Newton Medical Center Employee Reviews

Showing all 64 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most enjoyable part of my job
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Newton, NJSeptember 16, 2017
The most enjoyable part of my job is keeping patients safe in the operating room and educating them about procedures. I also enjoy helping my team mates be prepared.
Pros
flexible schedule
Cons
understaffed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great interdisciplinary working environment
SOCIAL WORK INTERN (Former Employee) –  Newton, NJSeptember 9, 2017
Atlantic Health is a great company to work for. The working environment includes medical staff and other professionals working together to coordinate the best patient care.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and safe place to work
Student Nurse (Former Employee) –  New JerseySeptember 1, 2017
This was a student nurse clinical rotation for me. This experience only lasted for 5 weeks, but was an enjoyable and helpful experience in reaching my goal to obtain my RN license.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful, demanding work enviroment
Unit Secretary - Emergency Department (Former Employee) –  Covington, GAJuly 29, 2017
Unit Secretary, Emergency Room, 12hr shifts. Handle incoming calls. Answer and relay EMS calls to ER doctor. Place orders in computer for patients per ER doctors request. Notify other departments of codes coming into ER. Order supplies for the department. Help transport patients. Clean rooms and instruments before sending to sterile processing. I learned to grow a thick skin working around trauma and going from zero to sixty in the blink of a eye. Management wasn't very supportive to the clerical staff. Workplace culture wasn't always friendly and not good team players. The hardest part was working with unfriendly coworkers. The enjoyable part was helping the doctors..
Pros
Could get prescriptions filled free at hospital.
Cons
Management not standing up for staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a small hospital getting pinched financially
Respiratory Therapist (Current Employee) –  Newton, KSJuly 17, 2017
They paid me really well over my time there.
They were generous when you needed time of for any reason.
The place has an overabundance of middle management.
They like a lot of small hospitals are getting pinched financially and turnover is high.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, high stress environment
IT Helpdesk Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Newton, KSJune 9, 2017
Newton Medical Center is a great place to work. You must be willing to put in a lot of hours and work very hard to keep up with your work load. I would recommend this hospital to anyone who is highly motivated and enjoys a daily challenge.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Surgical Nurse (Former Employee) –  Covington, GAMay 4, 2017
This hospital didn't hire CNA's they wanted Rn to do all daily care which was difficult on a surgical floor. Patient loads were high and patient needs were not met.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Nurse (Former Employee) –  Covington, GAApril 17, 2017
Small community feel. Clean and organized. Friendly and courteous leadership/administration teams. Definitely a better place not that Piedmont has taken over.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved, loved, loved my job!!
RN Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Newton, KSMarch 25, 2017
Great people, great environment, supervisor's support. Never would have left if I hadn't moved out of state. Highly recommend. Best job I've ever had, and I've had some good jobs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice place to learn and work
Cardiac Cath Lab Radiologic Technologist (Current Employee) –  Newton, NJMarch 6, 2017
I really enjoy my time with Newton Medical Center. I've learned so much over the past 8 1/2 years.

Had I not moved over an hour away, I would not be looking for another job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small Town Hospital functioning with outdated policies and regulations
RN (ER/Trauma) (Former Employee) –  Newton, KSMarch 6, 2017
Typical 12 hour shift became 15 hour shifts without lunch breaks. ER-very busy with minimal staff and staff unqualified to handle acquity of patients
Cons
No breaks, long shifts, staff morale, non-team oriented
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most days are challenging yet rewarding
RN (Current Employee) –  Newton, KSFebruary 22, 2017
Take care of patients with behavioral disorders, complete assessments, med admin, documentation, collaborate with physicians for best pt care. I have learned so much working with patients on this unit and the diseases they are diagnosed with. Management recently changed, for the better. Listens to employees concerns. Hardest part of job is the staff shortage when faced with difficult challenges. The most enjoyable part of the job are the patients, being able to learn about them and the mental disorder they face. Learning about the different disorders to better understand the patients.
Pros
Rewarding
Cons
Understaffed
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with babys was amazing
Nurse Assistant (Former Employee) –  Newton, KSFebruary 20, 2017
I really liked working at Newton Medical Center IN Labor and delivery, the only thing that was hard was getting up at three in the morning. But all in all it was a very good atmosphere. I learned a lot.
Pros
getting to help during C-sectaions and delveriry
Cons
having to be there at three in the morning to start work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and postive atmosphere
Unit Secretary (Former Employee) –  Covington, GAJanuary 18, 2017
I enjoyed meeting and helping patients. I learned that you have to be kind to everyone you meet because you never know what a person is going through.
Pros
admenities, great co-workers
Cons
some of the online required courses
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great community hospital
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Covington, GAJanuary 2, 2017
In a typical day, I would admit and discharge several patients. I would complete assesses and administer medications as ordered or needed. The hardest part of my day was managing 4-5 medical-surgical patients without any techs. The most enjoyable part of my day was being with great people at work.
Pros
Great community hospital with helpful staff
Cons
Far from home
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to volunteer
Surgical Waiting Room Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Newton, NJNovember 7, 2016
Friendly staff, great place to work! co-workers were friendly and always welcoming. Arrived with a smile on my face every day I went to volunteer!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for volunteers
Junior Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Newton, NJJune 27, 2016
Working at NMC is an experience. You see many things that you normally wouldn't as a bystander in a hospital and volunteers are well exposed to the inner workings of the hospital. Duties are pretty basic, make deliveries, discharge patients, etc.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coworkers
Surgical Technologist (Former Employee) –  Covington, GANovember 16, 2015
You can't get much better than the coworkers at Newton Medical center in the OR. I did my clinical rotations here and they were all very willing to teach and to be patient. Even the doctors are great to work with in the OR.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Per Diem (Current Employee) –  Newton, NJNovember 15, 2015
It's a nice place to work. Small hospital environment. A little tougher for per diems, but that's true everywhere if you work per diem.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work for.
OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  IRUSeptember 25, 2015
small community with excellent resources and peers.
CEU provided
Great communication between staff, managers, and coordinators.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Newton Medical Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 64 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6

CEO Approval

92%
14 ratings
Add your rating

Newton Medical Center Reviews by Location