinator (Former Employee) –  denver, coJanuary 8, 2016
The hardest part about this job was there was no room for promoting.

The best part about this job was a lot of exposure to different groups and local leaders.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work ethic and treats employees like great assets
Ore Processing Operator (Former Employee) –  Elko, NvOctober 16, 2015
Great place to work and you can advance yourself up in the company. They have a lot of training to offer the employees and work with safety first before anything. Great pay and good benefits.
Pros
Great pay, Good benefits, Great Traning for anyone who wants it.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety oriented work place.
Underground Miner (Current Employee) –  Elko, NVOctober 21, 2015
Worked with numerous people at a time. Great coworkers. Dealing with new management was better than the past. The way the benefits treats you is something they could improve on.
Pros
Hourly pay. Medical benefits. Vacation.
Cons
No breaks. Riding a bus an hour each way without pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No4

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 169 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.3
Culture
3.6