Newport Corporation Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a fun place to work
Engineer (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 1, 2017
The worst workplace culture,cold unapproachable people worst training with zero learning curve to new trainees pushing them to their last limit, cutthroat management
Pros
none
Cons
lot health hazards
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, with new changes coming
Senior Manufacturing Engineer (Former Employee) –  Irvine, CAAugust 29, 2017
I enjoyed working at the company a lot, it was originally a lot of learning opportunities. Management is slow to change and doesn't see what the problems are.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manufacturing
Senior Accountant (Former Employee) –  Irvine, CAJuly 26, 2017
My main duties at Newport was processing commission, sales tax for 18 states, and process month end journal entries as well as reconciliation. I enjoy working with the people there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was ok
Manufacturing Coating Technician (Former Employee) –  Franklin, MAJuly 16, 2017
Work was not hard, my direct manage was awesome but the ones above him were not. 3 shift operation and if anything ever went wrong it would always be blamed on the off shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at times.
Logistics Export Coordinator/ RMA Receiving (Current Employee) –  Irvine, CAMay 5, 2017
Great place to work at times. Company acquired last year and many changes have taken place and continue to take place. I,m ready to move on to bigger and better for my own growth and development.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice
Senior Optical Coating Manufacturing/QA Engineer (Former Employee) –  Irvine, CAApril 1, 2017
Management genuinely cares about the advancement of it's employees. Free lunches and open PTO make it for a excellent place of employment. Salary is quite low though. Will be finding other employment if salary does not increase with the cost of living in Austin
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Electrical-Mechanical Technician I (Former Employee) –  Irvine, CAMarch 21, 2017
I don't remember much of this company. I was there to perfomed Electro-Machanical work was layoff and got re-hired. this was part of a personnel service
Pros
Na
Cons
Na
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits no room for growth
Operations / Commodities Manager (Current Employee) –  Irvine, CAMarch 19, 2017
Newport Corporation prior to the acquisition from MKS was a solid organization to work for. Unfortunately MKS does not provide adequate guidance as to the organization's direction.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Lacking communication
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice manager
Accounts Payable Specialist (Former Employee) –  Irvine, CAJanuary 28, 2017
I'm currently working as a temporary employee. I love this place. My manager is so nice as well as professional. I hope one day in the future to get a regular full time position.
Pros
Nice staff, close to home
Cons
Only temp assignment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun place to work. Great atmosphere great people.
Mechanical Designer II (Former Employee) –  Irvine, CAJuly 24, 2016
Easy to get along with everyone. Family atmosphere. Everybody helped each other. If you had a problem, you could always find someone with a solution.
Pros
Great people.
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company, Good Products, Good people to work with, Weak leadership.
Supply Chain Manager (Current Employee) –  Irvine, CAAugust 18, 2015
Good Company, Good Products, Good people to work with, Weak leadership. This company is decentralized to the extreme which result in very, very high SG&A.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work in optics.
Sr. Mechanical Engineer (Former Employee) –  Irvine, CAAugust 13, 2015
Good place to work if your field is in optics.

Very cyclical business culture where most of the business depends on semiconductor industry.
Cons
No job security.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Newport is really a good company.
Sr. Optical Coating Engineer/Scientist (Former Employee) –  Irvine, CAJuly 30, 2015
It was a nice work every day.
I learned a lot about Optical thin film coatings and testing.
Management and co-workers were good.
It was too busy but OK with me.
Achievement
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Good pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Executive mgt is lost
Anonymous (Current Employee) –  Irvine, CAJune 15, 2015
Current executive mgt is lost. Newport is a runaway stage coach in dire need of a driver. Newport still survives, struggling along because of its history and the engineers and scientists it attracts. It's exec mgt is sales oriented and in my opinion needs someone more sales/technology oriented.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly Recommended
Staff Systems Engineer (Former Employee) –  Irvine,CAMay 12, 2015
- Excellent work environment
- Great management
- Good people
Every Wednesday they roll out the popcorn machine for all to enjoy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A stable company with lots of potential to grow if managed properly
Senior Product Manager, Photonics Instruments (Current Employee) –  Irvine, CAMay 2, 2015
The company has steadily grown ever since it was founded. It has a lot of further growth opportunity if properly managed. It is a great place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Political Hierarchy Governing Employee Movement
Optomechanical Technician (Current Employee) –  Irvine, CAMarch 31, 2015
No need to apply in the ISB/Optics/Production division, you will work the hardest and get laid off the fastest.

Morale is low, and there is a big disconnect between the upper management and the layers beneath them.

Lieing and "back-peddling" runs rampant. The discomfort of having no job security offered creates a cut-throat environment, where people would rather watch you drown then help you stay afloat.
Was this review helpful?Yes 21NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Oustanding Company
Accounting Assitant (Former Employee) –  Irvine, CAFebruary 27, 2015
This was a great place to work. The staff was extremely helpful and nice during my introductory period. My temporary assignment was extended due to my work ethic.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not go there.
Opto/Mechanical Technician III (Former Employee) –  Irvine, CAJanuary 17, 2015
Do not go there , still there today but may be gone tomorrow without any notices.
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company to work for with many opportunities for growth
Group Leader / Internal ISO Auditor (Former Employee) –  Franklin, MADecember 1, 2014
Loved working at Newport Corporation's Franklin Manufacturing facility, I was exposed to many manufacturing techniques and really interesting products. Unfortunately after working there for nine years I had to resign my position due to the distance from my families new home in Warwick, RI. I had hoped on working the remainder of my professional career with this corporation.
Pros
Cool Products, High Salaries, Positive Work Environment
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 7Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Newport Corporation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 36 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
3.2
Culture
3.5