Find companies:
Newton-Wellesley Hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
19 reviews

Newton-Wellesley Hospital Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent company
Telecommunications Operator (Current Employee), Brighton, MAOctober 10, 2014
Daily tasks include regular switchboard duties by directing internal and external calls to the proper personell and/or department. the teamwork overall in the hospital is a proactive and caring one.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reputable Organization.
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Newton, MAAugust 26, 2014
Pros: health benefits
Cons: isolated.
Fast Paced hospital always striving for patient satisfaction. Many departments have high ratio of female to male employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Labor & Delivery
Surgical Technologist (Former Employee), Wellesley, MAJuly 11, 2014
I personally had a very positive opinion of N-W Hospital, until I worked there. The hospital was a good place but the issues I ran into were around personal relationships and, as the new part-time guy, I took the heat for anything that went wrong anywhere in the unit, whether I was involved or not. I enjoyed being part of Labor & Delivery but I was – more... very glad that the opportunity at Boston Medical Center came my way when it did. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not recommended for males or minorities
Histo-technician (Former Employee), Newton, MAJuly 10, 2014
Cons: very low pay
Extremely negative environment. DC/supervisor is extremely mean, judgmental and full of jealousy towards anyone doing better than her. She complains about anyone that appears positive with good work ethics. Extremely predijuice environment. They look down at other minorities and expect them to perform the majority of the work. They bash men, not sure – more... why. Management has no backbone and is easily sucked in to DC cries and demands. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace work place
GENERAL MAINTENANCE MECHANIC (Former Employee), Newton, MAMarch 3, 2014
Pros: making sick people happy
Cons: short staffed second shift
I was second shift so I would carrie a pager. A lot of customer service so I had to deal with a lot of sick people. My co workers were fun to work with. The hardest part of the day was trying to handle a lot of calls at once.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A solid workplace.
Medical Laboratory Assistant / Phlebotomist (Former Employee), Newton, MAJanuary 2, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: wage increases are few and far between
A well-established hospital, very professional and conscious of their employees welfare.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome place
Surgical Tech (Current Employee), Newton,MaDecember 6, 2013
Pros: close to my house
Cons: none at the moment
Makes you want to go to work. Great people and staff. Love it, great Nurses and Surgeons also.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
Medical Lab Assistant (Former Employee), Newton, MANovember 20, 2013
Pros: pay
Cons: distance
Fast paced. Great Pathologists to work with. Exceptional patient care. Beautiful Hospital.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, excellent patient care
CT Technologist (Current Employee), Newton, MASeptember 18, 2013
Work in the ED department and with out patients as well. Learned about the machinery and CT training within 3 months of starting my career with Newton-Wellesley, Co-workers work as a team and specialize in patient care and time management. We get a large volume of patients and at times , can be very busy but at the end of the day, you realize how much – more... passion you have for this job and I look forward to it everyday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work
Medical Lab Assistant/ Phlebotomist (Former Employee), Newton, MAJune 24, 2013
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: management
I enjoyed drawing blood for my patient and hearing how comfortable they were
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TOP 100 HOSPITAL
Unit Coordinator (Current Employee), Newton, MAMay 5, 2013
NWH has been rated in the top 100 hospitals for many years. It has also been rated as one of the best places to work numerous times. I love my job!

Excellent benefits including healthcare/dental/retirement planning.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Nurse Practitioner Assistant (Former Employee), Newton, MAApril 17, 2013
I loved working with a Nurse Practitioner. This job inspired me to change my major to Nursing. I helped the NP by filling out forms to test biological samples, prepping her examination room between patients, filing patient documents, escorting patients from the waiting room to her office, and taking notes during her appointments. The hardest part of – more... the job was retaining the amount of medical information because I had not yet completed a year in the Nursing major. However, my favorite part of the job was learning everything she could teach me about the OB/GYN department. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One great employer.
Department Coordinator (Former Employee), Newton, MAJanuary 21, 2013
The company values their employees.
Enjoyable tasks, assignments, and projects.
Long lasting work relationships.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place is a joke, very unprofessional
Supervisor (Former Employee), Newton, MAOctober 3, 2012
Pros: no ambition, no desire to excel
Cons: poor incompetent management, poor morale...
Very poor management, preferential treatment, discrimination, and multiple JCAHO violations. They send staff to studer conferences, and when the staff returns and tries to implement what they've learned as they're told to, they get shut down by management. Really puts a damper on employee morale. Employees are not treated fair, and when they try to – more... go above and beyond their daily responsibilities they're reprimanded rather than commended. I don't recommend applying for this position because you'll find out in less than a month exactly what I'm talking about. Management just doesn't care, and it really makes you feel under appreciated as an employee. This place is known for letting their best employees go and keeping the underachievers around. Very sad but a 100% true evaluation of this facility. The employees are scared to speak up, and aren't appreciated at all. Management has way too much authority and not enough experience. – less

January 27, 2013

I used to work in this department and I couldn't agree more with the previous comment. The manager is a beast to work for, very much a business person first and human second. Its a very toxic environment most days due to the staff and managerial separation. Nothing is ever good enough, which is a good thing but when perfection is accomplished they ask for more. The manager doesn't care for the employees as people and the majority of the time you don't know the mood you will encounter. After leaving I have realized what it means to work in a environment where you are treated as equal and praised for the good work you do on a daily basis. I have personally witnessed harassment by managerial staff as well as the employees harassing each other. It takes a lot to get fired from here and they let a lot of detrimental nonsense and hostility take place here. I don't recommend working in this specific department. The hospital itself is great and cares for its employees. They are always renovating and giving back to the employees. The manager is the problem in this department, very unprofessional and poor people skills.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Facility
Registered Nurse (Current Employee), Newton, MASeptember 20, 2012
Pros: great employees, always give the extra effort
Cons: none at this time.
One of the best hospitals due to great co-workers and team oriented atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent environment with oportunities for advancement and promotions.
Quality Assurance Coordinator (Former Employee), Boston, MAAugust 5, 2012
Pros: free lunches to celebrate and commemorate annual hospital events and holiday celebration.
Cons: short breaks for some departments.
Great place to work.The staff in my department were very friendly with excellent team spirit.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work!
Surgical Services Distribution Associate (Former Employee), Newton Lower Falls, MAMarch 20, 2012
Pros: great staff, work environment, salary, and benefits!
I worked at Newton-Wellesley Hospital for 15 years. In that time I worked for the Transportation and Storeroom departments. I really enjoyed my time working at Newton-Wellesley Hospital! The staff were friendly, the salary was competitive, and the benefits (vacation time, healthcare insurance etc.) were fantastic! I could not say enough positive things – more... about my years working at Newton-Wellesley Hospital! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I completed my pediatric clinical at Newton-Wellesley. All the nurses on the floor were very helpful, polite, and very knowledgable.
Clinical rotation for nursing school (Former Employee), Newton, MADecember 5, 2011
All the nurses that work on the pediatric floor were very helpful, knowledgable, and patient with our clinical group while we were there as part of our pediatric nursing clinical group.